We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This time the room was not too good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rincon
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This time the room was not too good”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from 02-13 to 02-16-2013. We paid $ 484.00 for the room, including taxes, breakfast for both, and a dinner under the stars on the 15th. Service was good, especially our waiter, Marcelo, who waited on us at dinner. Everything about the hotel was nice and clean, drinks at the bar were good and dinner under the stars was superb. I include photos of this special Valentine's event.

Now for the bad part. We were assigned room 330 that at a first glance seemed nice. BUT, there were some details that made our evaluation "average" (see photos). First thing we noticed was peeling paint on the hall ceiling. This has to be noticed by any maintenance employee because it is obvious. The bed covers had holes in them. Tiles in the bathtub were cracked, had mildew stains, and rust stains. The sliding closet doors had the floor guides broken and they swung out everytime we opened them. The security lock on the door had a screw missing and the other 2 screws were loose. The balcony sliding door had the 2 screws loose. The air conditioner unit had broken grille retainers and was loose. And last, but not least, the in-room safe was NOT attached to any piece of furniture so anybody coul just walk away with it. Also, the battery cover was missing. When I told a front desk employee about this, he told me nobody was going to steal the safe (???).

Practically all hotels we have visited, including this hotel, have an in-room small refrigerator. Not anymore for this hotel. I noticed a lock on a door in the television wall unit and the front desk person told me that there is a refrigerator behind that door but they charge $10 DAILY to use this refrigerator. Of course, I did not pay for that "luxury item".

I hope management takes care of these issues for they show a bit of sloppiness in maintenance.

Note: the photos are not in the same order as the narrative because of a photo-numbering issue with the camera.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfgomezjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    233
    154
    106
    89
See reviews for
227
269
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I've stayed in many resorts in Puerto Rico, but Rincon of the Seas keeps bringing me back. It is located in the town of Rincon, which is a fairly american friendly town (as in, most people WILL speak english, in most eateries, bars and tourist attractions). Also, being on the east of the island, it is home of some breathtaking sunsets. You can walk to town from the resort (just beware there is no sidewalk walking out the resort entrance) to many eateries. In town we spotted puertorican, Chinese, German, Mexican restaurants and Im sure there are many others (don't forget panaderias). The resort itself is beautifully landscaped, with a large courtyard (the hotel is U shaped) and side gardens with parks for the wee ones. The pool is not very deep (4 feet at its deepest) but it has a poolside bar that serves reasonably priced drinks and has lunch/dinner menus. The pool also has a step around it that serves as seating, perfect for some in-pool sunning/drinking of delicious beverages (coladas were very good, to include the one made with blue curacao, the rum punches were sweet and strong and overall, we never were disappointed with our beverages). During one lunch we ordered cuban sandwiches and I will say, they were among the best Id ever had. Succulent juicy pork, virginia ham, pickles on sweet bread and a plate FULL of fries. The amount was large and VERY reasonably priced for a resort (ten dollars?) The beach is literally 15 steps from the pool and was very tranquil during our stay. If you walk on the beach you will see it connects with other resorts so you can jump over to other bars if you feel like exploring at night. We did see that they close the gates that connect the beach to the resort at ten but I don't know how stringently those rules are followed. The beach was very clean and full of lounge chairs. The rooms were clean and comfortable. They included complimentary hair driers, irons and a safe, however the in room mini fridge is locked and you must pay a nightly fee to use it (forgot the amount, around 15 dollars?). The package I got included breakfast (buffet style and you can order eggs to taste and omelets) which had a great selection of high quality ingredients (their oatmeal is SURPRISINGLY good). Buffet included fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, assortments of breads, breakfast potatoes etc. OF NOTE: The place where breakfast buffets are usually held is being renovated (construction is complete) so currently breakfast is being held in the fancy restaurant. This should be changing soon. Overall a great place to get away. I recommend it and WILL be returning.

Some tips/things you should know:
-Always check their website AND their facebook page for ongoing deals/packages. The one I got was on facebook but not on their website and it was a great deal
-Feel free to leave the resort and go into town to get some good eats
-The resort has implemented a wristband policy (wear band while there). Im guessing this may be due to having non paying customers use the facilities, but be advised...
-There is a restaurant RIGHT in front of the hotel called Rincon tropical, it had good seafood and mofongo (5 minute walk from lobby?)
-Pool towels are provided in the courtyard (no fees) just sign out and return
-If you need to change the thermostat, the digital control is BEHIND the curtains by the sliding door (look high up)


Recommendations to Management:
-The fee for the mini fridge seems a little too much for such a great value resort.
-Look for an alternative way to address keeping track of your paying customers without having
to use the bands, they get annoying after a while...
-Power went out while we were there. Generator kicked in after an hour or so but you should have it set up so that it kicks in immediately afterwards.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady-SMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed one night only during La Vuelta round island bike ride. Check in was fast and efficient,the room was outdated ,A/C was set far too cold and once turned off room became very humid and damp.Floor in particular was dangerous to walk on.No tea and coffee maker in room.A definite negative especilly since room service orders attract an additional delivery charge.Additionally room was very noisy,with music etc blaring from what sounded like a private function somewhere in the hotel. A big plus , Maria at reception was very helpfull on the day I left in helping to solve a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayumi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Just arrived from our weekend stay, from our arrival the service is expectacular excellent staff pool bar is very nice we loved it. And the beach is just steps away. Room are very comfortable (big), great airconditioner, the room, pool, beach all surounding keep 100% clean. I recommend it & staying here again in july with all the family

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at the Rincon Grand Caribbean for 3 days 2 nights and it was a pleasant stay, the rooms are comfortable and the common areas are nice. We really liked the breakfast witch was included in our package deal. There was a lot of things to choose. They offer free parking a big PLUS... Compared to other hotels that charge you about 16 + tax per day. The outdoor swimming pool is great for all ages. They have to take more attention to the hotel's gardens. The restaurant near the pool is wonderful. The only thing that I didn't like is that the room service trays were left for hours outside the room even overnight and also they were doing some remodel and the sound was really loud.

Room Tip: Rooms above the main entrance/lobby have the best sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fjtorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Hospitality is the first word that describes this hotel,great service and simpathy. The rooms are outdated but they are comfortable and clean,bathroom is nice.The pool and the poolbar are good.The restaurant is small but the quality of the food is very good.There are a bunch of places for nightlife nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0426galarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Visited family members staying here & had pleasant time in pool & dining in/around bar area. Bar service was slow at times. Ate at Captains table area with catered buffett & was delicious. If ever in Rincon again, i would stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.1 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
776 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rincon
201 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 8 in Rincon
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
10.0 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel

Property: Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.2, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Of The Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing