We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE!!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The staff were friendly and kind enough! But the place needs improvement! An UPDATE NOW!! The pool was in bad shape. The rooms are outdated, old, ugly. The bathroom was awful. The beds are solid as a rock! Needs a lot of work.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmen_trias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    241
    156
    109
    91
See reviews for
239
276
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel beat our expectations to the max!!! The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially Julio! The room he gave us had the perfect view of the beach from the balcony! The beach was gorgeous and very clean. The food and drinks were excellent!!! Overall, there is no other place wed rather stay when we come again! Go there!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is the typical case of the hotel you see on-line being just other thing that what you get, and yet very expensive! let's not get fooled, this is Rincon, a small town in the North-east corner of the island, with not so much hotel offering, but they charge you the same that in a much better hotel in San Juan. I paid $200/night which is a lot for what you get!
The first view you have of the hotel is great, nice parking area and gorgeous lobby...but then!!! My first room was in Pool area level....awful, don't get it...rooms are dark, old, aged and humid. So I asked for a change, and I got it, third floor, still old, aged furniture and decoration but at least a bit more of light and lees humidity. It is very simple, once you pass the lobby, hotel is old and even looks kind of dirty, needing lots of paint and refurbishing. It is a shock to get into the room after passing through the exterior part and the lobby...and of course after seeing what you see on line in pages as Hotels.com.
There is no room service, although they claim to offer it. I ordered a pizza for me and my family and had to go down to the restaurant to pick it up, and wi-fi service is only available at the lobby area. They have a place for towels by the pool, with no towels and nobody there, so you have to go all the way up to the lobby to get them.
They swimming pool area is not bad, but is definitely far from what you see in the pictures on line, overall it was kind of a disappointing experience, fortunately we were there for only a few days to attend a wedding.
Some positives?: well, staff in the pool area, bar and restaurant was very kind and food was good...perhaps the best Mofongo I had during this visit to Puerto Rico was one at the pool restaurant: Mofongo of the seas. We also had some nice typical Puerto Rican dishes, and they prepare a very nice mojito at the pool bar. However, food was also expensive. Breakfast buffet wasn't bad at a reasonable price $12/adult - $6/children. There is also plenty of parking space for free.
Lastly, do not book through Hotels.com, you get nothing extra, while other guests that booked directly with the hotel at least got a similar fare with breakfast or other better deals.
It might be the best option in town, yet still a poor hotel with a extremely high price...it shouldn't cost more that $100/night.

Room Tip: Do not get a room in lower (C) level. Those are pretty dark and very humid. Try 3rd or 4th floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rincon hotels

Aspen, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were hopeful but left deeply disappointed. It appears this place has it all to make it an un-pleasant experience:
-Filthy stained bed cover that hasn't been cleaned or changed. Check.
-Gaping Holes in blanket and flat pillows. Check.
-Dingy towels that are so old and stiff they could be used as sandpaper. Check.
-Rusty tub, mold and dirt caked shower head in bathroom. Check.
-Sticky floors, marked up and booger stained walls. Check.
-Sliding glass door that won't lock. Check.
-Safe that is easily removable under your nightstand and you can't see the numbers. Check.
-Phone with no buttons, no instructions, and doesn't dial anywhere. Check.
-Shelf for Refrigerator, with no refrigerator. Check.
-Lamps with non working bulbs. Check.
-Dirty tables, lamps and furniture that haven't been wiped clean. Check.
-A gift shop that is not open (even if you ask)
-A beach towel area by the pool which has no towels or staff attendants (you have to go to the front desk)

We were very disappointed with the conditions of the sleeping rooms. We had 4 other rooms in our group and all the rooms were the same. The floors were so filthy we laid towels on the bathroom floors and wore our slippers and the underneath the towels caught all the dirt which demonstrated no one has mopped those floors since the ice age. The amount of rust in all the bathrooms was unreal and we wonder why the hotel would spend all that money to redo their buffet area and not place a penny of care in the cleanliness and maintenance of the rooms.

We cannot believe that management would reuse blankets with large gaping holes in them - one can buy these at any department store for $20. Much less the very, very flat pillows.


To its credit, let it be known that the outside pool area is beautiful, and so is the newly decorated dining/buffet area. Their service is a bit slow though the food is good and so are the drinks.

The beach is pretty but can be quite deep/wild and unsafe for children (keep your eye on them!) as it has very strong waves. The service around the pool area is not found and we noticed that dirty plates, towels and food from the day before remained the next day. There is no chair or umbrella service out by the walkout beach, you have to bring your own chairs out from the pool area and there are no umbrellas at all for protection. No beach service either.

When we asked if we could access the gift shop which remained closed throughout our 5 day stay, they said they do not open the gift shop when they are busy. We just wanted to buy bottled water/candy and browse. You have to leave the hotel area.

Perhaps our expectations are quite high compared to others who are rating service here (and we wonder if others are employees rating their own hotel). We would never give a rating like this or strive to give people false information but being honest is important. So we will say that the staff was quite nice and pleasant and the food and drink were quite good. We will also say that the outdoor beach area is pretty as is the lobby area with its tropical feel. However, this hotel is best suited for partying teens who may not care about room conditions and just want to drink, eat and party.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallup, NM
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during our week long trip to Puerto Rico. The place is amazing! It looks like a TV ad for a vacation! We had room 521, which we were told later has the best view in the hotel. And it did! We were amazed when we walked into our room and saw the spectacular view we had! It overlooked the garden and pool, and the beach and ocean beyond. The room was clean and comfortable, but nothing special, and had a balcony. FYI the floors are tile to make sand clean-up easier, I think. We had "Dinner Under the Stars" during our first night. You have your own private dinner table and waiter on the beach. Make sure you are hungry, or be prepared to take leftovers with you. The pool area is nice with lots of lounge chairs and shade, and the swim up bar is fun! The bar also serves food until 10pm (the signs around the hotel say 11pm, but they close at 10pm). We were also impressed with the beach at this hotel. Lounge chairs and towels are provided for hotel guests. This is the best section of beach of all the hotels in this area. We went for a walk on the beach and other hotels only have a small strip of sand between the deck of the hotel and the water, barely big enough for a lounge chair. There is a breakfast buffet daily for about $12-14, I don't remember exactly. There are large signs right at the entrance to the hotel, watch the km. markers on the road, it makes it pretty easy to find things. Overall, EXCELLENT experience here!

Room Tip: Rooms 521 and 522 have the best views in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkhawaiianflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caguas, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I spent my 30th aniversary days there and was very good. The facilities were clean, good looking and personnel were very nice. We enjoyed very much. I recommend improvements to the wifi internet and will be good a Coffee maker at the room. The food were very very good. In sum the place is excellent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jesantos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very good hotel and pool. Large pool next to pool bar. Pool is only 4 ft deep at its deepest point. Most of the pool is around 3 to 3 1/2 feet deep, very good for children.

Good restaurant and plenty of parking. Entrance from PR-115 is a little hard to find. Suggest they add a few more signs alerting travelers that they are approaching the hotel entrance.

The beach, so and so. Highly recomend Combate beach in the south estern end of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms first floor open directly from a balcony to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luquillu56280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.1 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
795 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
0.2 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
427 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel

Property: Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.2, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Of The Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing