We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Great Secret In The Caribbean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rincon
San German, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Little Great Secret In The Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great dinning experience right on the sea shore some feet away from your room. Enjoy an unforgettable romantic dinner, or an excellent dinner with your family, in front of a world class sunset view. Like they say, shoes are optional!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwincupely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    230
    149
    103
    84
See reviews for
215
261
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice pool area, Great food and restaurant. Not very good rooms.
The beach access is great.
Rooms are not so nice.
Beds and mattresses area a little cheap. Not enough towels for all the pool guest and the ones that has were in bad conditions.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I love this charming hotel because it has it all. It has a good pool bar and access to a beautiful beach from where you can view a breathtaking sunset. The restaurant is very good. Also, it is located in a quiet, small town where you can find other things to do and many places to eat. This is our third stay and look forward for many mores to come.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The staff were friendly and kind enough! But the place needs improvement! An UPDATE NOW!! The pool was in bad shape. The rooms are outdated, old, ugly. The bathroom was awful. The beds are solid as a rock! Needs a lot of work.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmen_trias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rincon hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel beat our expectations to the max!!! The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially Julio! The room he gave us had the perfect view of the beach from the balcony! The beach was gorgeous and very clean. The food and drinks were excellent!!! Overall, there is no other place wed rather stay when we come again! Go there!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is the typical case of the hotel you see on-line being just other thing that what you get, and yet very expensive! let's not get fooled, this is Rincon, a small town in the North-east corner of the island, with not so much hotel offering, but they charge you the same that in a much better hotel in San Juan. I paid $200/night which is a lot for what you get!
The first view you have of the hotel is great, nice parking area and gorgeous lobby...but then!!! My first room was in Pool area level....awful, don't get it...rooms are dark, old, aged and humid. So I asked for a change, and I got it, third floor, still old, aged furniture and decoration but at least a bit more of light and lees humidity. It is very simple, once you pass the lobby, hotel is old and even looks kind of dirty, needing lots of paint and refurbishing. It is a shock to get into the room after passing through the exterior part and the lobby...and of course after seeing what you see on line in pages as Hotels.com.
There is no room service, although they claim to offer it. I ordered a pizza for me and my family and had to go down to the restaurant to pick it up, and wi-fi service is only available at the lobby area. They have a place for towels by the pool, with no towels and nobody there, so you have to go all the way up to the lobby to get them.
They swimming pool area is not bad, but is definitely far from what you see in the pictures on line, overall it was kind of a disappointing experience, fortunately we were there for only a few days to attend a wedding.
Some positives?: well, staff in the pool area, bar and restaurant was very kind and food was good...perhaps the best Mofongo I had during this visit to Puerto Rico was one at the pool restaurant: Mofongo of the seas. We also had some nice typical Puerto Rican dishes, and they prepare a very nice mojito at the pool bar. However, food was also expensive. Breakfast buffet wasn't bad at a reasonable price $12/adult - $6/children. There is also plenty of parking space for free.
Lastly, do not book through Hotels.com, you get nothing extra, while other guests that booked directly with the hotel at least got a similar fare with breakfast or other better deals.
It might be the best option in town, yet still a poor hotel with a extremely high price...it shouldn't cost more that $100/night.

Room Tip: Do not get a room in lower (C) level. Those are pretty dark and very humid. Try 3rd or 4th floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were hopeful but left deeply disappointed. It appears this place has it all to make it an un-pleasant experience:
-Filthy stained bed cover that hasn't been cleaned or changed. Check.
-Gaping Holes in blanket and flat pillows. Check.
-Dingy towels that are so old and stiff they could be used as sandpaper. Check.
-Rusty tub, mold and dirt caked shower head in bathroom. Check.
-Sticky floors, marked up and booger stained walls. Check.
-Sliding glass door that won't lock. Check.
-Safe that is easily removable under your nightstand and you can't see the numbers. Check.
-Phone with no buttons, no instructions, and doesn't dial anywhere. Check.
-Shelf for Refrigerator, with no refrigerator. Check.
-Lamps with non working bulbs. Check.
-Dirty tables, lamps and furniture that haven't been wiped clean. Check.
-A gift shop that is not open (even if you ask)
-A beach towel area by the pool which has no towels or staff attendants (you have to go to the front desk)

We were very disappointed with the conditions of the sleeping rooms. We had 4 other rooms in our group and all the rooms were the same. The floors were so filthy we laid towels on the bathroom floors and wore our slippers and the underneath the towels caught all the dirt which demonstrated no one has mopped those floors since the ice age. The amount of rust in all the bathrooms was unreal and we wonder why the hotel would spend all that money to redo their buffet area and not place a penny of care in the cleanliness and maintenance of the rooms.

We cannot believe that management would reuse blankets with large gaping holes in them - one can buy these at any department store for $20. Much less the very, very flat pillows.


To its credit, let it be known that the outside pool area is beautiful, and so is the newly decorated dining/buffet area. Their service is a bit slow though the food is good and so are the drinks.

The beach is pretty but can be quite deep/wild and unsafe for children (keep your eye on them!) as it has very strong waves. The service around the pool area is not found and we noticed that dirty plates, towels and food from the day before remained the next day. There is no chair or umbrella service out by the walkout beach, you have to bring your own chairs out from the pool area and there are no umbrellas at all for protection. No beach service either.

When we asked if we could access the gift shop which remained closed throughout our 5 day stay, they said they do not open the gift shop when they are busy. We just wanted to buy bottled water/candy and browse. You have to leave the hotel area.

Perhaps our expectations are quite high compared to others who are rating service here (and we wonder if others are employees rating their own hotel). We would never give a rating like this or strive to give people false information but being honest is important. So we will say that the staff was quite nice and pleasant and the food and drink were quite good. We will also say that the outdoor beach area is pretty as is the lobby area with its tropical feel. However, this hotel is best suited for partying teens who may not care about room conditions and just want to drink, eat and party.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.1 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 8 in Rincon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
20.2 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel

Property: Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.2, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Of The Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing