We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Big Disappointment"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not more than 2 stars hotel. Poor service and the staff isn't the best. They ran out of towel before the afternoon in the pool area, when I went to ask for towels in the front desk the guy was rude. He have no idea when they where going to have towels again, which never happen. The hotel is in poor conditions, the pool need some refurbished and the rooms need some refurbished as well. They have a gift shop that never open due to staff constrain (at least that what the front deal said). The breakfast buffet was the only good thing that I can mention from my weekend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great dinning experience right on the sea shore some feet away from your room. Enjoy an unforgettable romantic dinner, or an excellent dinner with your family, in front of a world class sunset view. Like they say, shoes are optional!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwincupely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very nice pool area, Great food and restaurant. Not very good rooms.
The beach access is great.
Rooms are not so nice.
Beds and mattresses area a little cheap. Not enough towels for all the pool guest and the ones that has were in bad conditions.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I love this charming hotel because it has it all. It has a good pool bar and access to a beautiful beach from where you can view a breathtaking sunset. The restaurant is very good. Also, it is located in a quiet, small town where you can find other things to do and many places to eat. This is our third stay and look forward for many mores to come.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The staff were friendly and kind enough! But the place needs improvement! An UPDATE NOW!! The pool was in bad shape. The rooms are outdated, old, ugly. The bathroom was awful. The beds are solid as a rock! Needs a lot of work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmen_trias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel beat our expectations to the max!!! The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially Julio! The room he gave us had the perfect view of the beach from the balcony! The beach was gorgeous and very clean. The food and drinks were excellent!!! Overall, there is no other place wed rather stay when we come again! Go there!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is the typical case of the hotel you see on-line being just other thing that what you get, and yet very expensive! let's not get fooled, this is Rincon, a small town in the North-east corner of the island, with not so much hotel offering, but they charge you the same that in a much better hotel in San Juan. I paid $200/night which is a lot for what you get!
The first view you have of the hotel is great, nice parking area and gorgeous lobby...but then!!! My first room was in Pool area level....awful, don't get it...rooms are dark, old, aged and humid. So I asked for a change, and I got it, third floor, still old, aged furniture and decoration but at least a bit more of light and lees humidity. It is very simple, once you pass the lobby, hotel is old and even looks kind of dirty, needing lots of paint and refurbishing. It is a shock to get into the room after passing through the exterior part and the lobby...and of course after seeing what you see on line in pages as Hotels.com.
There is no room service, although they claim to offer it. I ordered a pizza for me and my family and had to go down to the restaurant to pick it up, and wi-fi service is only available at the lobby area. They have a place for towels by the pool, with no towels and nobody there, so you have to go all the way up to the lobby to get them.
They swimming pool area is not bad, but is definitely far from what you see in the pictures on line, overall it was kind of a disappointing experience, fortunately we were there for only a few days to attend a wedding.
Some positives?: well, staff in the pool area, bar and restaurant was very kind and food was good...perhaps the best Mofongo I had during this visit to Puerto Rico was one at the pool restaurant: Mofongo of the seas. We also had some nice typical Puerto Rican dishes, and they prepare a very nice mojito at the pool bar. However, food was also expensive. Breakfast buffet wasn't bad at a reasonable price $12/adult - $6/children. There is also plenty of parking space for free.
Lastly, do not book through Hotels.com, you get nothing extra, while other guests that booked directly with the hotel at least got a similar fare with breakfast or other better deals.
It might be the best option in town, yet still a poor hotel with a extremely high price...it shouldn't cost more that $100/night.

Room Tip: Do not get a room in lower (C) level. Those are pretty dark and very humid. Try 3rd or 4th floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.1 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
805 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
432 reviews
24.5 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
212 reviews
10 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel

Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.2, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range: £91 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Of The Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing