We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I made a reservation with the hotel with a 3 night package deal. From my understanding of the website ( strike one-online reservation system will only quote you the standard room rate; you can't select packages) this included breakfast AND dinner daily. I asked the person I made the reservation with if both meals were included daily and was told yes. Upon checking in, I was only given a voucher for one night's dinner, but figured you just had to request it daily. We went to the room, which was an ocean view room on the 4th floor. Bed was king sized and comfortable. Bathroom felt like a cheap motel bathroom with rust in the tub, tiny hair dryer, and ventilator that just made noise rather than pull out any humidity. TV is a 30" flat screen; there are about 30 channels of basic cable/satellite. The view of the hotel's garden/pool area is nice, bit not much ocean can be seen, maybe the 5th floor has a better view. Deco Restaurant at the hotel is where we redeemed our voucher. The voucher covers 2 persons on a tourist menu, which includes two appetizers, two entrees, and a shared dessert. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The following night, after enjoying a day of horseback riding with Pintos R Us (excellent 2 hour ride with Julie) and a trip to the Mayaguez Mall (great deals on clothing, even though the mall is quite dated), we decided to eat at Deco again, but on the regular menu, even after being told the package only included one night's dinner. The service that night was horrible. Our waiter was very inattentive; whereas our waiter the previous night would come by, ask about our meal or offer my wife and I more drinks, this waiter seemed to not care. He seemed to be more concerned about another party of four. A side note: the restaurant was all but empty both nights. Overall, the food was cooked deliciously, except my wife's salad; she had asked for no onions and was given plenty of onions. When made aware of it, he decided to ignore my wife, even when she would say thank you when he happened to refill her water glass. After dessert (try the flan de queso, very yummy), we waited about 20 minutes for the check. We were pretty upset with the service, so we decided to go to the pool bar afterwards. Compared to the drinks made in Deco restaurant, the drinks at the pool bar are sub-par. Then the bartender disappeared for 15 minutes, when I was still willing to have another drink. He came back and ignored us, so I just asked for the check. Overall, location is great. Rincon is a beautiful piece of Puerto Rico. Rincon of the Seas, on the other hand, could be much better. We'll spend our money elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libre_borinquen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    234
    154
    106
    90
See reviews for
228
270
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Overall, this was a nice place to stay, and it was a good value for the package price we paid for it. That being said, a few things were somewhat annoying. A "beach cabana", which sounded like it should be an upgrade, turned out to mean "ground floor room". After seeing it, we asked to be changed to another room on an upper level. The upper level room was actually less expensive according to the website, but it was exactly the same room as the "beach cabana". Of course, having paid for it ahead of time, we wouldn't be getting any money back even though we were now in a less expensive room. Another annoying thing was that the room had a refrigerator which was even plugged in and running when we arrived, and yet it was locked inside a cabinet and would not be unlocked unless we paid an additional $10 per night. We were staying 8 nights. So they were going to charge us $80 to wipe it out when we left?!? Also, at least when we were there, they wanted everyone to wear orange armbands in order to use the pool area. That's what we were initially told anyway. However, we don't particularly like walking around town marked as a tourist, so we took them off. When we came into the lobby area from the parking area, we were stopped by security and escorted to the front desk for new armbands. We continued to take them off when we left the resort, but found ourselves feeling like we were criminals with security always keeping an eye on us. Lastly, I was disappointed to find that, except for poolside pizza, there was no outdoor dining. Both restaurants are indoors. When you're from Minnesota, you want to eat outside - which we did - next door.

Room Tip: "Beach cabanas" are just ground floor rooms. Except that you don't have to walk down t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Ok you can tell that the hotel has suffered lack of maintenece, but the beach is amazing, the pool is great it has the bar in the very middle. The breackfast buffet was almost cruise ship like! Fantastic!! Totally worth the $12 p/p I highly recomend it.

The rooms are a little dingy and humid i think they need humidifiers rrrrruuuussshhhh!!!

They do not have a fridge or coffe maker :(

The pool towels suuuuck!! But they get the job done..,

The hotel is pet friendly.. Oh boy
That was bad! just because the lady next to our room had this tiny annoying dog that wolud bark at the break of freaking dawn!!!!

The worst thing would be the "thin" walls.... You can hear.....eve-ry-thing going on in the rooms next to you!

Overall i had a great time y would go again... far far away from any dogs staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delsurdelaisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stay the weekend of February 28 to March 2 with my husband and the experience overall was good but this hotel really need more staff and some remodelations. The reduced staff is so kindly but for example the don't have anyone working with towels on a pool or with chairs in a beach. Either dont have anyone working in a gift store so its closed until you need something. Well overall I think is a great place with a great food and people but need more attention to details and customer service. There's will be great a coffee maker in a rooms too. I stay here two years ago in february 2012 and the experience was a little different...they had more staff including working in a beach. Please administration. ..take a note! !!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayaguez
Level Contributor
206 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

NAME: Rincon of the Seas – Grand Caribbean Hotel

HOTEL CLASS: 3 Star

TITLE: “Grander than I Thought” [Tripadvisor 28 February 2014, Review #37]

E-MAIL: info@rinconoftheseas.com [This posted address does not work]. I also e-mailed their hidden address. They acknowledged my message, but never answered my questions.

TELEPHONE: +1 (787) 823-7500; FAX: 787-823-7501; Toll Free: 1-866 2RINCON [+1 (866) 274-6266]

WEB PAGE: http://www.rinconoftheseas.com/home.php [Their Calendar of Events has not been updated in 8 years]

OWNER AND GENERAL MANAGER: Arnaldo Ruiz

SALES MANAGER: Lizandra Ayala, +1 (787) 823-8114

RESERVATIONS: yes.

LOCALITY: Not in Rincon. [1]
P. O. Box 1850, Road 115, km 12.2, Aguada, PR 00602 [1]

LATITUDE/LONGITUDE: 18°19'47”N/67°15'1”W

DIFICULTY LOCATING: easy

DIRECTIONS: There are very detailed instructions on their web page http://www.rinconoftheseas.com/driving_map.php

PARKING: Free, easy, and ample

CHECK-IN: Check-In was 3 pm, but they gave us our room when we arrived at 11:30 am. [2]

PETS: One per room up to 50 pounds for $25/night. We thought about bring one of our dogs.

ROOM: #216, very convenient. Close to the lobby. The room was sufficiently large for 2 people. Large bathroom. No tub, but large shower for 2 people, which was fun. Adequately warm water the first day and hot the second. [2] A little dark, but there were 4 lamps that worked. Curtains kept the light out adequately.

BED: king-size; comfortable; clean sheets, comforter, and spread. No holes or stains in anything. [2]

SERVICE: Outstanding. They seemed to be “bending-over-backwards” to accommodate our needs and wishes. Remarkably good. [2] Our safe did not work, but they replaced the batteries immediately. We needed an extension cord and they brought one quickly.

SAFE: This was still not anchored to the furniture. [3] At least carrying the safe would give the burglar a hernia.

NOISE LEVEL: We could hear talking and service carts in the hall, but at a low level, and infrequently. [2] There was no noise from adjacent rooms, but they may have been empty. [2]

BAR: Pool Bar; full service. I love swim-up bars! This bar had mostly good reviews (see my review). They did not play loud, bad music. [2]

ICE: Because of the reviews, we brought our own cooler and ice. However, the ice machine directly upstairs (3rd floor) was functional and convenient. [2,4]

CHEF: Josué Díaz

RESTAURANTS: Royal Plam Café: Caribbean Cuisine, buffets on the weekend. Breakfast buffet and lunch. [5]
Deco Fine Cuisine Restaurant: Only open for diner and is excellent (see my review).

AMMENITIES: The room has a safe, air conditioner with a control (hidden behind the curtains) that worked, ceiling fan, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, flat-screen medium-size TV with 24 cable channels (not accurately identified in the Hotel Book), telephone, pressed glass glasses, ice bucket, a nice balcony with chairs and a small table, adequate toiletries [2], book explaining the hotel, a Que Passa and 2 other tourist guide books, and a folding luggage stand. We had 3 large bath towels, 1 hand towel, and a washcloth. These were all clean and white. [2] There were 10 wooden hangers in the closet. [2] Angel Soft tissues and toilet paper, with a spare roll, were provided.
The room had no coffee maker (we brought our own), [3] no mini-bar, no mini-refrigerator (without a charge) [3], no tub, no bathrobe, no wifi or hard wire internet connection. [3] Wifi is only available in the lobby and the pool area. [3] We were so close to the lobby that we could get wifi on our balcony (#216). We had to first make a connection with the wifi in the lobby before it would work.
The hotel had no pool/beach towels for the entire 2 days we stayed, [3,6] has no spa, no hot tubs, no exercise room, no computer room, no business room, no laundry facilities for guests, no game room [7], no library of books or vids, and a gift shop that is only opened by request. [3] The large wine-tasting bar, in the lobby, is only open for special occasions, and not ordinary guests. Room service is listed in the Hotel Book, but it is no longer available.

GARDENS: The open center of the horseshoe-shaped hotel contains a nice garden with some impressive plants. Many of the orchids (e.g., Dendrobium phalaenopsis) and trees are identified with signs. One small pool in a sugarcane cooking caldron had a variety of tropical fishes. [8] To the north is a garden with a series of ponds, a wooden playground, and some nice old trees. A very large Pink Puff Ball Tree was blooming magnificently.

POOL: The pool is large and beautiful; however, too shallow and crowded for real swimming (go to the ocean) [3] After all the bad reviews, I thought it would be terrible. Actually, it was clean, very pleasant, and nice. We thoroughly enjoyed it. [2]

BEACH: The sand beach is broad and clean. [2] Shade is available under marginal bushes and trees. Beach chairs and lounges were scattered all over the beach both days. They were not chained together in the pool area. [2] This was very nice, pleasant, and easy. The water was rather calm, the drop-offs were about 1 foot, and we found no dangerous submerged rocks. [2]

CHECK IN; CHECK OUT: Very quick, pleasant, and efficient. [2] A notice at desk says debit cards (ATM, etc.) cannot be used.

PROBLEMS: [A] The lack of a free mini-refrigerator is irritating to guests. [3] [B] No wifi in the rooms. [3] [C] The hotel is not in Rincon; it is in Aguada. [1] [D] Their booking.com print out states the hotel is for adults only. [9] This cannot be correct.

RECOMMENDATIONS: [A] Make mini-refrigerators available without charge in the rooms like a real hotel. [B] Make wifi available in the rooms like a modern hotel. [C] Add more towel racks in the bathroom. There are lots of blank walls for them. [D] Remove the adults only statement. [9] [E] Either add Room Service again, or remove it from your Hotel Book.

HISTORY: Over the years, we have been there many times for celebrations, events, and 1 magnificent wedding. However, we had never stayed there before. The hotel was built in 2003 and had some renovations in 2006 and 2010 mostly to the lobby and open areas. The gardens were dedicated to the founder of the hotel, Hector Ruiz Briguoni, 12 May 2006.

THANK YOU TRIPADVISORS: Thanks to your warnings. We brought hard plastic glasses, [2] washcloths, [2] soap, [2] shampoo, [2] shower shoes, [2] ice, [2] a coffee maker, [3] beach towels, [3] and a cooler. [3]

Footnotes
[1] The postal zip code for Rincon is 00667. The 00602 zip code is for Aguada. The “Rincon” Beach Hotel far to the south is also not in Rincon but Añisco (see my review of their restaurant). Everybody wants to be in Rincon. I guess “Aguada of the Seas” just does not cut it?
[2] Reviewers complained about this, but they have improved.
[3] As many reviewers have complained.
[4] The elevator was 10 feet from our room (#216) and the ice machine was 10 feet from the elevator. I filled a large bag twice for our cooler.
[5] Online menus are only in Spanish and only for the Palm Cafe. Lunch items are expensive and quite limited. They have a dinner menu, which is curious since they are now only open for breakfast and lunch. There is a good selection of steaks and seafood, but only the “Ahi” [tuna] appetizer is claimed to be fresh. Apparently the Palm Café was their only restaurant for a while and they have not updated their web site.
[6] Many of the shortcomings complained about in various reviews have been solved; however, such a simple thing as pool/beach towels seems to have remained insurmountable. We brought our own beach towels. The desk told us to just take one of our bath towels from the room (we had 3 large ones). Everyone else we saw at the pool or the beach had personal beach towels.
[7] They say they have a “Game Room” [3] but what they actually have is an arcade room. They had 5 machines, for which you must pay, and a change machine (real game rooms are free). This room was open the whole time we were there, but I never saw anyone in the room.
[8] Neon Gobies, Swordtails, Electric Blue Hap, etc. Like they had emptied out a pet store.
[9] “Please note that from 14 September 2013, the hotel will become adults only. All guests staying after this date must be at lease 21 years old.” This statement is very strange and obviously incorrect.

Room Tip: Room 216 had wifi on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel is absolutely amazing! It is tucked away from the busy street (PR-115) and is a little oasis of paradise. I booked our stay through Travelocity and the price was very reasonable. The room was a bit too humid and had a strong odor of mold or mildew, but we had a beautiful full balcony patio that had sliding doors. we left the doors open and the fresh air solved the odor issue. This hotel had beautiful grounds that they took great care off and an amazing pool with a pool bar. It also had a private beach that was very clean and well kept. The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. We stayed at other hotels on this trip and this one was bar far the best of them all. Kudos to the management and staff at Rincon of the seas!

Room Tip: Room on the 4th or 5th floor in the center building for the amazing view of the ocean and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin_m_crocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Lobby was all open and very beautiful. The staff at the front desk were very nice and friendly. The room was ok. The bedding was pretty worn and one of the blankets had a few holes in them.

I called the front desk in the evening to see if they could bring more shampoo and conditioner and the lady at who answered was less than helpful. She said that the housekeeping people had already left for the day. She said she would check and see, but she never called and no one showed up with anything.

The beach front was nice in that it was secluded, however, it is really rough water and there is a big drop off pretty close to the shore where the water gets pretty deep.

The pool was nice, but it's a shame that it's only 3' deep. It's a pretty quiet place and everything seems to shut down in the evening.

Room Tip: The best rooms would be ocean view as well as a corner room, where you only share one wall with a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.1 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
776 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
0.8 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
10.0 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel

Property: Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.2, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Of The Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing