We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horned Dorset Primavera
Nearby Hotels
Villa Cofresi Hotel(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Palmas Inn(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lazy Parrot Inn(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Que Chevere(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rincon Inn(Rincon)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coconut Palms Inn(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
184
45
35
23
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
45
35
23
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolmoroccan stylerelais chateauxtasting menuthe general managerpuerto ricofour posterworth the splurgeocean frontluxury hotelliving roomnight lifesackpoolscaribbeanvillaaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband works in Puerto RIco and I met him for our 27th Wedding Anniversary. We were told that it was one of the most romantic places in Puerto RIco and I must agree with that statement! Although we were first promised a different room, I can not complain, because the room we were given was beautiful definitely as large as any townhouse in the States. I did miss the direct ocean view from our bed that we would of had with the promised suite. Decorated with Moroccan furnishing throughout it was different and quite lovely even after all these years. It had two levels, a living area, little dining table, huge downstairs closet, a private terrace with two lounge chairs, a bistro table and your very own and private lunge pool. The en-suite bathroom had the biggest party shower, I have seen in a hotel with a spectacular soaking tub. The linens and bed were also amazing! It was spectacular to hear the waves come crashing against the building as we woke up. The room had a complete and full kitchen but you couldn't even find one bottle/wine opener, a knife much less a glass. The kitchen was bare. It is the lack of attention to detail that was a bit disappointing and not that of a once 4 and 5 star property. The food at the restaurant was good, but expensive for what was offered. The gym was falling apart with broken windows, cobwebs and what seemed to be really old equipment. I didn't even realize there was a second resort pool in front of the gym until the day we were leaving, but it too was empty with no place to sit. The few guests were at the main pool near the main lobby area. If you want to get away, hide and not be seen this is the place to go and disconnect. I know the hotel has been in Rincon for many years and at one time, it has to have been host to many affluent and distinct guests. We were even told we were getting the Hilary Clinton suite. I don't know if this was true or not. Nonetheless, the property needs lots of care and attention. I don't know if the owners are selling or it is just being left to wither away. The beauty of the location and the ocean views from ones private terrace are spectacular and second to none; it's a shame to let the unlit walkways, weeded gardens, broken roof tiles and lack of care to the property as a whole ruin this beautiful hotel. I even called back to request an itemized bill sent to my e-mail and I am still waiting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peredakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your vacation experience during your stay this January and I hope you had a memorable Anniversary. We celebrated the same Anniversary as you, 27 years for the main building, in front of the ocean , that is an ongoing challenge, as you might understand, however, all the suites are newly remodeled, 1998 onwards.

Thank you for the positive feedback and for the other comments and you are correct, the kitchen are not fully equipped as the they are not meant for cooking meals to avoid cooking smell in the suites, but we always oblige if a guests ask for any specific items and of course offer room service for breakfast , lunch and dinner.

I will ask the staff to refrain on comments regarding the Hillary Clinton Suite as you mention just in case it does not fit the party affiliation of a guest. Never know what turns people on and off.

We are located in a private little corner of the world and is perfect for anyone trying to get some peace and quite and get away form it all.

Have a great summer and all the best wishes.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just spent two days celebrating my anniversary with hubby and had a memorable weekend. From the moment you arrive, you are welcomed by Wilhelm Sack, General Manager, who treats you as royalty. A few reasons to call this place heaven:
- Upscale atmosphere with high end amenities.
- Service is impeccable in every area of the hotel. Friendly staff.
- Rooms are very spacious and have the best bedding of any hotel previously experienced!
- Large bathroom with huge bathtub (big enough for two)!!!
- Private pools are out of this world, with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea.
- All of our meals were outstanding. (Breakfast at Veranda terrace, Room Service twice and dinner at Aaron's.

We consider ourselves experienced travelers and will highly recommend this property to all of our friends and colleagues. A hotel not to be missed if you are seeking a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ann-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and I will pass it on to our staff.

Many call us the most romantic hotel in the Caribbean, well with the sunsets and setting easily possible however it is this perfect blend of mood and nature of our guests what makes it happen.

We are looking forward seeing you back again and all the best wishes for a great Spring and Summer after this miserable cold winter in the East Coast.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the HDP for an anniversary celebration. This resort is located at a spectacular setting! We stayed at a oceanfront villa which is beautifully furnished and from everywhere you sit you have a little bit of ocean in house living room. The private pool is a plus as you can sunbathe poolside the moment you wake up.
The gardens are very pretty and wild, although I do agree it needs some maintenance. Housekeeping didn't showed up at all on our full day there until 3pm knocking and screaming at the door, at which time we told them we did not need our room serviced since we were having lunch there.
The service was ok, not necessarily extraordinary which I believe has to do with being a European business. My husband has ordered flowers and champagne to the room prior to our arrival, and it was not there. That would never occur in a W or a Conrad. They did bring flowers after dinner, but brought the champagne to dinner (since we had dinner at their restaurant). We are pretty laid back, so we did not make it a big deal but they should really improve in this regard as there are other similar complaints. This is a pretty expensive hotel, so as clients we expect outstanding kiss my *** service.
The restaurant setting is gorgeous, the terrace very nice. Again service was ok, not outstanding. The food was definitely below par. I ordered a fish that was way overlooked and didn't taste like the fish I'm used to eating fresh. My husbands lobster dis was cold. I do not recommend this restaurant given the other delicious alternatives around town.
Breakfast in the outdoor terrace, which is different from dinner, was fine. Good coffee and breakfast options.
Overall, we had a great time since we had already read many reviews on TA and other social media and we were not expecting anything other than what we found. We loved the setting, it's so romantic! We enjoyed our stay but would we stay here again? Probably not. There are many other places in Puerto Rico that are gorgeous and romantic and the service is beyond wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MDPRTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience of your recent visit with us, however I did not quite understand your comment : being a European Business you did not expect the service to be top notch?

We hopefully see you back again to share with you the most beautiful romantic sunsets of any place on this side of the world.

Best wishes for a Happy 2014
Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were married at this beautiful "resort" and have nothing but great memories of this beautiful place. The service, food, attention to detail is second to none. EVERYTHING is beautiful. Staying here really makes you feel as though you are on an island all of your own. We couldn't have been more pleased with the distinguished and OUTSTANDING level of service provided by Mr. Sack and his team. We will definitely be back! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 426melissar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments, greatly appreciated and a good motivation for all ..

Best regards,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have been going to the Horned Dorset once or twice a year for the past eight years. It is, perhaps, the most magical hotel in the caribbean. We have traveled extensively in the region from the late great K Club in Barbuda to the fabulous Mallihouana under the legendary Michel Rostang in Anguilla to the ultra private Petit St. Vincent in the Grenadines - many, many amazing hotels. The Horned Dorset however, has that elusive magic that most resorts strive for but never quite attain. The property is wonderfully romantic - the bouganvilla overwhelm the many balconies, the palms sway, the frangipani beckon and the sounds of water cascading in fountains follows you about the property. The flora is so lovely, lush and varied that the New York Botanical Gardens published a guide to the garden's many unique plantings (found in the resort's library if you're interested). The rooms are all beautiful, luxurious and deeply romantic whether perched amidst the gardens or at waters edge. We have stayed all around the property and the rooms have all been unique and special - there is nothing remotely corporate about the Horned Dorset. The beautiful lighting, fabrics and furnishings and the sheer generosity of the space sets the rooms far above the lodging at other resorts. There are many lovely ways to pass the days - by the grand pool surrounded by palms and bananna trees, with an excellent rum punch on the beach or in the balmy caribbean water. But the evenings are especially enchanted. Winding fragrant paths lead to the candlelit dining room where you can dine on the terrace under the stars or inside next to windows thrown open to the moon. The food is superb and always, always the service excels. At the Horned Dorset the personal touch is always present. On one stay the salad appeared with mustard greens grown by the talented sommelier, Geraldine, in her own home garden. The chef may come out to speak to you as the kitchen winds down. The staff will go out of their way to hunt down wines you are especially fond of. A guest who is a jazz pianist might play a set during dinner. Champagne and hors d'oerves are thoughtfully served on the terrace just as the sun is setting. The library - a wonderful space which speaks quietly of another time and place - is set for a glass of whiskey or a chess game after dinner. And then there is the Horned Dorset's community of outstanding classical musicians - nutured over the years by the wonderfully sophisticated manager Wilhelm Sack - who perform concerts in the elegant dining room, a stunning setting that offers a most intimate connection to the musicians. It is difficult to overstate how delightful it is to dine in such a magnificent tropical setting while grand musical notes mix with the sound of the ocean. Magic indeed. After all these years, I can say that the Horned Dorset is an incredibly rare and special place where graciousness and elegance mingle with romance and luxury to create an unsurpassed experience. Go if you can.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I read your comments and will pass them on to our staff, thank you and we are looking forward seeing you here again

Best regards,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews