We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location- close to everything, but so private”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horned Dorset Primavera
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing location- close to everything, but so private”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed with Illeana in a villa on AirBNB and this place is amazing. From the privacy to the infinity pool and the private dipping pool to the gorgeous views from the hotel deck and beach. This place has it all. We were glad to have a car, so we enjoyed driving into Rincon for surfing, snorkeling, and meals, but we also loved escaping back into the privacy and luxury of the Horned Dorsett each evening.

In my opinion, a perfect place to stay if you have a car!

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the villas for perfect privacy and a feeling of complete luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ebwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    44
    33
    23
    4
See reviews for
21
186
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Horned Dorset three times in the past two years and will surely go back. The Residences are exquisitely furnished to convey not just luxury, but tranquility and a romantic atmosphere. Each time we leave rejuvenated, renewed and revitalized. Heads up! Be aware that the villas do not have a tv or radio, so this is for getaways to literally decompress from the routine by reading, sunbathing, sleeping in, eating well, and reconnecting with a loved one (we personally spend at least one day to do nothing but lounge in the villa's plunge pool with a couple of bottles of champers!) It is very upscale and the prices reflect it, but well worth it. The one disappointment was that one time we went having taken advantage of a special offer the hotel offered for Puerto Rico residents during low season - and they removed the complimentary coffee maker with coffee and the bottled mineral water from the villa; both amenities were back in the room in our following stay when we paid regular rates...it just seemed like a petty thing to do, but by no means did it ruin our enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask about their calendar of concerts and dinner; they are lovely evenings featuring a live classical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJOValcarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Der Guest,

Thank you for your comments, greatly appreciated and that is what we are here for to help you to decompress and reconnect, simply a a place to get away in this busy world and pamper yourself.

In the long term it is better to pay a high hotel bill then a high Hospital bill "down the road".

We are looking forward seeing you back again.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband works in Puerto RIco and I met him for our 27th Wedding Anniversary. We were told that it was one of the most romantic places in Puerto RIco and I must agree with that statement! Although we were first promised a different room, I can not complain, because the room we were given was beautiful definitely as large as any townhouse in the States. I did miss the direct ocean view from our bed that we would of had with the promised suite. Decorated with Moroccan furnishing throughout it was different and quite lovely even after all these years. It had two levels, a living area, little dining table, huge downstairs closet, a private terrace with two lounge chairs, a bistro table and your very own and private lunge pool. The en-suite bathroom had the biggest party shower, I have seen in a hotel with a spectacular soaking tub. The linens and bed were also amazing! It was spectacular to hear the waves come crashing against the building as we woke up. The room had a complete and full kitchen but you couldn't even find one bottle/wine opener, a knife much less a glass. The kitchen was bare. It is the lack of attention to detail that was a bit disappointing and not that of a once 4 and 5 star property. The food at the restaurant was good, but expensive for what was offered. The gym was falling apart with broken windows, cobwebs and what seemed to be really old equipment. I didn't even realize there was a second resort pool in front of the gym until the day we were leaving, but it too was empty with no place to sit. The few guests were at the main pool near the main lobby area. If you want to get away, hide and not be seen this is the place to go and disconnect. I know the hotel has been in Rincon for many years and at one time, it has to have been host to many affluent and distinct guests. We were even told we were getting the Hilary Clinton suite. I don't know if this was true or not. Nonetheless, the property needs lots of care and attention. I don't know if the owners are selling or it is just being left to wither away. The beauty of the location and the ocean views from ones private terrace are spectacular and second to none; it's a shame to let the unlit walkways, weeded gardens, broken roof tiles and lack of care to the property as a whole ruin this beautiful hotel. I even called back to request an itemized bill sent to my e-mail and I am still waiting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peredakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your vacation experience during your stay this January and I hope you had a memorable Anniversary. We celebrated the same Anniversary as you, 27 years for the main building, in front of the ocean , that is an ongoing challenge, as you might understand, however, all the suites are newly remodeled, 1998 onwards.

Thank you for the positive feedback and for the other comments and you are correct, the kitchen are not fully equipped as the they are not meant for cooking meals to avoid cooking smell in the suites, but we always oblige if a guests ask for any specific items and of course offer room service for breakfast , lunch and dinner.

I will ask the staff to refrain on comments regarding the Hillary Clinton Suite as you mention just in case it does not fit the party affiliation of a guest. Never know what turns people on and off.

We are located in a private little corner of the world and is perfect for anyone trying to get some peace and quite and get away form it all.

Have a great summer and all the best wishes.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just spent two days celebrating my anniversary with hubby and had a memorable weekend. From the moment you arrive, you are welcomed by Wilhelm Sack, General Manager, who treats you as royalty. A few reasons to call this place heaven:
- Upscale atmosphere with high end amenities.
- Service is impeccable in every area of the hotel. Friendly staff.
- Rooms are very spacious and have the best bedding of any hotel previously experienced!
- Large bathroom with huge bathtub (big enough for two)!!!
- Private pools are out of this world, with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea.
- All of our meals were outstanding. (Breakfast at Veranda terrace, Room Service twice and dinner at Aaron's.

We consider ourselves experienced travelers and will highly recommend this property to all of our friends and colleagues. A hotel not to be missed if you are seeking a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ann-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and I will pass it on to our staff.

Many call us the most romantic hotel in the Caribbean, well with the sunsets and setting easily possible however it is this perfect blend of mood and nature of our guests what makes it happen.

We are looking forward seeing you back again and all the best wishes for a great Spring and Summer after this miserable cold winter in the East Coast.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the HDP for an anniversary celebration. This resort is located at a spectacular setting! We stayed at a oceanfront villa which is beautifully furnished and from everywhere you sit you have a little bit of ocean in house living room. The private pool is a plus as you can sunbathe poolside the moment you wake up.
The gardens are very pretty and wild, although I do agree it needs some maintenance. Housekeeping didn't showed up at all on our full day there until 3pm knocking and screaming at the door, at which time we told them we did not need our room serviced since we were having lunch there.
The service was ok, not necessarily extraordinary which I believe has to do with being a European business. My husband has ordered flowers and champagne to the room prior to our arrival, and it was not there. That would never occur in a W or a Conrad. They did bring flowers after dinner, but brought the champagne to dinner (since we had dinner at their restaurant). We are pretty laid back, so we did not make it a big deal but they should really improve in this regard as there are other similar complaints. This is a pretty expensive hotel, so as clients we expect outstanding kiss my *** service.
The restaurant setting is gorgeous, the terrace very nice. Again service was ok, not outstanding. The food was definitely below par. I ordered a fish that was way overlooked and didn't taste like the fish I'm used to eating fresh. My husbands lobster dis was cold. I do not recommend this restaurant given the other delicious alternatives around town.
Breakfast in the outdoor terrace, which is different from dinner, was fine. Good coffee and breakfast options.
Overall, we had a great time since we had already read many reviews on TA and other social media and we were not expecting anything other than what we found. We loved the setting, it's so romantic! We enjoyed our stay but would we stay here again? Probably not. There are many other places in Puerto Rico that are gorgeous and romantic and the service is beyond wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDPRTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience of your recent visit with us, however I did not quite understand your comment : being a European Business you did not expect the service to be top notch?

We hopefully see you back again to share with you the most beautiful romantic sunsets of any place on this side of the world.

Best wishes for a Happy 2014
Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were married at this beautiful "resort" and have nothing but great memories of this beautiful place. The service, food, attention to detail is second to none. EVERYTHING is beautiful. Staying here really makes you feel as though you are on an island all of your own. We couldn't have been more pleased with the distinguished and OUTSTANDING level of service provided by Mr. Sack and his team. We will definitely be back! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 426melissar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments, greatly appreciated and a good motivation for all ..

Best regards,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have been going to the Horned Dorset once or twice a year for the past eight years. It is, perhaps, the most magical hotel in the caribbean. We have traveled extensively in the region from the late great K Club in Barbuda to the fabulous Mallihouana under the legendary Michel Rostang in Anguilla to the ultra private Petit St. Vincent in the Grenadines - many, many amazing hotels. The Horned Dorset however, has that elusive magic that most resorts strive for but never quite attain. The property is wonderfully romantic - the bouganvilla overwhelm the many balconies, the palms sway, the frangipani beckon and the sounds of water cascading in fountains follows you about the property. The flora is so lovely, lush and varied that the New York Botanical Gardens published a guide to the garden's many unique plantings (found in the resort's library if you're interested). The rooms are all beautiful, luxurious and deeply romantic whether perched amidst the gardens or at waters edge. We have stayed all around the property and the rooms have all been unique and special - there is nothing remotely corporate about the Horned Dorset. The beautiful lighting, fabrics and furnishings and the sheer generosity of the space sets the rooms far above the lodging at other resorts. There are many lovely ways to pass the days - by the grand pool surrounded by palms and bananna trees, with an excellent rum punch on the beach or in the balmy caribbean water. But the evenings are especially enchanted. Winding fragrant paths lead to the candlelit dining room where you can dine on the terrace under the stars or inside next to windows thrown open to the moon. The food is superb and always, always the service excels. At the Horned Dorset the personal touch is always present. On one stay the salad appeared with mustard greens grown by the talented sommelier, Geraldine, in her own home garden. The chef may come out to speak to you as the kitchen winds down. The staff will go out of their way to hunt down wines you are especially fond of. A guest who is a jazz pianist might play a set during dinner. Champagne and hors d'oerves are thoughtfully served on the terrace just as the sun is setting. The library - a wonderful space which speaks quietly of another time and place - is set for a glass of whiskey or a chess game after dinner. And then there is the Horned Dorset's community of outstanding classical musicians - nutured over the years by the wonderfully sophisticated manager Wilhelm Sack - who perform concerts in the elegant dining room, a stunning setting that offers a most intimate connection to the musicians. It is difficult to overstate how delightful it is to dine in such a magnificent tropical setting while grand musical notes mix with the sound of the ocean. Magic indeed. After all these years, I can say that the Horned Dorset is an incredibly rare and special place where graciousness and elegance mingle with romance and luxury to create an unsurpassed experience. Go if you can.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I read your comments and will pass them on to our staff, thank you and we are looking forward seeing you here again

Best regards,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
2.4 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
776 reviews
20.4 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
291 reviews
62.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.5 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
3.2 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horned Dorset Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horned Dorset Primavera

Property: Horned Dorset Primavera
Address: Apartado 1132, Rincon 00677-1132, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Horned Dorset Primavera 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horned Dorset Primavera is a small luxury hotel located in northwestern Puerto Rico, two miles from the town of Rincon. It is set among rolling hills at the edge of the beautiful Caribbean Sea and is known for reserved European service executed in an atmosphere unique in Puerto Rico and the award-winning Restaurant Aaron. The hotel is a member of Relais & Chateaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Horned Dorset Primavera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horned Dorset Primavera Rincon
Horned Dorset Primavera Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing