We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place we will always stay in Rincon from now on....”
Review of Amirage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amirage
Ranked #10 of 19 Rincon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We have been to Rincon three times, and stayed in a different place every time. All of the places have been nice, but the view, the room, and the service at the Amirage were head and shoulders above the others. The accomodations were clean and spacious (we had the Rainbow suite). The ammenities were perfect, and the view absolutely breathtaking. We also enjoyed talking with the owners, Joy and David, who made us feel so welcome that we knew we had made new friends that we look forward to seeing next year.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Amirage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2010

Amirage is wonderful guesthouse. We stayed in the "Lookout" room, which has two floors and two balconies with great views of the coastline. The "room" includes a small kitchen, dining area, several small couches, a second story bedroom, and a bathroom.

Very comfortable and clean. Easy to feel right at home.

The house is right on the water - and I mean right on the water. Not a good swimming area, but great for snorkeling. You can hear the sound of the waves from just about anywhere in the room.

The owners, Joy and David, provided us plenty of privacy and offered advice on where to catch the sunset, locations of beaches, and dining options. We prepared several meals in the fully equipped kitchen. The knives could stand to be sharpened, but I'm a little picky about my culinary tools.

Joy and David have done a wonderful job of creating a guesthouse where you can feel at home from the moment you arrive - Joy greeted us by name. A very nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phono-holic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We just returned from our third stay at Amirage. Joy and David do an outstanding job as hosts and the maintenance of this guest villa is impressive. They love gardening and it shows in the amazing array of plants and flowers throughout the property. It is always so lovely to walk into our suite and find a bottle a wine, a fruit basket (sometimes we just picked papayas from their garden), and coffee-all the essentials. There's nothing like waking up in the morning to see a gorgeous blue sky, hear the surf, and see pelicans diving right outside your window for their breakfast. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mntwinsfan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We just returned from a three night stay at Amirage where our experience far exceeded our expectations. Amirage is a most spectaular location where the ocean waves literally roll in under your balcony (or balconies). We stayed in The Lookout located on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the water and a full kitchen and living room. A lovely staircase led up to the third floor bedroom with a queen bed and another balcony with wide open vistas of the water where you could see the sun rise or set. Our biggest decision each morning and evening was which balcony to sit on!

Although the beach is very narrow in front of Amirage you can walk for long distances and swim anywhere along the way. The tides were particlarly high during our stay so I think normally there is more beach front for relaxing in the sand.

Joy and David were wonderful and accomodating hosts. We used the gas grill and were offered use of the hot tub and the huge deck with tables and chairs aplenty overlooking the water. The garden was also lovely with benches and shade. Truly a hidden gem in Rincon PR.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTEAMCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

My son (15) and I usually leave Connecticut and visit Rincon during school vacation in February. My sister who lives in town for six months each year made arrangements for us to stay at Amirage, a small complex directly on the water with unsurpassed views. Our two bedroom suite was spacious and immaculate with comfortable furnishings. Our balcony which virtually jutted over the water was 25' long and a great place to soak up the sun in privacy..The owners were charming and knowledgable about the Island. I've stayed in many places in Puerto Rico but never was as satisfied as I was with Amirage.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayBConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We just returned from a wonderful three days in Rincon, and loved Amirage. We would stay there again and recommend to our friends. The place is absolutely beautiful - from our room we heard the waves, with the ocean at the door. For us, the secluded location (which is easy to find and get to) was perfect; the hospitality was lovely, and the room was just right.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank sbm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

This was our second Amirage experience, having visited over a decade ago. The changes are absolutely stunning! Hosts Joy and David have worked so tirelessly on improvements, it's hard to know where to begin. Starting from streetside, driving down the little tucked-away lane we felt a little like Alice finding Wonderland. On the embankment opposite the guesthouse, bougainvilla tumbles down a steep hillside. Joy laughingly describes climbing a very tall ladder propped up against the embankment to plant them and has the photos to prove her story! The shaded lane meanders along the shore; the only thing missing this time were the cows who used to amble up the road.
Entering through the arched portal I likened the experience to another literary reference; finding THE SECRET GARDEN. The tiny, carefully-kept garden is shaded by a cathedral-high open-work construction and cooled by burbling fountain. The deck stretches out over the ocean and supports masses of bougainvilla, frangi-pani, banana trees, Joy's herb and vegetable garden, thatched-roof umbrella tables, and the hot tub. In the two-story apartment with the magnificent ocean view, we found a fruit basket and chilled wine in the fridge. The spotless rooms were modest-sized, airy, and were provided with every amenity. The bedsheets were so silky, I asked Joy where I could find a set like them. Practically speaking, our hosts were helpful in every way, even to showing these rather mature greenhorns how to snorkle safely. They directed us to a remote sun-bleached lagoon, where the water was warm and the palest blue I've ever seen. We sure won't wait another ten years before we return to Amirage!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindawesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
0.1 mi away
Que Chevere
Que Chevere
#7 of 19 in Rincon
17 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coconut Palms Inn
Coconut Palms Inn
#3 of 19 in Rincon
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amirage

Address: PO Box 1535, Rincon 00677-1535, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range: £74 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Amirage Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing