We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for surfers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beside The Pointe Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Rincon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had reservations to stay at this property one night before our week stay at a house nearby, but never made it because we could not find it. We called the desk quite a few times and no one ever answered so we had to skip it. Later in the week we decided to find out where it was and check out the bar. It is down a very narrow, steep, windy road by the ocean. We found it to be surprisingly small and somewhat isolated. However it is directly on a beautiful deserted beach with huge waves, and the drinks and food were good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed for a weekend but ended up staying for one more night. The rooms are nothing fancy but waking up early in the morning and just walk literally like 10 steps to the beach is priceless. Not a lot of people during the day at the beach so we were able to truly relax, put a hammock up, and drink some medallas. But during the night, the bar gets packed, the music is awesome, and the bartenders are super cool. Well I had a blast!!!!! The restaurant is pretty good as well. We had a mahi mahi ceviche with papaya sauce, steamed mussels with chorizo in a white wine sauce, some plaintains baskets with salmon mousse, and a skirt steak with cilantro butter with white rice and beans. Let me tell you, everything was cooked perfectly, my steak was medium rare that just melted in my mouth (very good considering the cut), the rice and beans just like any puerto rican grandma will make, the mussels were absolutely delicious (still get goose bumps thinking about them!). Picture you with your significant other, just eating, drinking some mojitos (they won bacardi’s best mojito competition), while watching the sunset, its so romantic. One of the things that many may find bad is that you will hear music and the people, especially the first floor rooms during Fridays and Saturdays nights. So I don’t recommend this if you have kids, or will like to sleep early or are not just the party type. For everybody else this place is pretty cool, far away from civilization, quiet and peaceful during the day-yet vibrant, fun, and energetic during the night.

Also if you stay in Rincon please go for breakfast at the “panaderia” next to the lazy parrot inn. They make THE BEST sandwiches! Ask for the “poderoso” which means powerful and it has ham and pastrami, swiss cheese, with freshly made bread made like a Panini. Its warm, filling, crunchy, sweet, salty, and above all $4.00!!! Also the cubano or the pernil (rosted pork) are amazingly GOOD. The coffee is good and only $0.50!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morenia20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

If you're travelling to Rincon for surfing and nightlife, this is a great hotel. It's right on the beach which had beautiful crashing waves and has a popular bar with deck. We we're hopping around the island and this was fine for a one-night stay. The room was dark and small, but very clean and the bed was very comfy. Parking was hard as there were only maybe five spots in their lot. Service at the front desk was average. Not much near the hotel itself, so again, stay for more than a night only if you're there for the surfing.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evergreen813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Beside the Pointe Inn is a bar with a couple of rooms attached. You can tell that the bar is the priority of the business and the rooms are an after-thought. On the positive side, this place is right on the beach, which is hard to beat for $100/night. I went to Rincon to enjoy the ocean and party with my friends, so the place met my needs. If this is what you're looking for too, consider Beside the Pointe.

Room Tip: Don't plan on going to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evalsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

The NOISE every night from the bar and partiers is unbearable ! A beautiful location spoiled by a constant "spring break " vibe , don't even think of bringing kids that want to sleep. THe hotel emails guests 2 days prior to arrival that the surf contest parties will be held there , with live bands late night ... OK ... What about the other nights we stayed ? Just as loud with drunk college kids ! Not to mention they knew they were hosting parties months ago for the contest , so they couldn't mention that when I booked only a month earlier ?

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnc031810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I'd say the hotel is mediocre. I thought the hotel was IN Rincon but it's in Centro Puntas. Once we arrived and checked both out we were relieved. Rincon is a town and Centro Puntas is a cool suburb on a dramatic hillside.

The rooms were ok, nothing to get excited about. The shower never got really warm though. We didn't have any problems with noise from room#1. The only noise you could hear was from the kitchen or people walking by the rooms. When the bar was pumping the AC drowned it out.

Unfortunately half the bar was missing when we were there. We tried to find out when and how it happened but didn't get an answer (staff were always too busy for conversation and forgot to ask the front desk). The outer part of the bar which you see on hotel photos was washed out and collapsed, and so blocked off from the inside. You can't see the ocean when you're eating but you can hear it. This was definitely a bummer, no where did we learn about this so it must be recent.

The surfer atmosphere in this area is one of its best features. It is very laid back and cool. You don't have to worry about much other than the waves. Really, there are huge waves, we had almost no sand at the beach to swim in.

The food as the restaurant is very average. Typical American fare with a PR twist. My husband loved the crab wrap. They also have good happy hour specials. No complaints on the prices other than for the room. I did find $110 a night for this room a bit much, but I guess it's because of the sought after area.

For our breakfasts we are at RockBottom across the road which was awesome. That is definitely a cool bar, very surfer chic but off the water. It is part of the Casa Verde. Another breakfast we went to the English Rose which was a crazy uphill drive but great view and food.

We visited the Villa Cofresi but were not overly impressed. It just appeared like a slightly outdated beach hotel for way too much money. The beach was not as nice and food, although higher class tasted like Lean Cuisine to me. We ordered the Pirate drink there which was definitely cool and very strong. It's coconut milk, rum and nutmeg in a Coconut.

Overall we had no serious issues with out hotel. Lots of parking around and its free. Cool area and fun beach. Beach rentals nearby. I would look into other places next time but if there is nothing for less than $110 a night I'd come back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oiseaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We arrived there in the middle of the week at night. The place is in the middle of nowhere. It was far away from any store so you would have to drive out a few miles to get something to eat. There is a restaurant in the hotel and the food was ok. The property is right on the beach which is nice but if you plan to lay out and get some sun, there is no place to do it. You have to drive to another beach.

Now I did not mind that the place is out of the way. The view is very nice where it is. I did not mind the OK food. The thing that bugged me the most is the room we stayed in. It looked clean but it is dark and the over powering smell of roach spray was nauseating. If I had a choice, I would have gone to anther place but we arrived late in the night. It was also very small and right next to a dumpster along with the other rooms. Early in the morning you can hear the staff throwing out bottles from the night before.

The staff are really friendly but that is about it. Consider other hotels even if not on the beach. Most hotels are close to the beaches anyways.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 December 2010

Tamboo Beside the Pointe is on a secluded beach area on the north side of Rincón, Puerto Rico. We always reccommend, including in our website, that if you are coming to Rincón you need a rental car. Although Rincón is a small town, nothing is at walking distance. Our property, being on the surf side of Rincón, when there is a BIG swell, we lose most of the beach area but you can still find some space to lay down. This is not the usual. At a 5 minutes drive you can get to the south side beaches that are nice for sun bathing and swimming. We appologize for the alleged smell; we have one of the best Housekeeping Staff - I can say that by experience in the industry, and our exterminating company uses odorless products. This is an endorsed property by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company for the last 9 years and their inspectors are very profesional and rigid in the inspections, our average in the inspections is always over 88% (which is considered excellent in the industry). My staff have instruction not to take the garbage out until at least 8:00 AM, from 6 to 8 AM they are brooming and spraying (hosing) the sorroundings to have our facilities clean for the day, and this is monitored by cameras.

Your feedback is very appreciated since it let us improve on our services, it would have been of more value if you would have let us know while you were here or at your arrival to correct the problem right away. Please accept our apologies for your inconveniences.

Javier E. Quiñones
President
Tamboo Beside The Pointe, Inc.
info@besidethepointe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon hotels
2.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
804 reviews
2 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
209 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serenity Rincon
Serenity Rincon
#3 of 23 in Rincon
56 reviews
2.2 mi away
Que Chevere
Que Chevere
#7 of 19 in Rincon
19 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rincon Inn
Rincon Inn
#18 of 19 in Rincon
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beside The Pointe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beside The Pointe Inn

Address: Road 413 Interior, KM 4.4 Sandy Beach, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range: £36 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beside The Pointe Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Provides casual tropical accommodations and world-renowned TAMBOOTAVERN & SEASIDE GRILL serves the best Caribbean-American cuisine.We’re right on the beach, where you should be! Rincón, Puerto Rico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Beside The Pointe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beside The Pointe Hotel Rincon
Beside The Pointe Rincon
Beside The Pointe Inn Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing