We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me”
Review of Tropic Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tropic Cabanas
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

For about the same price, I stayed at 2 other places right on the beach with much nicer amenities. I found the bed uncomfortable and the blanket was too small for the bed. I couldn't get a good nights sleep here. Whenever you close the shutters to turn on the AC, the place is totally dark. Only 2 of the small windows had plastic on them to allow you to turn on the AC. The others were just screened. The cabana had some plumbing issues too as the sinks hot water was barely flowing (it never got hot). The shower seemed to flow very slowly too. Strangely, the kitchen sink blasted water. There aren't any phones in the room and I didn't have cell coverage (Verizon) in the room. Once I had coverage in town, I couldn't reach the owners for a problem I was having. This place is also very hard to find. Nobody in town knew where it was at. I ended up driving past the place twice trying to find. it. It has a very small sign by the road which is easy to miss. I think you can do much better than this place for a similar price in Rincon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kellronius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Pros:
Walk to the beach
Comfortable Beds
Even though Cabin 2 has AC in one room it will fill the cabana and this was in humid August (don't let this turn you away)
Hot water with good shower head
Full Kitchen
Very inexpensive compared to the rest of Rincon
Close to Restaurants (Red Flamboyan was suggest by the owner and it was amazing!!!)
Though I never directly dealt with the woman who runs the cabanas the people i traveled with did and did not have enough good things to say about how nice she was
Bug spray provided which you will need if you want to hang outside on the porch in the hammock or just playing cards with friends

Cons:
honestly none!


Tip:
Arrive during the daylight hours, Rincon overall is pretty isolated and mountainous which can be difficult to navigate at night unless you are familiar with the area!
Do not be scared of Issac the dog that has been hanging around after Hurricane Issac passed by, I am terrified of dogs but this one is honestly harmless and seems more afraid of humans!
If you want to have breakfast at the English Rose arrive early and be prepared to wait! Parking can be crazy since its located on a narrow mountain road, be patient!
You NEED a car in Rincon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This was my second visit in Rincon, staying at Tropic Cabanas and I highly recommend it. It has an authentic feel, set back in a tropical rain forest setting. Very close to everything we were interested in doing and seeing in the area, and the cabanas are awesome. Cool cottage type setting with the two room cabana having a small kitchen in it which is a big plus. Not to mention an outdoor barbeque pit and covered area. I will definitely continue to rent the cabanas when I decide to return to the area next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I have spent the past 5 Christmases at Tropic Cabanas with my family of 4. The cottages are simple but clean, located within a 2 minute walk to the beach, a 5 minute walk to the local bars and restaurants, but far enough away to escape the noise of the evening merriment. The landscape surrounding the cottages is lush and gorgeous. Michelle and Tim, the owners, are most accommodating and a font of knowledge about the area and local activities. Two of the cottages are equipped with kitchens, although most of our meals are prepared on the BBQ pit and consumed at the large outdoor picnic area. Each cabana has a comfortable porch with a locally made hammock- perfect for the afternoon nap after a long morning of surfing. The cabanas are located very near Tres Palmas, the Steps, Maria's, Domes and Sandy Beach, and not too far from the surf spots closer to Aguadilla and the airport. All in all a perfect destination!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I really love staying in the cabans. They are so cute. A hammock on the porch and the Coqui to sing you to sleep at night. Just steps a way from the ocean for a view of the sunset. You are in a tropical paradise. Comfortable, clean and convenient. A stroll down the street and a cold beer is in your hand, or hang out and cook on the big grill. I will go back to Tropic Cabanas year after year.This was our second trip! Thank you!

Room Tip: Get the big cabana if you have the family with you, full size fridge and a kitchen with everything y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon hotels
0.7 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
427 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
795 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
2.9 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
0.5 mi away
Serenity Rincon
Serenity Rincon
#2 of 23 in Rincon
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Cabanas

Property: Tropic Cabanas
Address: 413 kilometer 4.4 Interior | Calle GTO, Rincon, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Rincon
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Cabanas has three cabanas set in tropical gardens across the street from Antonio's beach in the popular 'Sandy Beach' are of Rincon Puerto Rico. Walk to the beach, restaraunts, shops and activities. No hill climbing here! Ample private, off street parking provided, as well as fully furnished cabanas. Relax in the hammocks, or have a bbq dinner under the stars. We are close to everyhting, but secluded and private. Easy to get to and hard to forget! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropic Cabanas Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing