We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food but bring your credit card.”

Francisco's Caribbean Local Cuisine
Ranked #6 of 115 Restaurants in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Francisco's is set in a beautiful garden atmosphere in the Lazy Parrot Inn. Our upper pavillion overlooks the pool and property below. The garden tables are private and romantic setting with the Sea Glass Bar just steps away. Dinner, 7 days a week, 4pm-10pm.
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Located in the main building at the Lazy Parrot, this is a medium-higher priced menu. Specializing in local and island food this is a great stop to taste local dishes. We had mofongo con pollo or mashed garlic plantains with chicken as our main dish and tres leches or three milk cake for dessert. We also had the hite sangria which was one of the best i have ever had. Our bill was north of $50 but the food was excellent and fresh.

Thank smtrunks19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Francisco's Caribbean Local Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Love to hear how much you enjoyed Francisco's at the Lazy Parrot! We always use fresh ingredients in our local dishes and so happy to hear you thought it was one of the best Sangrias you ever had!.....thanks for the compliments and the review!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I have been to this restaurant twice and both times the excellent and creative spin on Caribbean cuisine has been a pleasant surprise. On my last trip I had an amazing grouper stuffed with shrimp in a cream sauce and fluffy whipped sweet potatoes. My husband remarked about the great sauce on his lamb chops.
We sat at a private table in a garden setting ( suggest reservation for that)
Service was stellar. Can't say anything negative about our experience at Francisco's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunsetrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Francisco's Caribbean Local Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review and the advice on getting a garden table. Your repeat business means the world to us! We look forward to your return....

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

What I liked best was the menu being a total (pleasant) surprise from what I was expecting. I went on a few occasions and the service varied from person to person, but the food was great each time. This is a good spot for breakfast or dinner. The mild mornings and cool evenings make this open-air restaurant ideal for enjoying a meal or a drink from the bar downstairs.

Thank andAwayIGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Francisco's Caribbean Local Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review and your honest opinion of food and service. We take pride in our menu offering local ingredients and appreciate the thumbs up and the pleasant surprise comment. Service is always a challenge when someone visits the restaurant over and over. How one server may address the table vs another only confirms we need more work on every experience being the same. Thanks for noticing our tranquil atmosphere and we hope to see you again soon at Francisco's at the Lazy Parrot.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We ate here the past two years but on our visit this year what a disappointment. We understand the restaurant has changed hands and sad to say not for the better. Our waiter was nice but he took forever with pretty much everything, the food was mediocre and not worth the wait or money at all. My wife's fish was so overcooked she had to use my steak knife to cut it. My steak was cooked nicely but that's about the best I can say about it. Dinner was such a disappointment we skipped dessert so can't comment on that. This used to be the one of the places we looked forward to going to on our visits to Rincon, but I don't think we will be going back.

Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Francisco's Caribbean Local Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Yes, Francisco's Local Cuisine is our newest restaurant at the Lazy Parrot. When you have had such successful restaurants in the past everyone wants to compare them to each other which is impossible when you offer different services, foods and price points. We always ask every guest if they are happy with their meal and it saddens me that you chose to use this format rather than express any disappointment at the time service was rendered. We thank you for your review which we will use in future training sessions. These as well as our other excellent reviews, only make us better.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The food was delicious here, so good we are here twice in one week. We had 2 kinds of ceviche, one with mango and one with chorizo, both of which were delicious. For main courses, we had the
Wahoo, the quail, and the mofungo(? Not sure of spelling). All were done very well. If the restaurant had one deficiency, it was in the selection of wines, but we were told they were in the process of changing the wine list and were using up the wines from the previous list. Hopefully that will be fixed quickly. Definitely recommend.

Thank jvandew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Francisco's Caribbean Local Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review! We look forward to your return to Rincon and Francisco's Local Cuisine!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Francisco's Caribbean Local Cuisine also viewed

Rincon, Puerto Rico
 
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Francisco's Caribbean Local Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing