We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Paradise Villas
Nearby Hotels
Villa Cofresi Hotel(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lazy Parrot Inn(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
74
13
1
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
13
1
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poollower villapuerto ricowasher and dryeronsite managerguests stayingsam's clubthree bedroomany concernsmaintenance staffgas grillopened the doorgreen flashinternet servicepublic beachlocation is greathome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed here for President's Day weekend. If you have never been to Rincon before, once you get to the Villa from the airports, this is indeed where the relaxation begins. Great location away from the main crowded surf beaches. They are easy to travel to-10-20 minutes by car. Board rentals are easy and cheap, too. Villa is located directly in front of Corcega beach which is more swimmable and family friendly. Has a few hotels that offer drink and food right off the beach about a 10 minute walk away. Rooms are well appointed and the shared areas (we had the largest apt.-4 king size beds and 1 full, 3rd Flr Upper) were well thought out. We had 4 adult couples and everyone got their own room and bathroom. The upstairs pool is a definite nice touch. Loved the fact that we had a kitchen and barbecue. Perfect for breakfast, grilling lunch and dinner on days/nights we didn't make it out for those meals. We also were able to buy beers at the market and bring them to the beach. Everyone was impressed - and I was relieved as I picked this place off the internet. There is no "front desk" but if you need to get in touch with Holly, the manager, she is literally a phone call away. She was able to help us with the few small requests we had. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetp, Owner at Sunset Paradise Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Yes, the new rooftop area with our negative edge pool is a great recent addition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Just returned from a 5-day stay at Sunset Paradise Villas with my wife and 4 kids (ages 2, 6, 9 and 11)....We had considered staying at a hotel, such as Villa Cofresi, which would require 2 rooms - given how our kids are starting to get a bit bigger. Rather than have the 2 rooms, we opted to go the villa route with Sunset Paradise Villas.

The villa is well located in a reasonably quiet neighborhood. 100 yards away is the municipal beach - which was NEVER crowded. Puerto Rico does a wonderful job with their public beaches (actually, all beaches are public as the "beaches belong to the people"). There are palapas and a nice little pizza stand / shop which we found very convenient. People in the neighborhood are exceptionally friendly..

The waves are literally off the back door with a small strip of beach to play on (size of the beach varies during time of year). The snorkeling right off the back door was fantastic as the water is relatively calm and the sunset are beautiful.

Villa is well kept and appointed. Not too big - not too small....

Fast food, bakeries, restaurants, liquor store, pharmacy are all a 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive....Easy access to downtown Rincon and the bigger beaches (Marias, Steps, Domes, Sandy etc.)....All are beautiful, relatively uncrowded and offer something different (surfing, snorkeling etc.). But, it was always nice to come back to our "own" beach and the small pool on the rooftop.

We walked up the beach to Villa Cofresi, Rincon Beach Resort, Horned Dorset etc. We found some of these places to be crowded, loud etc. to the point where you had to fight it out for a lounge chair....The beaches were not as nice - but, those resorts offer the convenience of having restaurants / bar right on site. Nice, if that's what you're into.....We enjoyed making our own breakfast, using the gas grill etc....It was easy to seek out the crowds when we wanted. Unfortunately, with the other resorts, you have to leave the resort to seek out the quiet and solitude.

Highly recommend and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WateburyVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetp, Owner at Sunset Paradise Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Yes, for the price of a couple of hotel rooms, you can stay with us in one of our private completely furnished units!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The facilities are excellent, the neighborhood quiet and friendly. Views are amazing. The owners take great care to make this a special place to stay, are very accommodating if you are in need of something, and do a great job of informing you of how things work and where things are in the Villas and in the neighborhood. You can spend your entire vacation right at the villas, or use it as a home base to go touring.
During our stay there was an evening softball tournament across the street, so we took in a game and made somme new friends.
We brought our 1.5 year old and 5 year old children with us, and found the setup was perfect for managing the kids.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetp, Owner at Sunset Paradise Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2010

Yes we have recently added many amenities including our rooftop pool area. One of greatest assets is our manager Holly… she really does care. Many people staying with us use it as “home base” and do day trips all over the island. We are located in a residential neighborhood which offers to a “real” feeling of Living in Puerto Rico (opposed to just being on vacation). Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed in Villa 1 upper level. It had a great open air feel to location. It was apparant though that it was a recent addition, because whoever upfitted this didn't bother to remove the sliding glass doors on the bedrooms, metal handrails on the balconies etc. By spending another $2000 on the inside they could have made it seem like a much nicer place.
Lots of little tiney tropical ants in the villa, and lack of sweeps on the three door help contribute to bringing the bugs in at night.
The neighorhood isn't all that great, but most of Rincon has a mixed feeling to it. Overall I would probably come back and thought it was a good value. Its hard to find a place where the water laps at the foundation of the building to rock you to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theblackfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetp, Owner at Sunset Paradise Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2010

Yes, Villa 1 upper is very open and spacious. It was custom built a few years ago and not a “upfitted recent addition”. We installed the glass door in the bedroom to keep the bedroom from being too dark, but you still can close the door (and curtains) and have quiet and privacy. Yes, we are so close to the ocean at times (during certain times of the year and storms) the water does lap against our stone seawall. If you like to go to sleep at the sounds of the ocean, this is perfect place to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Absolutely beautiful. We came for a family reunion of about 19 people (Not to sure). We rented Villa 2 & 3, and couldn't have asked for more. The kitchens were fully equipped w/ appliances. The roof top pool gave an AMAZING view of the ocean & hillsides. The house was just a dream & I can't wait to come back again next year... But this time with my boyfriend & friends :). I fell in love w/ the place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whenashsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews