We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service makes the great food go to waste”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa - GUESTHOUSE
Ranked #7 of 21 Rincon B&B and Inns
Old Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service makes the great food go to waste”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Although the breakfast was amazing the service was just terrible. The attitude towards families with kids is so rude. We were seated and Were provided with the kids menu first and Ordered right away. The food for the kids came relatively quickly. The menu for the adults never came. Once we ordered the food took so long to come out. The tables that were seated after us already had finished their breakfast but our order still had not come out. I asked the waitress if the order was in and another waitress behind her rolled her eyes. Finally our food came but we had no utensils. Also my wife's order did not come out right. When it came back it was still not right and they said we don't do that. All she asked for was instead of 2 scrambled eggs to make it only with one yolk instead of two. We have a 2 and a 4 year old so to have them sit quietly for a long time is not easy. Of course they were loud and dropped their forks and the 2 year old spilled water on the floor. I was amazed to see the staffs reaction to all if this...all they kept doing was roll their eyes and make comments to one another and sugh under their breath. For such a small place I was amazed at how slow the service was. My coffee was also only filled once at the begining. And they had plenty of staff. Furthermore, the mens bathroom toilet was not flushing. Reading some of the reviews u also noticed at how rude their responses are to negative reviews. Every review should be taken with much appreciation and should be a way to better themselves not with comebacks of snide remarks. The service unfortunately ruined the taste of the food. Will definitely not return and will mention this to friends and family. I'm saying all this having worked in the hospitality industry for over twenty years.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Santchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Came for 2 night stay 4 and I don't want to leave but I'll be back enjoy a piece of the Rincon paradise Esto Es Vida been for breakfast this time to enjoy the resort one of a kind private place OG style

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canovanas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We went to this place because a lot of friends told us this is the best brunch in the west side. We went on a Friday (we heard that weekends people had to wait hours for a table).

The road was small in the middle of the mountains of Rincon (very small), a real adventure, the view from the restaurant was beautiful. They do not have AC, but the wind of the mountains was perfect. We went with our three kids for the first time. The food was ok, the home made drinks was great, the service was perfect, their attention to my kids was superb and the place looks clean neat. We order fruits (great), french toast (good), coffee (ok) and eggs benedict (ok). I recommend this location, but be aware the road is not the best, on weekends be ready to wait a lot, great view, great drinks and a nice place to have brunch; but if you do not want to wait go to the restaurants in Rincon that they serve great breakfast too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joselinjosramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Our family of 5 (3 kids - ages 17, 15 and 13) stayed for 2 nights and it was great. It is a clean, beautiful house with a clean, enjoyable pool. The drive up the hill to the English Rose was pretty cool and the views are incredible. We loved the breakfast in the morning - so delicious. Ruth and her staff are friendly, genuine and lovely hosts. I would definitely go back to this B & B, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Chester" since we had 5 people in our party and needed the extra bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Service was excellent and personalized. The breakfast was simply YUMMY and quick service.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sulyrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just returned from a visit to puerto rico (rincon and guanica). While we didn't get to stay at the English Rose as they were fully booked, we were not far - allowing us to eat breakfast there every day.

The breakfasts were PERFECT. Frankly they were the best meals of our day which is a first!.

The staff was lovely and provided helpful tips for our visiting the area.

The location is beatiful / peaceful with amazing views. i read some of the comments about the road up the hill but it is really not that bad at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mackie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and it was awesome. The owners are very amicable and attentive of their guests. The breakfast was no more words than fantastic and delicious. The view and the Brunel Suite is spacious and clean.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jesik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 8 in Rincon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dos Angeles Del Mar Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Coconut Palms Inn
Coconut Palms Inn
#5 of 21 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa - GUESTHOUSE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa - GUESTHOUSE

Property: The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa - GUESTHOUSE
Address: Carr. Interior 413 | Km 2.0, Bo. Ensenada, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English Rose restaurant and guest house will be closed for maintenance until November 2. The English Rose Bed & Breakfast is nestled in the hills of upper Ensenada, Rincon. We have three luxury apartments, ranging in size from a studio to a two bedroom apartment, all fully equipped and the best breakfast in Rincon included for all guests .For a unique blend of olde English charm mixed with the tropical Caribbean, come and experience something truly different. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa Hotel Rincon
The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa - GUESTHOUSE Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing