We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Bay Leisure Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a midweek break at Sand Bay. We have been regulars there for at least 9 years. Although they are undergoing many changes with the Pontins take over, they are still providing excellent service and value for money. The changes involve self service in the restaurant, which was not a problem to us and I think it provided a more relaxed approach to meal times. There are helpful staff around to help those with less mobility. Other than that the food provided was still very nice and hot. Aesthetically there are things that need maintaining but give them a chance to sort these things out as the staff too are having to work through the changes. We had a lovely week, entertaining and relaxing but with plenty to join in with if you wanted to. I would certainly recommend that you give this fantastic place a visit. I know nobody likes change, but keep an open mind and go as if it is your first visit. If it is your first visit enjoy. The prices available this year are excellent. We have just booked to go back in a couple of weeks. My only dislike of the new set up was that the Bluecoats were introduced as Bluecoat Jo or Bluecoat Mark, which I found a bit demoralising to staff and an insult to the guests intelligence. This might be acceptable for younger family camps but not for an adult camp. We did not get chance to mention this to the entertainments manager as he was not visible very often and did not speak to us. Maybe when we visit next time. Please come and see for yourself then make your own mind up. Don't look back, look forward. There is a lot of good things there that is the same as it was. There is a great resident band, so we had live music as well as visiting cabarets. Warm rooms and friendly staff. Ideal for us. Give it a go. Tina & Viv.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tina19641708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went too Sand Bay for a mid week break. There were 12 people in our party and we all had a fantastic break
The food was good it is no self service .. It is not very good for people who are less mobile but im sure if you help they will help you.
The entertainment was good
We will be going bank in October for Turkey and Tinsel.
Good value for a short break .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanboulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I have recently returned from a mid week break at Pontins Sandbay. We have stayed many times in the past when it was Martyns.

Stevie Bea and the new team have introduced some welcome changes to the entertainment format, Their presentation of songs from The Lion King was excellent. It is also refreshing that feed back has now been requested from the guests on the type of entertainment they would like. Hopefully this will result in a more rounded holiday experience for all the guests and reduce the focus on formal dancing.

The chalets as always were warm and comfortable. The restaurant is now self service which is far better. The quality and quantity of the food provided is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rowland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having been many times before and reading recent reviews with trepidation,we booked a short break to see for ourselves. Apart from the restaurant very little had changed. The chalets are what they are,some would say retro! But our bed linen and towels snowy white. I wish our heating and water at home was as hot as theirs! The restaurant appearance is perhaps not as genteel as before and we were fortunate that as the camp wasn't full we didn't have to queue. The choice and quality of food we thought much better and you could have as much as you like.Help was at hand if needed. Entertainment staff much friendlier than before and put on good shows. It was a shame that the older dancers seem to have deserted the camp. At the end of the day this has been/is a low budget camp.Yes,it is a little tired but If you are travelling by car,can book last minute,where else could you stay for four nights B,B &Evening Meal with entertainment and have a real good time for £85pp!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Three Great live bands and dance floor.

Now under the Pontins banner the site is in need of a maintenance boost.

The food is now buffet service, but food quality seems to have declined.

Hygiene seems to have declined too, with many hand sanitizers being empty.





Stayed: April 2014
5  Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Been here for Easter and was very disappointed with the chalets no hot water or heating offered extra blankets what a koke for two elderly ladies then to make matters worse the food wasn't fit for a dog. All the trays and plates were soaking wet from the dishwasher never stayed in a place like it the entertainment was fantastic But we suffered the dreadful conditions for the good music, the I have seen cleaner stables than the chalets were the bathrooms eeeeeeehhhhhh were rotten with grease the duvet well I have thicker bath towels!!!!!!!' All in all you should be ashamed of yourselves for charging people for such disgusting accomadation amend food

Room Tip: Don't go near it
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
8  Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Our 1st visit to sandbay now pontins and there was little that had changed we knew it was self service to get your meals . A good variety of food to choose from and as usual the entertainment put on by the bluecoats was fantastic. Went swimming and it's nice warm never cold . The sauna is good . The food now self service you Dont get any waste as you can help yourself to what you want . I thinkTHAT it's a fantastic idea and the plus sides to your credit is that you can help yourself to how much tea&coffee u WANT. The desserts you have cream in large jugs where again you help yourself . The rooms are lovely and warm central heating full marks bedding spotless clean. The only thing that was a bit on the down side was the bingo where they now take 55%out of the 100% then pay out 45%on the winnings the line used to be bout£44 and house was just over the £100 flyer was bout £147or there abouts house was round about £300 just over it wud be nice to see it just little bit more payout but staff in all departments work very hard. Are always very polite and helpful toyou. Do we Wil carry on coming cause its good value for your money. We booked another holiday before we left to go home . Hope my review is good if anyone wants to get in touch me by e mail Dont hesitate to do so okay we have always found it always a very relaxed layed back atmosphere now &when sandbay had it . As far as we are concerned the resort is still great value for money WELLDONE TO ALL OF YOU 1ST LOLLY GLOUCESTER

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
11  Thank 1stlolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
0.7 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
397 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
190 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Bay Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Bay Leisure Resort

Address: 67 Beach Road, Kewstoke, Weston-super-Mare BS22 9UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Number of rooms: 350
Also Known As:
Sand Bay Leisure Hotel Kewstoke
Sand Bay Leisure Resort Weston-Super-Mare/Kewstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing