We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand Bay Leisure Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Bay Leisure Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Plymouth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sand Bay Leisure Resort”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the 3rd year our dance group { of just over 50 members } has returned to Sand Bay.

The chalets were in a poor state, and could do with some refreshing, the dust under the bed was so thick I do not think it has been hovered for months. Since Pontins has taken over, the food was only just edible and not very hot. When Martyns Leisure owned it they did have waiter service, which has now been stopped, I myself do not worry about this, but some of the older members do struggle to get their meals, I even witnessed some people (not in our group) struggling, with a walking frame on wheels, they had to place their plates on them to get food.

There were only 4 blue coats which were very friendly, this year Sand Bay was only half full, whereas normally it near to full.

The entertainment was good, so was the resident band. On the downside if you like Bingo, they only pay out 45% of the takings.

Overall our dance group leader did complain, to the manager who has been there for over 20 years, and was informed we will not be returning again.

Overall the whole place needs a good overall and clean, and perhaps do the gardens.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    179
    107
    69
    82
See reviews for
62
243
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Changes are happening as it is owned by a different company but, in my experience as my husband and I go there on a monthly basis, it is good value for money, good food, very good entertainment, friendly staff and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Madeline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on a great bike rally! We were before 9 years ago and the place hasn't changed. In fact, it probably hasn't changed much since the 1950s. Our room was in the 200 block of chalets and it was run down and pretty dirty. There was hot water and clean linen/towels but it looks like the room has only been lightly vacuumed for the past number of years. There was grim in the edges of the room - everywhere. There was no shower and only a bath tub. The facilities - dance hall, bar, and restaurant were all good but the place looks to be very understaffed. It was recently purchased by Pontins and I hope that they put some money into it as it is very tired and in need of alot to bring it up to standard. The location was a great jumping off point. So this review has some highs and definetly some lows.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room as you might have better luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RATMANDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on a bike rally - been before approx 6-7 year ago. We got a room which by the sound of other reviews has been refurbished. (Lots better than the last visit). Only a bath in our room but made do for short stay. Lots of hot!! water and clean bed linen and towels. Down side was queuing for the food, which was OK. For what we paid the site and location was ideal.

Room Tip: The first row - 1-40 ish may have been refurbished ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorriC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Spent 3 nights , the good points clean towels and sheets , plentiful if very average food and wine only £7 bottle . The bad points the chalet smelt awful very damp and musty , the cobwebs spread all the way across the bathroom windowsill and joined up with the ivy growing through the window frame , under the washbasin there were what looked like rodent droppings which were also in the bath . The chalets are in serious need of refurb its like being back in the sixties .There were also extremely long queues for the self service food .

Room Tip: Try and get one that has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kewstoke hotels

Europe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

. Service provided by Sand Bay was pretty disgusting, chalet was reasonable on arrival, clean bed and surface clean although could do with a complete deep clean. Welcome pack very limited, dried milk, a few sachets of tea, coffee and sugar, nothing topped up or replaced during our stay. There is a notice in bathroom saying to leave towels in bath if you want clean ones, a big laugh, no housekeepers came into the chalets at all during our stay, I had to go to reception for a toilet roll, was questioned why I wanted it and then was given a large one to carry across site, apparently no bags available? The hot water in both sink and bath is scalding to the point if being dangerous. No longer any gift shop there, daily papers were available in cafe. Snooker table was not available for use even though staff were selling tokens. Now for the restraunt, more like a cattle market, self service with queues going all round room, when I complained I was told that they don't usually have this many people in, you needed to get your main meal and soup at same time, main meal going cold by the time you had eaten soup, not acceptable at all and very dangerous, people balancing trays and trying to get through queues to tables. Witnessed staff have 2 accidents in dining room on same day, food being pushed out of kitchen into dining room and wheel fell of trolley, this could gave been very dangerous if people were walking past. You had to make your own tea / coffee which again was dangerous when walking with hot drinks. This is an adult holiday site and has always been suitable for elderly people, staff for many years have been really helpful and service has been excellent, it's such a shame that Pontins have taken over and made such terrible changes,

Room Tip: Always make sure you ask for bath or shower, if you are disabled make sure you notify the diet and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Goog_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a midweek break at Sand Bay. We have been regulars there for at least 9 years. Although they are undergoing many changes with the Pontins take over, they are still providing excellent service and value for money. The changes involve self service in the restaurant, which was not a problem to us and I think it provided a more relaxed approach to meal times. There are helpful staff around to help those with less mobility. Other than that the food provided was still very nice and hot. Aesthetically there are things that need maintaining but give them a chance to sort these things out as the staff too are having to work through the changes. We had a lovely week, entertaining and relaxing but with plenty to join in with if you wanted to. I would certainly recommend that you give this fantastic place a visit. I know nobody likes change, but keep an open mind and go as if it is your first visit. If it is your first visit enjoy. The prices available this year are excellent. We have just booked to go back in a couple of weeks. My only dislike of the new set up was that the Bluecoats were introduced as Bluecoat Jo or Bluecoat Mark, which I found a bit demoralising to staff and an insult to the guests intelligence. This might be acceptable for younger family camps but not for an adult camp. We did not get chance to mention this to the entertainments manager as he was not visible very often and did not speak to us. Maybe when we visit next time. Please come and see for yourself then make your own mind up. Don't look back, look forward. There is a lot of good things there that is the same as it was. There is a great resident band, so we had live music as well as visiting cabarets. Warm rooms and friendly staff. Ideal for us. Give it a go. Tina & Viv.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tina19641708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
0.7 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
345 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
346 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dauncey's Hotel
Dauncey's Hotel
#27 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
629 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Bay Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Bay Leisure Resort

Property: Sand Bay Leisure Resort
Address: 67 Beach Road, Kewstoke, Weston-super-Mare BS22 9UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Number of rooms: 350
Also Known As:
Sand Bay Leisure Hotel Kewstoke
Sand Bay Leisure Resort Weston-Super-Mare/Kewstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing