We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changes afoot”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kewstoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Bay Leisure Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Sand Bay Leisure Resort, where do I start. Still cheap and cheerful. Peaceful environment. Still get open top buses every half hour into Weston. We have stayed there quite a few times in the last four years, and we will go back again. There are however some inevitable changes since taken over by Britannia Hotels. It is Pontins again, thankfully still adults only. First thing we noticed on arrival was that the grass needed cutting, and it looks like there is building work going on. Booking in was now strictly 4pm, with a long queue. Chalets havn’t changed much. Resident band Signature Four are still there. What about the dining arrangements. Gone are the strict meal times. Gone are the table cloths and hoards of waiting staff, it is now self service. This does have some advantages, if you are able to queue up. Personally, I preferred being able to choose my own portions, especially at breakfast, but the queues were sometimes long. I know that when Britannia took over it had gone into receivership, so cut backs had to be made. Waiter service and table dressings had to go, or Sand Bay LR would not have lasted. My only complaint however concerns cleanliness and restocking. Tables were often still grubby and littered from that last diners, and the water and juice facilities kept running out. Another area where cut backs have been made is the entertainment. There is still the excellent resident band, but no lavish cabaret, in fact, the cabaret was pretty average. So there we are. Pontins Sand Bay. Still cheap and cheerful, you just have to adapt to the changes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank timbone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

myself and my partner booked a 4 day break here, just as a little get away, we was both very dissapointed by the state of this holiday park, the 'Sheds' that was the accomodation were in such a state, the rooms looked like they have never been cleaned, they smelt like someone had died in them, the bathroom was filthy, whole park was depressing, roof outside of front door had fallen down and not been patched up, doors had paint chipping off them, bare live wires dangling by our door. we booked the emperor suite, this was dark dingy and smelly, i would not like to have seen the standard rooms!!!

Room Tip: Dont Book this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

just come back from sand bay had the best holiday ever the blue coats were great the entertainment was just the best up to 1pm every night when i'm in bed by 10 most nights the entertainment staff were the best the food was very good and i have booked to go back three more times

Room Tip: because its adults only very quite at night it cheap and go with the mind set to enjoy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank jennyowencook o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this resort over the last week and we really enjoyed it! The staff were great and the food was nice. Bluecoats Mark and Tracey were exceptionally helpful and friendly at all times and the entertainment was top notch. The only downside we had was when we were trying to catch the Entertainment's manager to compliment the show we saw on the Tuesday which was a Dreamboats and Petticoats tribute only to find him rushing around and not stopping when we tried to hail him. We found this very unprofessional and inattentive to guests.

The facilities were great, we especially enjoyed the line dancing and ballroom dancing and the three types of bingo was great too. I really loved the lounge area next to the ballroom with the television as well as the arcade functions next door.

The Chalet's were great. Everything functioned well and was clean when we arrived.

All in all, the resort is a great place to stay, is right on the seafront and a bus stop at the entrance of the park with regular service into Weston Super Mare.
We will be returning again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from our third week in Sand Bay with feelings of disappointment and a steely resolve not to return. The 'old' Sand Bay, i.e. Martins, was a known quantity. A collection of old fashioned chalets which had been shot at by time, weather and constant misuse, staffed by hard working employees who tried to keep everyone moderately happy. One can only hope that Pontins, now they have re- acquired the place, have plans to refurbish and modernise but they clearly do not know how to manage the transition.
If you visit the place now you will find it dilapidated and overgrown. It looks like any attempt at gardening has long since been abandoned and there has been no attempt to even try to replace rotting parts of the fabric of the place or the filthy carpets. The chalets themselves need complete refurbishing (or bulldozing) and remain furnished from 1960's house clearance stock. The bathrooms are scruffy with hooks attached to the door with doubled back sticky tape and the floors are lethal when wet. That is the physical side of the place.
Most of the staff seems to be anticipating the arrival of redundancy notices and attitudes are at best brusque, at worse, downright surely.
And then there is the dining room. Meals were always from something of a Le Mans start but the new system is self-services buffet where nothing seems sensibly or logically organised. The actual quality of the food is little changed but getting it involves long queues, hunting for every little accompaniment and frustration as items are not replaced. If I heard one person say 'Oh I just can't be bothered!' I heard a dozen. So, meals have changed from being an integral part of the holiday to a pit stop. Other comments heard around the room included 'Soup kitchen' and 'School Dinners'. My guess is that the change from waiter service to buffet will have alienated most of the long term, elderly, continuing client base. What a self-inflicted injury!
The entertainment was better than before with the exception of the continual complaints about the poor bingo prizes. The house band played good music for dancing and the Bluecoats strutted their stuff and sung well enough. Doesn’t really make up for ants in the bedroom and slugs in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LenOdcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Met people on coach holidays who had said it was good,that was before Pontins took over.I don,t normally critisize attractions but this was bad.First the one good point,the chalet was clean and warm and a good size (No. 271).A lot of elderly people at the camp but no lugage trolleys to transport your suitcases to the chalets very difficult for a lot of people,plus you had to mind all the puddles.The worst was the queues for food and drinks.First morning only had porridge as the queues for cooked breakfast was 20 mins to both food stations,approx 60 people each.Evening meal was just as bad ended up queing outside the restraunt for 15 mins untill it opened there were still people in front of us.Food was basic but edible.Managed to get cooked breakfast second morning but failed on the last day,porridge again.In the evening long queues again to get a drink at the bar place was packed could get a seat just but not at a table.All in all a terible weekend glad to go home.Read my other reviews I don,t normally critisize but this deserved it.

Room Tip: Get a place in Weston Super Mare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank keithfromneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the 3rd year our dance group { of just over 50 members } has returned to Sand Bay.

The chalets were in a poor state, and could do with some refreshing, the dust under the bed was so thick I do not think it has been hovered for months. Since Pontins has taken over, the food was only just edible and not very hot. When Martyns Leisure owned it they did have waiter service, which has now been stopped, I myself do not worry about this, but some of the older members do struggle to get their meals, I even witnessed some people (not in our group) struggling, with a walking frame on wheels, they had to place their plates on them to get food.

There were only 4 blue coats which were very friendly, this year Sand Bay was only half full, whereas normally it near to full.

The entertainment was good, so was the resident band. On the downside if you like Bingo, they only pay out 45% of the takings.

Overall our dance group leader did complain, to the manager who has been there for over 20 years, and was informed we will not be returning again.

Overall the whole place needs a good overall and clean, and perhaps do the gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
0.7 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
367 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
858 reviews
1.8 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
424 reviews
3 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
455 reviews
2 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Bay Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Bay Leisure Resort

Address: 67 Beach Road, Kewstoke, Weston-super-Mare BS22 9UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Number of rooms: 350
Also Known As:
Sand Bay Leisure Hotel Kewstoke
Sand Bay Leisure Resort Weston-Super-Mare/Kewstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing