We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, after we'd found it...”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
St Austell, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, after we'd found it...”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Wifey & I went for one night in September. Sat Nav took us through WSM, and north hugging the course but thought we we were lost as it took us through about a mile & a half of coastal woods before hitting Kewstoke. Only by luck & judgement we took a sharp left to keep to the coast & found it!! More signs in Kewstoke please!!!
We were put in the dormer annexe adj which looks likes it was the overflow or owners house at one time - now in 4 flats or so.
We had a first floor room with a shower cubicle & wash hand basin (literally) in the bedroom. Good sized room though with a view of the sea.
Had evening meal in rear Bar restaurant. Enjoyed. Good portions & good lively bar. Price reasonable.
Breakfast not included so went to Sainsburys for half the price.
Overall a good night was had by all.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view in the main accomadation. Most seemed quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnesAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    105
    65
    35
    39
See reviews for
86
155
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Car problems on the way to Weston-super-Mare left us with few options to eat after 8pm on a Monday night and unfortunately we ended up in the bar of the Commodore. My partner chose from the carvery, what a mistake! His chicken resembled well-aged leather and was virtually inedible and the vegetables not much better. My scampi was better but was a small portion, but what they had done to the peas I don't know! The staff seemed unhelpful and disinterested. We left very promptly and won't be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FiFiFlowerpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kewstoke hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Hotel in need of some TLC.
Staff need customer skills.
Ear plugs would be more usefull than a chocolate mint left on your pillow,as the industrial extractor fan on from 7am-midnight.

Room Tip: go to different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dizzy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Booked for a short summer break. The staff were all very pleasent and helpful especially as we brought our baby and the food in the hotel restaurant was great value for money. The downside was the windows in general around the hotel seemed to lack attention but overall the hotel was lovely and in a superb location with lovely sea views.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We had a weekend at the hotel while attending a family wedding. Wedding reception was held at the hotel. The staff were very helpful and provided me with excellent vegetarian food. We had a very relaxing time, staff were very attentive and helpful.I would recommended this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat5853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Recently attended a wedding and stayed in hotel for 2 nights, rooms are very much in need of 'updating' although very clean. Please ask for full sea view as one set of rooms overlooks the roof with air vent noise, and what ever you do don't accept room 6 as in need of repair and smells of damp. The staff were all very nice and helpful, and the wedding was beauifully done. Position is right on the beach though a little desolate but a short ride into Weston Super Mare (bus or car) which is another holiday resort in need of some TLC although, renovation seems in progress with a new pier recently constructed, but the shops are a BIG dissapointment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southerners39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

stayed in this hotel with some friends, the reviews of the hotel were sort of mixed, but thought we would try it anyway. the hotel really needs a revamp! it is stuck in the 1970's. the room was discusting, there was quite a bit of mould in places and the room was just generally dirty. had a meal in the carvery, the staff that served me were rude and obviously did not want to be there! then we ended up waiting nearlly 50 mins for our food, and when it did arrive the chips were undercooked and everything else completely overcooked to a crisp. ended up leaving most of it and going into the town centre for something to eat. not only for that though but a bit of entertainment as the hotel itself was dull. next morning the breakfast was buffet breakfast, the eggs were dry, sausages very undercooked, and everything else lacked any taste, and seemed like it had been sat there for hours! i have stayed in many hotels, bnb's etc. and this is the worst i have come across, everything about the hotel was awful. i would never stay there again, and would not recommend it to anybody. i have stayed in cheaper hotels that have been like palaces compared to this one!

Room Tip: tip dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank none59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
798 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sandbay, Kewstoke, Weston-super-Mare BS22 9UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weston's highest rated hotel, the Commodore, is set in sand bay, only a stones throw from the beach. Ideally situated on the beautiful coastline overlooking the estuary towards the Welsh coast with local woodland walks nearby.All bedrooms are furnished to a high standard with the majority offering sea views. All rooms have private facilities, hospitality tray, radio, colour TVs, direct dial telephone and complimentary WiFi. The Commodore Lounge Bar and Carvery Restaurant offer a variety of home cooked dishes and daily specials including 2 for 1 main meals and combines a friendly and efficient service with a warm hospitable welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Weston-Super-Mare/Kewstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing