We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it,”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Don't do it,”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was a very dissapointing stay. The staff didnt greet us and we were left loitering in a holding area between the front door and a restaurant. Once we finally got our keys we were escorted upstairs through the corridors of a very dated hotel. It immediately gave the impression we were staying in a hostel instead of a hotel. The room itslef was very dirty. There was mold and in the windows and in the bathroom, the room smelt of damp and was very unappealing. We opened the windows to air the room and decided to try their restaurant. What a mistake.
Although at first glance it seems a reasonable restaurant aside from the dated decor. However, it was more like the hills have eyes, no strangers allowed. A very unwelcoming and weird experience. Noone came to our table and we were left waiting for ages. We left the restaurant and left the hotel and will not be returning.

Room Tip: This is a very budget, dirty, appaling experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveller282012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Traveller282012

Thank you for your review. I would like to start by saying just how very surprised I was to read your comments regarding your recent stay. As you can read from many previous reviews the dedicated team at the hotel and the restaurant receive many positive comments and valued feedback and we feel our staff’s dedication to our guests is only surpassed by their friendly and welcoming nature. Please accept my apologies if this were not the case during your visit.

I would also like to assure you that your feedback is most welcome and your comments will be discussed with the hotel general manager for further investigation. However I would like to say that such feedback is a very rare and during our investigation any areas that fall below our own high standards will be addressed promptly to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all future guests.

We do hope that you will consider returning to the hotel so that we may offer you the hospitality that we pride ourselves on and I can assure you of an enjoyable visit. Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    105
    63
    35
    39
See reviews for
84
155
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just return home after spending the night at the Commodore with friends. We were welcomed by the receptionist and shown to our rooms. Which we all agreed were clean and adequately furnished. We decide to book a table in the restaurant and we were not disappointed, January special main meal ,sweet and coffee £10-55, who can complain. All in all we all thought we got value for money...it you want 5 star book 5 star not 3 star. The hotel should be proud of their staff they were all very polite and help full.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean lee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear jean lee l

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also found our restaurant did not disappoint, we do receive many compliments on our food and service.

We are indeed very proud of our dedicated tem at the hotel and I will be sure to pass on your comments to everyone that helped make your stay so enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

When we arrived at the Commodore we weren't really sure what to make of the place. We were greeted by a charming receptionist who showed us up to our room but we quickly concluded that the hotel was very tired and dated, particularly the bathroom with it's peach coloured suite and frilly shower curtain but we weren't 'put off'. We were determined to enjoy our two night stay. We took dinner in the bar lounge and were pleasantly surprised by the selection on the menu. The food was a..ma..zing. The staff were extremely attentive without overdoing it. We had a great evening. And so to bed!

Oh dear! Very little sleep was to be had due to the lumpy mattress. It did feel firm when we sat on it on arrival but we don't mind a firm mattress - but lumpy is a different matter altogether.

Breakfast - just about every option you could want for a breakfast was on offer and delicious it was too and plentiful. Again the service was excellent.

We had dinner in the hotel on our second night and once again it was brilliant. I can't stress enough that the food is real value for money. Both evenings the bar lounge was packed with diners - a testimony to the good quality of the food, I'm sure.

Unfortunately a second uncomfortable nights sleep had to be endured due to the lumpy mattress.

Although we didn't use room service for food the choice for having a meal in the room was really good. All other hotels we have stayed at have only ever offered a cold choice or sandwiches. The Commodore offers a choice of hot food. They will even make up a picnic lunch if required.

The location of the hotel is very good, not too far from Weston super Mare and right on the beach. The hotel staff are the jewels in the crown of the Commodore as they were ALL extremely friendly, attentive and polite. Whoever trained the staff in customer care deserves a pat on the back. Thank You. It's just such a shame about the problem with the bed. Perhaps the proprietor would consider replacing the mattresses or at the very least using mattress toppers to make them more comfortable for guests. We didn't mention anything until we were checking out as previous reviews had mentioned that they found the mattresses lumpy so the hotel are aware that there is a problem. Would we stay again? In a heart beat if we thought the mattress situation had been resolved. I would love to give the hotel 10/10 if only for the sake of the staff who were brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLover0856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear HolidayLover0856

Thank you for your recent review. I was very pleased to read that you found our hotel and especially our dedicated staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout your stay and that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experiences for both breakfast and dinner. We receive many compliments regarding our food and the level of customer service provided, I will be certain to pass on your comments to all of the staff that helped make your stay that little more enjoyable.

We take all customer feedback very seriously indeed and I would like to assure that your comments will be discussed with the general manager and action taken with regards to any of the beds not being up to our own high standards and providing a comfortable night’s sleep.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Not a bad stay comfort wise but the food was mediocre and really there is no excuse, if you are going to do a dinner menu, do it properly and buy decent produce or don't bother. Breakfast wasn't as bad but still the over all quality was lacking. Its a shame they can't get this right as the hotel itself is very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGeorge1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Jasonmullen

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us but I must admit I was a little surprised to read your comments regarding your dining. As you can read from many previous reviews the quality and service in our restaurant and Carvery is highly praised by our guests and patrons. We use locally sourced produce and ingredients in our dishes and menus and I can only apologise if we did not meet your expectations. I do hope you will return so that we can offer you the hospitality and quality that we do so pride ourselves on, should you require a dinner reservation or accommodation booking please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly and we will be only too pleased to assist you.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Very good staff throughout especially the duty manager & the restaurant staff. Friendly, accommodating,polite, pleasant & accommodating. The same cannot be said for the hotel. It is tired & in desperate need of refurbishment. Lots of signs warning of hot water or low pressure and even no beer! Get it sorted,don't just put signs up to fend off complaints - this is a management issue not anything to do with the staff.
The beds are lumpy (we booked 5 rooms), lighting in the rooms is impossible to read by. How are u use the wardrobes when there are bedside tables next to them?! Net curtains torn & hanging off. That's just laziness but is typical of the hotel. They may not be Able to afford a major refurb but they can do the basics.
Bathrooms are terribly dated with non matching tiles & shower rails about to fall off.
It was clean throughout though & the food is good value but don't expect top drawer nosh.
If it had not been for the staffing I would have REALLY panned this hotel. I can't see us going there again I am afraid.

Room Tip: Select a hotel in Bristol
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biff61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Biff61

Thank you for your review. I would like to assure you that we take all customer feedback very seriously and that your comments will be discussed with the hotel management in order that we may identify and rectify any issues that require our attention, in order to maintain and improve our standards for all guests to enjoy.

However, I was very pleased to read that the dedicated staff at the hotel helped make your stay that little more enjoyable, I will be sure to pass on your comments.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again and should you wish to make a booking please contact the hotel directly and we will be only too pleased to help.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The food and the service at this hotel is excellent, everyone was very helpful and polite, couldn't fault it.
The only negative is that the room we had (no. 9) was very dated and needs modernisation, the bathroom needs updating and there was a lot of noise early in the morning ( think it was from the kitchen as we was above that area)
Overall this is a nice place to stay, could do with just updating the rooms.
Thanks for a great service though.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank steer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear steer1

Thank you for your recent review. I was very pleased to read that our dedicated staff at the hotel helped make your stay more enjoyable and that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to all concerned.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Hello, I have been living in Weston Super Mare for a few years, I was told by my friend to try a meal at the Commodore Hotel, I am so glad I did.
The daily Carvery is all home cooked with plenty of choice, very tasty!!!
Good quality hot food at a good price.
Myself & mam go around twice a week for a meal here, I would say its the best for home cooked food in Weston Super Mare.
The staff is very friendly & polite.
The restaurant has Table Service, the only thing I could ask them to improve on is asking would we like more drinks, they take your food & drink order but seems to stop there.
Looking forward to many more meals here. Jamie JJ.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJamieJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear JJamieJJ

Thank you for your recent review. It is always a pleasure to read when a local resident has enjoyed our service and food offering. You feedback is most welcome and I will be sure to pass your comments on to the management and staff at the hotel, who I know will be pleased to read them.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sandbay, Kewstoke, Weston-super-Mare BS22 9UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weston's highest rated hotel, the Commodore, is set in sand bay, only a stones throw from the beach. Ideally situated on the beautiful coastline overlooking the estuary towards the Welsh coast with local woodland walks nearby.All bedrooms are furnished to a high standard with the majority offering sea views. All rooms have private facilities, hospitality tray, radio, colour TVs, direct dial telephone and complimentary WiFi. The Commodore Lounge Bar and Carvery Restaurant offer a variety of home cooked dishes and daily specials including 2 for 1 main meals and combines a friendly and efficient service with a warm hospitable welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Weston-Super-Mare/Kewstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing