We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
2 reviews
“Restaurant visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family and I used the restaurant here on 3 occasions while on a weeks' holiday. we were so impressed with the staff and the food. A great selection, nice choices on the children's menu and all reasonably priced. The 2 meals for £12 deal includes a good selection. As for the Sunday roast - great! Should we visit this location again, we would certainly come back here to eat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    101
    62
    32
    39
See reviews for
81
150
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Second time staying here. It is in need of updating, however because we bring our dog we like that the room for pets is not 'expensive' as he can come back from the beach across the road rather sandy! All staff are friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant don't look much, but we've never had less than an extremely tasty and generous meal. I do feel service could be improved in the bar/restaurant if only because it is understaffed and each member of staff seems to be doing at least three separate jobs at a time! Enjoyable stay, will be back again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

When we arrived, there was no greeting from staff, something which appears to be standard for this hotel, if you look at many of the reviews. The place is tired and of poor quality. We booked on the internet. The room was very 'pokey' and small. Doors didn't close properly and the wardrobe had junk stuffed into it.
When we left after one night, we had to ring the bell several times to inform the woman counting the money that we were waiting to hand in our key...this was at reception, where she could see us. Only when she had counted her cash, did she come to the desk.
Not long after this we received a phone call at 7.30 in the morning at our home two days later to say that she needed us to pay for the room as our card hadn't gone through...7.30 AM!!
We paid for the place, but why so early and why didn't they sort this out when we were still at the hotel or when we were leaving??? Total disorganisation and no respect.
A disgrace!!
I'm sure we'll get another "I was surprised" responses.
If our card had only booked the place, then why wasn't this picked up when we booked in our book out??!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kewstoke hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

After reading other reviews I wasn't sure whether to take the risk and book, however I am so glad that I did!
Our rooms was situated in the Annex, it was a large spacious room with a huge bed, which was very comfy, there was plenty of room for our travel cot next to the bed.
The room itself does need updating however it was very clean. The staff were very helpful. The Saturday evening we decided to eat in the restaurant which the food was OK wouldn't good for the price however we ordered the pasta that was meant to be served with salad wasn't and as no one checked on the table it simply wasn't worth letting the food go cold while we went to tell someone.
I would definitely recommend this hotel its location is quiet and it has a lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

just come back from a few days at the commodore,we were met by a very friendly and helpful receptionist who took my bag and showed us to our room which had a sea view just, but the room was spotless nice bathroom would have liked a better shower, Breakfast was very good lots to eat, again the staff were very good, i no that it has just been taken over so im sure that the tried looking bar and reception will get there share of TLC, have also found out that they will let you take your Dog with you ( they do make a charge of £10 a night for the deep clean of the room which i am more then happy with)
because we can take the dog we are already looking at other dates to go there.

Room Tip: room 405 is above the bar so if your not a late night person ask for another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tass99onhols
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was freshly decorated spotless clean. New carpet. Lovely..but don't for how long, as the room opposite had been refurbished and on our last night the hotel was allowing a dog to stay in it.. What a shame .!!!!! I m sure most people would not like to stay in that room after .. The staff on reception were very helpful./friendly. The ladies serving meals were lovely too. Going back to our room . I think it was fitted out for men only .. I asked for a hair dryer at reception which was promptly given thank you . Although it should of been in the room. No shelf to put anything on,in the room, although there was room.Now I had a hair dryer but no mirror. There was mirrors but not by a plug socket. I asked if the hotel could get something sorted for me the next day . I said I was happy to muddle through till then..never did get one .. So bought one myself... There was no where to hang clothes,lovely new hangers in a small cupboard were provided. Our room was checked over each day towels folded , and a complimentary chocolate each day nice touch.
The meals are very good . Although a strange set up unless you were ordering from the menu. The signs above the hot counter did not explain anything to us .. Confusing ?
Breakfast was poor quality and poor value @ £16. Over done bacon,greasy mushrooms. Cold toast , cheap yoghurts .No milk given to us with our tea so had to ask . After 1st asking for milk for cereals too.Had breakfast one morning did not bother again. A noise from a machine or something was groaning all the time .. No one made any attempt to turn it off even though people were talking and saying how horrid it was . What looked like the better place to relax was left unused and set out for a wedding .. Never seen one happen though . During our stay. We sat in the reception area one evening but when we returned to our room we smelt of smoke because the smoking area was directly outside the reception area. So we had to sit on it and then had to walk through it too . Not nice when you don't smoke. will not be returning !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at The Commodore for a 4 night break recently.After driving through a terrific thunderstorm we had a warm friendly welcome from the receptionist and shown to our room.A lovely comfortable room with great views over Sand Bay beach,every where was was lovely and clean and fresh with a modern bathroom,tea and coffee making facilities.Breakfast was served in the bar area by very pleasant staff who took you order from the very extensive breakfast menu,our food arrived promptly cooked to perfection.This is a well run hotel and the staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant,we ate in the restaurant on a couple of nights and our meals were very nice.Alas our last night was spoilt by thoughtless boy racers who congregated outside the hotel until 4-30am who insisted revving their engines with their friends cheering them on.This is not any fault of the hotel,but I don't think we were the only guests who were disturbed and it didn't put us off returning to this hotel in the future.True it could do with a little TLC here and there but it has plenty of old world charm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olderroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sandbay, Kewstoke, Weston-super-Mare BS22 9UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weston's highest rated hotel, the Commodore, is set in sand bay, only a stones throw from the beach. Ideally situated on the beautiful coastline overlooking the estuary towards the Welsh coast with local woodland walks nearby.All bedrooms are furnished to a high standard with the majority offering sea views. All rooms have private facilities, hospitality tray, radio, colour TVs, direct dial telephone and complimentary WiFi. The Commodore Lounge Bar and Carvery Restaurant offer a variety of home cooked dishes and daily specials including 2 for 1 main meals and combines a friendly and efficient service with a warm hospitable welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Weston-Super-Mare/Kewstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing