We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“above average”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
London
1 review
“above average”
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel during the Christmas holidays and although we read bad reviews, we were pleasantly surprised. Although the decor was a bit outdated and the reception could certainly have done with a kick into the 21st century (with it's puke orange coloured walls and pink floral sofas), the receptionist was friendly and very helpful. We were offered to reserve a table in the cavery (unfortunately the a la carte restaurant was being used for a function) which we accepted as the 2-4-1 offer available was very good value. We were then shown to our room which was also a bit out dated (although not as bad as the reception!) but it was very clean and substantial enough for the price we had payed for it. The cavery meal was excellent and the bar had a great atmosphere. The homemade cheesecake we had after was delicious. We were a bit apprehensive at first seeing that the girls working in the cavery were so young, but were very pleasantly surprised at how friendly they were and the service was excellent. It was also nice to be served by someone English for a change! We found the bed was comfortable and the room made a pretty good stay. Although the only complaint was the shower was a bit cold, which we informed reception on check out the next day. We also managed to see the head chef and compliment her on her delicious cheesecake! Overall we had a lovely stay and will defiantly be returning again soon!

  • Liked — The excelent service
  • Disliked — Cold shower!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JNS234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    105
    65
    35
    39
See reviews for
86
155
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WORCESTERSHIRE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

Having read other reviews we were somewhat apprehensive as to what we would find We need not have worried.

From the initial greeting at reception through to our departure we were more than satisfied with the service given by all members of staff in all departments.

The room may have been a little dated in decor but was very clean and pleasant to be in.

We had an a la carte meal and also bar meal both of which were excellent as were the staff. Breakfast choice was good and there again the staff were very friendly and so very flexible.

We shall be returning.

  • Liked — Sea view good food value for money
  • Disliked — Dated
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARNEYWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisag
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, it has no entertainment, and would be suitable for the older guests. the rooms where not very clean, i dropped a biscuit on the floor and it was still there the next day after room service has cleaned? the bed was the worst i have ever slept in in my life ,it was so worn you could just feel the base very uncomftable, the room on the first night was very very cold, the shower did not work properly the water just trickled out, a waste of time, in all the hotel was shabby and could do with a good clean and a redocoration. the carvery both hot and cold was tasteless. but the bar food was lovely and a v good price, the manager was very polite , but the breakfast staff could do with a bit more training. When booking i was told this hotel was v close to weston and could easily be walked,yes if you didnt value your life,and it was 5 miles away. i would not reccomend this hotel if you are looking for quality and cleaness. i was in room 2 in the front over looking the sea, the view was nice. but the hotel was just dirty, its a shame as it could be a v nice hotel .

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the bed,and the dirtiness of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thederwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kewstoke hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

This is the first time that I have ever felt the urge to write a hotel review. We arrived at the Commodore and it seemed okay from the outside. When we entered reception we thought it looked a bit dated and shabby. We were shown to our room and as soon as I put my bag down I noticed toe nail clippings on the bed cover!.

It got worse when I went in to the bathroom, the bath was full of hair, somebody has obviously shaved their legs (I hope it was their legs!) in the bath and the bath had not been cleaned out, I had to do this myself!. The hotel says that it has wifi in every room - it doesnt!, I tried my hardest but could not get a signal in the part of the hotel I was in. I have a brand new laptop and thought it may be the computer, but I soon found out after a trip to Weston town centre that it wasnt my computer after successfully accessing wifi in 3 different places first go!.

We had breakfast the next morning and in all honesty that was the best part of the stay as the food was fine and there was a large selection on offer. To sum up the Commodore - its a very dated hotel, the room was not clean and we did feel we payed far too much for our stay, we would not have paid half the price to stay there. We will not be back and we will not be recommebding it to anybody!.

  • Liked — It was in a very pretty location opposite the beach
  • Disliked — The room was dirty and not worth the money we paid
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank danlou78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
798 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sandbay, Kewstoke, Weston-super-Mare BS22 9UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weston's highest rated hotel, the Commodore, is set in sand bay, only a stones throw from the beach. Ideally situated on the beautiful coastline overlooking the estuary towards the Welsh coast with local woodland walks nearby.All bedrooms are furnished to a high standard with the majority offering sea views. All rooms have private facilities, hospitality tray, radio, colour TVs, direct dial telephone and complimentary WiFi. The Commodore Lounge Bar and Carvery Restaurant offer a variety of home cooked dishes and daily specials including 2 for 1 main meals and combines a friendly and efficient service with a warm hospitable welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Weston-Super-Mare/Kewstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing