We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our wedding day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
weston super mare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our wedding day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

We just held our wedding at the commodore hotel and must say what a great time we had. Jackie and Dave could not of done any more for us, nothing was to much trouble for them. we had a large number of family and friends staying over, and all said what a great hotel to stay in and all would not hesitate in staying there again. So anyone looking for a wedding venue and a place for family to stay you will not do much better than the Commodore Hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgehog1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    101
    61
    32
    38
See reviews for
77
150
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

a very clean and quiet comfortable hotel.staff were very helpfull and nothing was too much trouble.the food was excellent and was very good value.a lovely sea view and very comfortable and clean room we would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davefocus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Just come back from the Commodore Hotel.
The room decor was abit dated,however the bedding was excellent and new,towels nice and clean. You can get a good nights sleep as it's very quite. Staff very friendly and efficient, cannot do enough for you.

Breakfast was very very good, but the down side to the hotel was the carvery / meals on a night time. The food was cheap but tasteless, and was really a waste of money because we did not enjoy it.
Would go back to this hotel, but would eat somewhere else on an evening. Their are places about doing the same sort of prices, and we was told alot better in taste.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenelain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

I had read some great reviews for this hotel so we were very suprised when booking in by the dilapidated decor and slow service. We remained optimistic until shown to our room in the seperate annex which was clean but straight out of the 80's. Never mind, the food had been rated well so we looked forward to our meal. We were disappointed to find we could not eat in the restaurant but only in the bar where our table was sticky and the food cheap but tasteless. It was so busy that the couple at the table next to us found themselves having to share their table with a couple of complete strangers. The bed was reasonably comfortable so we slept ok but the breakfast was really disappointing-greasy bacon, tinned tomatoes, burnt croissants-everything there but all totally tasteless. Alice's restaurant was marginally better to eat in than the bar but still so dated. It's licenced for weddings but it's not where I would choose. Yes, the staff were fairly friendly but overall I found myself thinking we must have ended up at the wrong Commodore hotel as it bore no resemblance to some of the glowing reviews I'd seen.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine55h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We booked a room for 1 Nights stay icluding B&B. 2 adults 2 children. We were taken to the accomadation which was situated in a seperate location adjacent the hotel. The accomadation was in fact a 1930's style house converted into rooms.
The outside of the building was delapidated and the inside was dark and tatty. The room was clean and tidy,however the room and fixings were in need of attention and replacement. The syle of the family block and fittings ? was similar to accomadation provided by the DSS .
We were unable to see out of the windows due to the glazing units being blown and moudy .
We complained to the reception staff who in turn were wonderful & sympathetic but were unable to resolve. The breakfast next morning was excellent and the staff most helpful. This should have been a memorable weekend as we were attending a family function in the hotel function suite.

We would not recommend this hotel to familys. Please ask prior to booking

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montblanc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Fabulous location apparently in the middle of nowhere, but close to the beach. My room was a bit old fashioned, but no problem.
There are 2 restaurants, a bar/carvery with 2 for 1 deals and a more traditional but fairly empty restaurant called Alices Restaurant, which has a dress code, the irony of this apparently escaped the owners.

The bar/carvery is very very cheap, both the prices and the poor quality of the food, 2 for 1 for 9 pounds odd has the place packed with holidaying pensioners who, whilst I was there, seemed to stack up their plates from the carvery and eat till they were stuffed.

I enjoyed my stay, as a respite from business orientated hotels, but probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redmike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kewstoke hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Pleasant and efficient staff. Food in the carvery very good value for money. Excellent room with wonderful views over the bay. Only minus, slightly worn decor but very clean.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William46London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#5 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#10 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#27 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sandbay, Kewstoke, Weston-super-Mare BS22 9UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weston's highest rated hotel, the Commodore, is set in sand bay, only a stones throw from the beach. Ideally situated on the beautiful coastline overlooking the estuary towards the Welsh coast with local woodland walks nearby.All bedrooms are furnished to a high standard with the majority offering sea views. All rooms have private facilities, hospitality tray, radio, colour TVs, direct dial telephone and complimentary WiFi. The Commodore Lounge Bar and Carvery Restaurant offer a variety of home cooked dishes and daily specials including 2 for 1 main meals and combines a friendly and efficient service with a warm hospitable welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Weston-Super-Mare/Kewstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing