We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal”
Review of The New Castle

The New Castle
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Kewstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Healthy, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have called here for coffee on a couple and had been meaning to try an evening meal, we are so glad we did. The food is delious, a small and interesting menu which is a good sign as you feel it is cooked fresh. We sat outside and watched the sun going down, we will be back as we live locally.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank marion36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 307 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We initially came here for a coffee as my husband and I live locally and were seduced by the amazing home made cake selection so started to come back regularly. We have been here for breakfasts, lunch, dinner and theme evenings and have NEVER found fault with anything. Dave and Anne the proprietors are helpful and welcoming and there is always a fab selection of affordable home cooked meals on offer which will leave you feeling that you have had value for money. Booking is advisable at both lunchtimes and evening as this little gem of a place has grown in popularity. All produce is fresh and locally sourced and we love it.
I have to mention the amazing bread pudding which is becoming quite legendary in the area. You really will love this place and a cold beer watching the sun go down feels like you are somewhere exotic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tabitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our first visit and will definitely not be our last. The food and waiting staff were marvellous. If you want freshly made food at affordable prices in a relaxed atmosphere then this is the place to visit.

2  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a table of 9 booked for breakfast. Our drinks order was taken whilst waiting for the 9th person to arrive then food order taken. 2 identical dishes arrived, one of which wasn't actually ordered. The waitress then said "well someone ordered it, it's on the bill..... I'll go and get the bill and we shall soon see!!" We were all aghast!! She then bought out the rest of the orders 4/5 minutes apart from each other and without checking the bill with us and one of us was left without food whilst the rest of us had started and nearly finished our food as the waiting was making food cold!!.. We said what the missing order was and it appeared that she written x2 by the wrong dish. No apology!! The order finally came out (undercooked) still with no apology!!! We ordered further drinks, which she took rather abruptly, we finished and have her cash . Still no apology and even a comment of "..the money's all there is it?!..."
I have visited this local bistro on a number of occasions and the staff started off friendly but on recent visits have become increasingly rude... Dissappointing for such a lovely location. No doubt this review will receive a cutting reply as other critical reviews have here. Please take your customer care seriously as you will soon lose business!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
12  Thank Imarealfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at The New Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Firstly I would like to reply to this inaccurate review, the group in question had reserved a table at 9am for breakfast, after waiting for 45 minutes for the rest of the group to arrive they decided to go to their table and continue to wait for the late members of the group. We went to ask if they would like to place their order for food as we were getting busy and we concerned that they would either have to wait for their order or possibly even miss out on breakfast altogether if they continued to wait.

The order was checked at the time of ordering and no indication was received that it was not correct, the breakfasts were cooked whilst their drinks were being delivered to the table, all breakfasts arrived within one minute and when the incorrect item was taken to the table and the order checked with the group again no mention was made of the missing breakfast. It was only when all items had been delivered to the table did someone then inform us and finally speak up that she was missing her breakfast despite the order being checked twice already.

We have always welcomed this group warmly and always accommodate their food requests even when not generally available from the menu.

I would like to wish the unfortunate food establishment that may have the pleasure of this group in future my sympathies as they are a very demanding and disruptive group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Dined here with family whilst staying at a B&B down the road.

The restaurant is lovely and bright and felt very welcoming, the menu was interesting with a really good mix of options. Our party enjoyed homemade asparagus tartlets for starters which were lovely and very generously sized. Our mains were a Lamb Tagine, Thai prawn curry and salmon. All the dishes were very nice and huge portions, which were impossible to finish.

The selection of local drinks was really impressive and overall I would recommend if your in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MysteryGuestRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Castle also viewed

Kewstoke, Weston-super-Mare
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 

Been to The New Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing