We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still think about my stay here, two years later...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osler House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Osler House
Ranked #1 of 3 Dundas B&B and Inns
Canada
1 review
“Still think about my stay here, two years later...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

In May 2010, I stayed at Osler House and never got around to posting the review though I meant to. But I am doing it now because every time I happen to think about my stay there, I am still pleased. Gary was a pleasure to get to know, the room was beautiful, and the breakfast was delicious. (And those scones were the absolute best I I have ever had.) I would love to go back sometime, if I am in the area again.

Here's what I had written shortly after the stay and never posted:
I stayed at Osler House for a conference I attended at nearby McMaster University. It was close to the university, easily accessible by bus or car. Although I was travelling on a budget, I decided to stay here though it was a more than I had initially anticipated spending on accommodation. After considering all my housing options, I decided I would prefer to support a quality B & B with great reviews than a chain hotel with less than exciting reviews. And I am so glad I made the choice to stay here!

I had a wonderful stay. The value was amazing; the quality of my experience here was worth the price. The home is historical and decorated with nice antiques that reflect the style of the home. I stayed in the very pretty Sir Edmund Boyd Osler Room, which has a private, nice bathroom on the hall. The other two rooms are larger, also beautiful, with bathrooms en suite.

Breakfast was fabulous each day, and I enjoyed getting to know Gary. He is an exceptional host, and Osler House felt like my home away from home for the weekend (though way more elegant than my actual home!). I felt like I treated myself with my wonderful and relaxing stay here, and I was already recommending it to others I met during my stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myboringscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
37
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Osler House is a beautiful old home close to the downtown Dundas area. The area is residential, but the quaint shops and restaurants of downtown Dundas are a few blocks away. Hamilton is also just a few minutes away.

The house is wonderfully furnished with antiques but it is warm, inviting, and comfortable at the same time. I stayed at the house for a week on a business trip, so I'm used to staying in hotels, but I chose the Osler House because the hotels in Hamilton didn't look special and the Osler House was convenient to Hamilton. Every amenity typical hotels have Osler House has in abundance. Additionally, the breakfasts alone are worth staying here for - everything is so fresh and cooked to perfection. The scones are to die for; I've traveled extensively in the UK and the scones at the Osler House rival the best I've had.

For the majority of my stay, Heather was my host; she's incredibly friendly, very helpful, and a great chef.

I would definitely recommend Osler House. The home has an abundance of charm and it really feels like home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPfeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hosts Gary and Sara have done a remarkable job not just renovating/restoring a wonderful historical home and grounds, but also adding thoughtful, charming, tasteful decor / fixtures / objets d'art / furniture. The rooms are spectacular, the bed was really comfortable and the small touches (glasses of sherry, chocolates, bathroom extra supplies etc) are graciously done.

Bacon and cheese soufflée right from the oven for breakfast! A couple who'd stayed for three days were quick to tell us the other terrific breakfasts they'd enjoyed. Gary is clearly a chef de cuisine manqué.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonsibisedaliis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Just got back from two night stay in osla house what a wonderful place Gary is the most amazing cook, the breakfast was to die for.wish we could have stayed longer the room was perfect so comfy and everything you need is there.
Lovely thanks Gary x x

Room Tip: All tne rooms are equally lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

excellent value,,,great food and in a tranquil gracious setting, comfortable bed,,,lovely little town

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celticangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Osler House was the perfect place to stay for our 5 days in the Hamilton/ Dundas area. The house and grounds are simply beautiful.......furnishings and decor are amazing. The neighborhood is close to everything, very convenient for exploring the area. Coming back to Osler House in the evening was a treat...sitting with a glass of wine, enjoying the veranda, exactly what we wanted, like a quiet oasis.......

Gary the gracious host was....just that, gracious and kind. He is an artist with his breakfasts!!!! Almost too good to eat....but not quite. YUM. The beds were comfortable, bathrooms great. If we return to Hamilton we would stay at Osler House without question.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faithie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

In a word, fabulous! Beautiful home, thoughtfully appointed, welcoming host, delicious breakfast, wonderfully restful sleep. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAL91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundas
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osler House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osler House

Property: Osler House
Address: 30 South Street West, Dundas, Hamilton, Ontario L9H 4C5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Dundas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dundas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Osler House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osler House is an historic and elegant Victorian mansion built in 1848 that has been meticulously restored. Once the home of the famous and illustrious Osler family, including Doctor Sir William Osler, it is now operated as an exclusive boutique inn and has hosted many VIP guests including royalty on two occassions. Situated on a 1 1/2 acre quiet and private oasis on the most prestigious street in Dundas, it is just a 5 minute walk to the many shops and restaurants of quaint downtown Dundas; the ideal blend of country quiet and city convenience. Guests are treated to the elegance and pace of a bygone time, from the giant and rare Magnolia tree by the front door, to the house tastefully furnished with a heritage of antiques. Accommodations include exclusive access to the front parlour, billiard and garden rooms,as the owners live in completely separate quarters. Deer and other wildlife are often seen grazing on the lawn while relaxing on the front porch. Yet the house features modern amenities and communications. The complimentary breakfast also evokes a more elegant time; gourmet meals served by candlelight in the formal dining room on fine china and silverware, with pressed linen napkins. McMaster University and medical centre are 5 minutes away, downtown Hamilton is 10 minutes, and both Toronto and Niagara Falls are an hour away. Trails, parks and dozens of waterfalls are all within minutes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Osler House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing