We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matsuri Sushi

Matsuri Sushi
Ranked #8 of 53 Restaurants in Dundas
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This place offers the best sushi in Hamilton and Burlington. The service is great. It's a little bit costly, but is worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wabi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    9
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Hamilton area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Sit at the bar and let an authentic master sushi chef do his magic. Amazing eel, himachi, toro (nobody else in Hamilton regularly has this!), miso glazed seabass. He says he handpicks his sushi in Toronto three times a week. Just wonderful. Please don't expect all-you-can-eat prices or style.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Matsuri Sushi in dundas is one of my favorite spots for good sushi. Over the years i've been there about 1/2 dozen times and i can remember every single experience. Never disappointed once! Generally speaking you pay for what you get. The chef always has something special in house which is worth the extra money. Do yourself a favour and try it out, forgo the menu and taste something exceptional. Scallop sashimi, uni, toro, miso salmon are just some of the memorables. Tuna albacore in the chef's ponzu sauce is simply to die for, a must try. This place is all about the food. Forget the fancy decorations, staff that's eyeing you like hawks and trying to get you to buy more drinks ... that's not Matsuri. Matsuri is all about getting top quality sushi; there's no going back to "all you can eat sushi" after Matsuri Sushi. Worth the 1 hr drive for me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amperidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sushi fell below expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I went full sushi here for dinner but alas, it did not meet my expectations based on the recent reviews on this place.
1. The sushi rice was too dry during my visit.
2. The chef's interpretation of sauces on the salmon destroyed much of what the salmon could deliver.
3. The wasabi in the sushi overpowered the rice and the neta

The service was pleasant and I was treated kindly by the staff. I had the impression that the chef did not expect me to know how to eat sushi based on his loud instructions (to me) via his staff. Perhaps it was the way that he usually speak to her but it will be nice if the chef could speak nicely to her too.

For what I paid, I expected Matsuri Sushi to be better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianLooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Normally, I don't like going back to the same place twice, whether it's a all-inclusive resort in the DR or Mexico or a restaurant within a 100 kilometre-radius of our home. There are too many options in life to waste our time and money on repeats.
However, Matsuri Sushi, in the little town of Dundas , Ontario, made me rethink my theory. Six of us made the hour-long drive to Matsuri Sushi a few days ago and we were, again, stunned with the quality of the food and the delightfully attentive service. (Mind you, it was a Sunday night and the place was almost deserted. Who knows how the service would be like if the 26-seat place was full?)
If the night is slow, have chat with Simon Wong, the chef and owner. His life, from Singapore, to Tulsa, Oklahoma, to Dundas, Ontario, is fascinating. It makes you believe in the benefits of globalization. Along the way, make sure he explains the origins of the George Betty Kaiser roll. (Deep fried soft shell crab with salmon, tuna, and salmon caviar toppings. Yum.)
The damage? $95 per couple, tip in with no booze. (We ate a lot!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveDianeBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matsuri Sushi also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Matsuri Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing