We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty-Scruffy-Awfull”
Review of Welle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Prawle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welle House
Ranked #1 of 1 East Prawle B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty-Scruffy-Awfull”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

What can i say except dont be fooled by the photos you may see.They are 7 years old.This place stinks,we paid£700 for a week self catering.Dirty underwear under our beds(not our underwear i may add)Dog poo all over the garden.Mould,damp,paint flaking of the walls inside and outside.To give you an idea,when i went into the village to buy a paper and told the owner where we was staying,he said how sorry he was for us and how much this place gives East Prawl a bad name.Avoid at all costs and run for the hills.It makes the Bates Motel look like a better option.I had to negotiate a refund of a paultry £100.felt terribly ripped of and once again i say avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakephill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
You were unfortunate enough to stay with us for a week in August when it rained pretty much non-stop. We don’t pretend to provide 5 star luxury accommodation – what we aim for is comfortable and homely. It would appear that the appalling weather that week spoiled your holiday, and we are very sorry about that, but generally the many families and groups who have stayed with us self catering have left very happy with their stay, many returning year after year.

Owners who are not registered with this site are not advised of reviews left about them, which is why we have only just become aware of this review.

Dealing with specific complaints, you complained of “dirty underwear” under your bed when you departed, and our very first action was to go and try and locate it. The bed in question is a double divan, with about 1 inch clearance between the base and the floor, which gives only about 1 foot visibility, and nothing could be seen by visual inspection, or by using the vacuum extension under the bed. Eventually, after stripping the bed, we removed the mattress and valance, and separated the two halves of the divan base and found the guilty culprit – no scuzzy knickers, just a child’s sock. It should not have been there, and we are sorry, but realistically, we cannot dismantle the bed on every changeover, and we do resent the exaggeration. Given what we had to do to find the item, we have to say that you must have been making a concerted effort to find problems.

You complain if dog poo all over the garden. Our dogs do not have access to the large garden area provided with the self catering accommodation. We do let them out into our garden whilst we deal with breakfast for our bed & breakfast guests, and clear up shortly after (though this is sometimes delayed if the weather is really vile). We do recall that despite the request in the information sheet inside the accommodation not to, you removed the substantial gate between your accommodation and our garden and wandered through with your children. We explained that this was not a good idea because of electric fencing for our livestock, and because we had not checked our garden yet after the dogs. We are more than happy to accompany guests who want to see our animals, but think it entirely reasonable to insist that this is supervised by us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    16
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Prawle
2.9 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Hope and Anchor
The Hope and Anchor
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welle House

Property: Welle House
Address: East Prawle, East Prawle TQ7 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > East Prawle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Prawle
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Welle House East Prawle, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing