We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Libellule: Christmas with Old World Charm and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Libellule

Rooftop terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rooftop terrace
Eating area Sitting area near kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Rooftop terrace
Eating area
Sitting area near kitchen
Main floor bedroom
Ensuite bathroom for main floor bedroom
Upper floor bedroom (also has ensuite bathroom)
Rooftop terrace
Rooftop terrace
Rooftop Terrace
Village square
Village café
Pezenas
Hiking trail starts near our house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Neffies, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ketcheson
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Libellule: Christmas with Old World Charm and Modern Comforts”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Our family is living in Scotland, and we were looking for a Christmas vacation destination in France where our family could relax and enjoy being in a small town, while still being situated close to points of interest. Booking Libellule, in Neffies, was a bit of a gamble, in that the accommodations looked nice on the website, but Neffies was a bit of an unknown.

Located on a street too narrow on which to drive a car, and just off the town square, Libellule is loaded with both character and comfort. The building is old stone construction, which has been well cared for and plastered in such a way that much of the stone is exposed. Ceiling timbers are also exposed and the floor is a lovely warm tile, or newly placed wood laminate, which complements Libellule’s rustic, yet contemporary feel. With clean, new furnishings, and a bottle of local wine on the table our welcome was warm (the heat had been turned on prior to our arrival). Peter (Libellule’s owner) called just as we finished unpacking to make certain that we had made it in, were settled, and he invited us to call him if we had any questions…

After eleven days in Libellule and Neffies, we didn't want to leave. Libellule was even nicer than it appeared on the website. In addition to being nicely finished, the kitchen is well outfitted, and we wanted for nothing... With plenty of electric heaters, we were cozy and comfortable. The rooftop patio is oriented in such a manner that it captures the sun and made for a lovely place to read and nap... even in January.

Neffies is a gem. Built on a hillside overlooking endless vineyards, which stretch to the Mediterranean, it has lots of charm and is not at all touristy. The epicerie is small and well provisioned, and we sent our daughters for daily visits to the boulangerie/patiserie for delicious fresh baked goods. Within a 3 minute walk from Libellule are a couple of restaurants, one of which is closed in the winter, but the other was always filled with activity.

We loved being in Neffies over Christmas. The town was beautifully decorated, it was quiet, and we enjoyed several walks through town and beyond, into the surrounding countryside. Around Neffies are several small towns, all of which have great charm and are worth exploring.

Using Neffies as a base for day trips was perfect. We enjoyed a great day exploring the busy market and winding streets of Pezenas (15 minute drive). We loved Sete and the beautiful nearby beaches (30-60 minutes depending on your route). Hiking in Moureze was awesome and otherworldly… a beautiful town and landscape (30 minutes). Saint-Guillhem-le-Desert also was beautiful and in balance with nature (60 minutes). A longer drive took us to Nimes and the Pont du Gard, which was awesome in its scale (90 minutes). But some of our more memorable experiences will be the walks we took in and around Neffies… We enjoyed getting lost and then finding our way home.

I’m sure that Neffies is lovely in summer. I envision lots of people milling about, and a lively social scene, but we loved the peace and quiet that we found in winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Generally, it was a very comfortable and easy place in which to relax
Liked least: It was all good... finding parking in summer might be slightly challenging.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“A peaceful beautiful house in a lovely village”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a truly lovely house and the village and environs are beautiful. The house is well equipped and has an interesting layout. It has the feel of a typical french holiday house. The local people are very friendly if you are prepared to make the effort of speaking to them in french- even a 'bonjour' is taken as a sign you want to chat. The restaurant is very good indeed, well worth a visit or two. The village shop and boulangerie are excellent and the supermarket in the next village has everything you could ask for. This was a perfect holiday location, a bit out of the main tourist 'drag' but everything is in easy reach. We would certainly recommend this as a great holiday house in a great area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
550Ruth55
Dryden, Canada
1 review
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Staying at Libellule was like having a home away from home with all of the comforts. The residents of the small rural village of Neffies were very friendly and welcoming. We found our vacation to be very relaxing, and a good chance to actually experience the culture first hand. The owners of Libellule were very welcoming and checked in with us to ensure everything was alright. We really appreciated their care and concern. The home is very clean, well equipped, and comfortably furnished. We made very good use of the large basket of information/maps/travel guides about Southern France, and the places/things to see and do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a comfortable home base from which we could travel each day to explore, and return to our own familiar bed at night. Beds were very comfortable!
Liked least: The stairs were solid and well built, but the architecture is older so they were a bit uneven to climb.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWC37
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal Location for Exploring Languedoc”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This was our first time exploring this fascinating area of France and it was simply wonderful. Libellule made the perfect base location. It is a quiet haven in the scenic town of Neffies with easy auto access to the plethora of regional attractions (wineries, markets, beach, hiking, and oodles of interesting history to name just a few) .

Libellule itself is a historic multi-level home that offers plenty of room with 2 spacious bedrooms (each with its own bathroom). It is fully equipped with all manner of modern conveniences, from kitchen, utility, to entertainment electronics . It even has a roof top terrace with a nice view of the town and countryside. We enjoyed this immensely as we found it to be the perfect spot to unwind and "test" the wine and goodies purchased during the the day's sightseeing. The wireless even works on the rooftop - what a way to catch up on your email!

Neffies is a quaint peaceful refuge that is home to all the truly essential needs and all with a few hundred yards from Libellule: Les Goutailles, one of the finest restaurants in the area (make a reservation in advance to be safe), a wonderful boulangerie (fresh pain-chocolate everyday for breakfast!), and a pleasingly complete and friendly small grocery. For all other needs there is a large modern supermarket only 10 minutes away.

The region is full of wonderful markets to explore. These are the perfect places to find all manner of regional delicacies to bring back to Libellule for a fantastic meal. Our favorite market was the one in Clermont-l'Herault (Google routes you via the major roads but we really enjoyed taking D15 directly from Neffies as it goes through some beautiful mountains and countryside). We really liked the nearby town of Pezanas which was full of squares with fine cafes, restaurants, art shops, museums, and lots of interesting shopping. Within easy reach is the Mediterranean. We visited the seafood mecca of Sete (the "Venice" of France) and did a delightful gourmet walking tour and learned much about the interesting background of Sete all the while enjoying many of its edible pleasures. Neffies is also is within easy access to the major highways for ranging further afield (we did a blue cheese pilgrimage day trip to Roquefort-sur-Soulzon for example).

We would highly recommend Libellule and the Neffies area as a perfect vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of Neffies
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BD_Singap...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historic and comfortable”
Reviewed 23 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We were looking for a quiet relaxing week with varied activities nearby and some good restaurants, and we found exactly that. You can’t help but relax in the historic town of Neffies which is less touristy than others nearby. It’s like stepping into the past, with well-preserved and interesting buildings and winding cobblestone side streets to explore.

This part of France is best traveled by car, but there is plenty of parking in the main square which is only a 30 second walk from the front door. Inside, it is clean, bright, with all the modern conveniences of home, and comfortable beds and lots of storage space. The kitchen has plenty of counter space and a new dishwasher. The second floor living room hosts numerous international TV channels and wireless internet to keep you entertained.

The scenic view from the rooftop terrace overlooking the valley and vineyards was a great place to have a glass of local wine before heading for dinner. There are plenty of restaurant options in the area, a couple within walking distance in Neffies and plenty more in the nearby town of Pezenas, all which have fantastically creative menus for reasonable prices. It’s a minute walk to the little bakery down the street which sells all the bread and pastries you will need, and there is a grocery store in the square.

The area is great for cycling, mountain biking or hiking to burn off all that yummy food. My road bike and I spent many hours climbing the nearby hills on route D15 which heads north out of town, while a short drive west gives you access to the seemingly never ending switchbacks of the Haute-Languedoc region which provide scenic and challenging climbs with very light traffic. My favourite route was the 12km 7% climb up the Col de Fontfroide near Ollarges. You can rent a fully equipped road bike (and other types) from the local Pezenas bike store at good weekly rates, and the well-marked hiking trails lead to lovely views of the valley below.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So many things to do in the area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the intimate cultural feel of Libellule, Neffiès and the countryside.
Liked least: The steep, irregular rises of the stairs - part of the charm - but ascend and descend with care.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JuliaBath
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Libellule is spot on - one of my best rentals in the non-luxury category”
Reviewed 2 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Very well equipped, quiet, well presented, comfortable and good value so able to feel at home very quickly. I would certainly return. The owners were great in helping us out on one or two requests and phoned to check out that all was going well.
It isn't luxurious, but is very homely, and ideal for a relaxed holiday, but stairs are pretty steep, especially for the terrace, so not for anyone with limited mobility.
The village of Neffies is great - 2 good restaurants (closed Sat midday so don't count on them for changeover day!) - a good traditional boulangerie and village shop. Exceptionally easy car access to loads of other places (Pezanas, Sete, Orb valley, Beziers ... the list is too long!), which, along with lovely walks would keep you occupied for weeks! Website is good and very accurate so do have a look!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: lack of dishwasher
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing