We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ethereal Experience”

Setia Darma House of Mask and Puppets
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.90*
and up
Monkey Forest and Ubud Art Tour in Bali
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Sukawati
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ethereal Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Beautiful display of masks and puppets in tranquil garden setting. Five or so traditional 'houses' hold the collection. The best was last with our favourites the wooden wayung. Really hard to find - took the street atlas and a sat nav but was an adventure finding the place. No gift shops but plenty of mask shops in the little village nearby. Nice little café for a drink afterwards. Free to get in but donation expected at the end. Even saw the great philanthropist (who looks like a puppet collecting Indonesian version of Richard Branson) on the way out and he waved us off and thanked us. Wonderful place. Must spend an hour or two there. Feel the spirit of the wayung !!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolves_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    16
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The puppets and masks are amazing and well presented in 4 large Indonesian Joglo buildings. Everything is displayed for you to enjoy and you can get up close to nearly all of the masks and puppets. The puppet room is something out of a bad "Chucky" film, rows of wall filled wooden puppets, all different and some really interesting huge puppets. My kids loved them. Bring a picnic lunch, frisbee or football, as the gardens are huge and well worth a stop in for lunch. I really didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did. It is out of the way but worth a visit, especially if you are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank iWish2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see cultural treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The House of Masks and Puppets was one of the cultural highlights of our trip to Bali. The collection is quite large and very well housed and maintained. Our children (ages 2,5,10, and 14) each found something they loved and were engaged by for the 1.5 hours of our visit. The close up look at barong masks and costumes was of special interest as we had previously seen a performance.
We appreciated the work the museum is doing to preserve this part of SE Asian culture. It was fascinating to explore the regional and cultural variations represented by the collection. The grounds are truly lovely. As a big fan of European style Open Air Museums, I found the historic Sumatran and Javanese buildings the collection is housed in to be particularly interesting.
Lonely Planet guidebook terms this place "Worth a Trip" and we heartily concur.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WJeanAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A huge range of masks and puppets in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

If you are at all interested in the arts and culture of Indonesia, or have seen any of the dance performances in Java or Bali, and want to know more, this is a must do. The Museum is set in a park-like setting, with ample parking and 4 huge antique Joglo houses. There are wonderful displays of Balinese, Javanese, Papuan, Dayak, Batak masks, as well as masks from around the world, including Africa. There is also a fine display of Wayang Golek (rod puppets) and Wayang Kulit (shadow puppets). There is no fee to enter, but you can make a donation when you sign the guest book. This is easily one of the more unique attractions in the Ubud area, but sadly it's not well publicized. However, it's well kept, clean, and there is a nice docent who can show you around. This museum is owned by the same person who owns the wonderful restaurant Pulau Kelapa in Sanggingan, Ubud.
http://www.setiadarma.org/

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MangoMunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must Visited Place for People who want to know about culture & history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This place is unbelievable great

I have been in another puppet museum to in Yogyakarta .. but that place can not even compared with this.

In here we can see a thousand masks and puppets from all over the world, i can not even believe, they are really a lot.
It comes from everywhere, borneo, papua, africa, cambodia, thailand, japan, chinese and so many others.

And every one of them has their own stories, not just a collection.

If you lucky and can meet with the owner, Pak Prayitno, you can hear about every story behind the masks and puppets.
If you really want to know, then you better call him before and make an appointment.

But really, if we can hear one story behind the collection .. we will really excited to hear the other story

I think this place is one of the must visited place in Bali.
Specially for people who want to know about culture and history.
We can really learn from those masks and puppets
Like they said .. masks is a face of the culture, and puppets is the figure.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kurniawan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Setia Darma House of Mask and Puppets also viewed

 

Been to Setia Darma House of Mask and Puppets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing