We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Floating Leaf should be your first consideration for a custom built visit or retreat to the beautiful, mystical island of Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sukawati
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Floating Leaf should be your first consideration for a custom built visit or retreat to the beautiful, mystical island of Bali”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Coming from America it seems strange to find a beautiful, nurturing home from home across the world in Bali, Indonesia, but that is what Mikaku and Putu have intentionally created here.
The care and details observed in everything from preparing the land to preparing the daily meals for the guests is impressive.
Whether a single woman traveling alone as I am, or as part of a group every effort is provided to show you Bali your way. It is absolutely safe, and you are granted as much or as little help as you want. They found a bicycle for one guest to cycle off to the black sand beach nearby, but were equally happy to drive me to the Holy Temple to perform a cleansing ceremony 45 minutes away.
On my first morning I was surprised with the gift of a surfing lesson from my brother in England ! Mikaku was so happy to share how they had been e mailing secretly for some time to set this up!
I met several different travelers from all walks of life and different ages in my time here, they were all interesting people, open and sharing their own unique experiences here and in the world at large. Hopeful stuff !
Clearly, I cannot rate Floating Leaf highly enough as you could pay a lot more for a sterile experience at many resorts. But when I return to Bali I will come back to these people and their wonderful staff who I now feel lucky enough to consider my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaku, Owner at Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback and your visit was a glorious one. It was very important for us to provide you with the safe, healthy and nurturing space you were looking for. We were lucky to get to know you a bit via email prior to your stay and it helped create the environment you were seeking. Even better is the fact that it seems to have been effective and helped to create a healing time for you. This is so important to our core mission and hearing from you that it was helpful brings us great joy. We were sad to see you go but we hope you return soon as there is so much more Bali has to offer you. All the best and I know what you gained at Floating Leaf Eco-Retreat will stay with you for a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    6
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
54
68
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The unique design of Floating Leaf provided us with a truly different way to experience our vacation. The round rooms, open air areas, delicious and healthy food and great service made it a trip that I will remember for a lifetime. I am glad we were able to be one of their first groups there because it obvious that they will become very popular and hard to book in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaku, Owner at Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so very much. You are family now and we will always have space for you. Dont you worry about that. Your visit here was truly wonderful and myself and the staff are still buzzing from it. Your group brought so much love, positive energy and fun to Floating Leaf Eco-Retreat. We all thank you for that and we speak of you fondly every day. Much love from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I love to travel and love adventure. The stay at Floating Leaf has been, bar none, one of the best travel experiences I have ever enjoyed. The resort itself is gorgeous, intimate, unique, and Mika and Putu and the staff of gentle kind and accommodating Balinese, made it most wonderful. Round rooms with views to the sea and rice fields, comfortable beds, indoor-outdoor private baths with great showers and room for all your things- then you step out to the pool with Diwa Sri watching over you, flowers everywhere, to the yoga studio on high, at sunrise. And a Balinese band goes down the road in an open truck playing the drums and chanting, as the sky illuminates over the mountains. Meditation followed by a breakfast such as you have never tasted and will want to try again and again. Spa treatments by skilled talented and loving people, well- trained by Beautiful Putu, whose former ownership of a spa in California shows in every service offered. She also is the genius behind the food and the excursion planner. Do not miss the water palace at TirtaGangaa nor the whitewater rafting on the Ayung river! With Michael as a tour guide- you learn so much about the culture, people, and the nooks and crannies of the land. We did a purification ceremony in a Balinese temple with few European/Americans about that was magnificent and very inspiring.
Bring a group or the person you love and be prepared to be pampered, cherished, and renewed.
Bali is a magical kingdom- come and be guests at the home of Michael and Putu and you will be blessed forever. Floating Leaf- in a word, Awesome!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs, with double sets of windows. But all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaku, Owner at Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
This is exceptionally high praise coming from you- Thank you ever so much. I know you have traveled the world and have had world class experiences. To know we are in the same class as some of them is immensely fulfilling. My heart is happy to know that you not only noticed some of the small elements and the village life happening around you, but you felt it and enjoyed experiencing it. This is why we chose our location here in a traditional village so that our guests can have these authentic moments and really come to understand Balinese life and culture. Thank you again for your kindness and you are always welcome to come back home to Floating Leaf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Floating Leaf ECO Retreat center is an amazing place to call home during your time in Bali! The owners, Mikaku and Putu, have attended to every detail to make your experience in Bali so meaningful and healthy in every way.
Their staff also takes great care in making your stay memorable also, while we all take care of the environment. All our meals were very yummy gourmet, organic food.....freshly purchased daily ingredients from local markets.
The rooms are all beautifully designed " in the round" and the views from the yoga room and the rooftop areas are spectacular ! You feel like you are with family, and we went on many excursions arranged by the owners. We learned some history and customs of Bali, and even had a cooking class! They can arrange day trips to suit your interests.
It is truly the best place to stay in Bali! Be sure to have a mohito, and a coconut!

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect! Be sure to check pictures on their website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaku, Owner at Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello and thank you.
These are the very things we have worked so hard to provide you our guests; 5-star service, healthy gourmet food, deeply authentic cultural experiences and to feel like you are right at home. To hear feedback like this where these goals were accomplished is incredibly rewarding. You are your group were so very sweet, kind and generous. The entire staff thanks you and hopes you can come see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is such an amazing place!!! I know once everyone discovers this beautiful, Eco-friendly spot on Bali I will never be able to book or find another week they are not sold out!!!!!! These ten days have been the best vacation experience I have ever had. The food, the location, the accomadations, the service and the graceful love shown here are beyond a five star experience. It has been a ten star experience. Thank you Mikal and Putu for a life- changing ten days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaku, Owner at Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you so very much. To say that we helped provide you with the very best vacation experience you have ever had is quite high praise. I have to say that is our exact goal with every guest that enters the carved entryway of Floating Leaf. To hear it said from one of our guests is a dream come true. Thank you again and don't worry about us getting too crowded. Were not out to become wealthy and popular, we simply want wonderful people like you to return again and again. You are family now and we will always have a place here for you. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Words cannot begin to express the experience we are having here at Floating Leaf. Putu and Michael the owners are incredible hosts and have created an absolute oasis Our group has been fed gourmet meals exquisitely prepared with fresh ingredients, and we have been given a genuine ride through doors of Bali that could not be open to the average tourist. The whole staff is not only delightful but leaves you wanting for nothing. I had very high expectations that have far been exceeded.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaku, Owner at Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so very much. We are overjoyed that you were able to experience all this with us and even happier that you enjoyed and appreciated it as these are some of our core specialties- the deep authentic Balinese cultural experiences and the healthy gourmet meals. When people enjoy it as much as you did, it makes us so very happy. It was a pleasure to meet you and now we are family. Please come back home to Floating Leaf Eco-Retreat very soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spending 2+ weeks here hosted by the fabulous owners: Mikaku (Michael) and Putu was one of the best vacations I've ever had! A combination of in comparable hospitality, knowledge of Bali, and some of the healthiest AND best tasting cooking ever! We also had a great cooking class led by Putu and had lots of fun doing it! The architecture of Floating Leaf is like no where else on earth, with almost no right angles and curved rooms and open spaces. Every detail in building the resort has been chosen for beauty and sustainability. Stay here and get transported to paradise. Obviously, I can't use enough superlatives to describe my stay here. I WILL be back!

Room Tip: Any room is great here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaku, Owner at Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Wow- that is some high praise and we are humbled. Thank you so very much and it means the world to us when people enjoy themselves at Floating Leaf. We have worked so hard to make the best experience we could imagine and when people appreciate the details as well as the larger picture, we are over the moon.
The kitchen staff has been working tirelessly to craft new and healthy meals and I am constantly amazed as well about what they serve. I will hold you to your word to return and we all look forward to that. We wish you nothing but the best. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sukawati
8.3 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
221 reviews
8.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,601 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Purnama Art Suites & Villas
2.4 mi away
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat

Property: Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat
Address: Jl. Pantai Purnama 42, Sukawati 80582, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Sukawati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sukawati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful retreat in a lush oasis in which to nourish, recharge & heal mind, body and spirit, holistically. Combining ancient Balinese wisdom with modern convenience and luxury, we provide a safe place for relaxation, personal enrichment & wellness. Stay in luxurious villas, heal yourself at the spa & nourish yourself with healthy meals and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat Bali/Sukawati

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing