We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safest Hotel and Harbor on the Atlantic side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Sherman
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My husband and I along with his crew have stayed at Shelter bay hotel and have dined at the restaurant many a times. Each time Chris Young (General Manager) and his staff have treated us with the most respect and kindness. Our rooms are always clean and the swimming pool was at the perfect temp. The food at the marina restaurant was very good and plentiful. The marina is always expanding since the first time we visited two years ago. Be sure to say hi to Chris.

Room Tip: make sure the AC is ice cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

Food and service were excellent. The staff is very friendly and helfpful. Great hike to San Lorenzo Castle from the hotel. About 12 miles round trip. Lots to see and do. It seems like there is a party every night with the people from the yachts. Great swiming pool if you don't want to walk to the beach. There are a couple of nice beaches close by and a lot of rocky coral reefs if you prefer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IFLYARMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A true hidden gem! The food at the restaurant has been top notch, Chris and the entire crew have been nothing but accommodating. With breathtaking views of the marina, and all the amenities, this place should be your stop before traveling the canal. Not many places can offer a scenic jungle hike with all the wildlife you would expect, historic landmarks within walking distance, and all the water activities you need. A must stay when you are in the area!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

THe place is nice, specially if you can sit by the boats. Not very clean do... I went with my husband and two children after visiting the amazing expansion of the Canal. We went to this place, and had to wait more than 2 hours to be served! The waiter tried but apparently he can not control what happens in the kitchen. I was stuck there because it is far from any other restaurant. The chef appologized but sorry to say that was not enough, after having spend 2 hours of my sunday in that place, and specially with hungry children. Will never return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenniferb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Y, General Manager at Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Hi Jennifer,

We would like to start off by saying you are exactly right about your experience, this was not only disappointing but embarrassing for us to deliver you service like this. It is our mission to indulge you in every aspect of your dining experience. As a first time guest in our restaurant we would love the opportunity to have you back and show you that our standard is to not only to please you but exceed your expectations. We have no excuse for this disappointment we delivered to you and your family Sunday afternoon. If you would be willing to give us a second chance to come out and enjoy the restaurant we would love for you to let us know at manager@shelterbaymarinahotel.com.
We would also like to thank you for your feedback, without your valuable feedback we would not have the details to continuously raise the bar for ourselves as well as focus on the opportunities that need to be corrected.

Best Regards,

Chris Young
General Manager
Marina hotel at Shelter Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We came here as we had been Colon on the Panama Canal (scenic) railway and then onto the Gatun Locks and were in desperate need of something to do to kill a couple of hours before our train departed for Panama City.

We were glad we did. The approach to the marina did not give a good impression. But the huge potholes and abandoned buildings gave way to an expensive looking marina/hotel/restaurant complex.

The service was some of the best we experienced in Panama - possibly due to the clientele being largely American (i.e. high expectations - and nothing wrong with that!).

The food we ate was decent and we enjoyed chilling out outside by the marina. After a few rum and cokes, our waiter (possibly the manager???) kindly organised us a cab back to Colon for our train ride home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Peter-Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Y, General Manager at Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Thank you so very much for your feedback, it is always appreciated, and always a delight to hear from our guests!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and quiet. Beds are very comfy. Plenty of storage and causually elegant. You can choose a jungle view or a water view. The water view is great for sitting on your privet balcony and watching the activity of the "yachties" in the marina. From very large motor yachts to the smaller boats of the "cruisers" there is always something going on.
There a miles of paved hiking trails through the jungle. You will almost always see at least one kind of monkey and usually several. You will certainly hear the loud roars of the Howler Monkeys which sound more like lions than mokeys. There a huge blue butterfies, birds of just about every kind...and once you get "under the canopy" of the trees it is nice and cool even on the hotest days. When you get back go for a swim, sit in the hot tube and just relax. The staff here will take care of you. If there is something you want to do, like visit the Gatun Locks, just ask. Chris the Executive Chef and Property Mgr and his team can make it happen for you. You can even rent bikes from Carol in the Dock Shoppe, to ride up to Ft San Lorenzo. The view from there is breathtaking!
This was our second stay at the Marina Hotel and we would stay here even if our boat wasn't here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfreefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Shelter Bay Marina Hotel last weekend to participate in the Sherman Triathlon. Our stay was pleasant from start to finish. Our rooms were really great, with all of the nicest ammenities. Our balcony overlooked the boats in the marina and we could enjoy the cool ocean breeze. The pool area is also very nice. The food was outstanding and Chris went out of his way to make us feel welcome and at home. The Dock restaurant has excellent food and service - quality ingredients in each dish, ample portions and nicely presented. My favorite is the taco salad, but everyone enjoyed their meals!!! There is a guest lounge near the rooms which is an added plus. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Promises P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Sherman
6.7 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#2 of 9 in Colon
678 reviews
23.5 mi away
El Otro Lado
El Otro Lado
#1 of 1 in Portobelo
104 reviews
4.1 mi away
Radisson Colon 2000 Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Meryland Hotel
Meryland Hotel
#5 of 9 in Colon
14 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Andros
Hotel Andros
#4 of 9 in Colon
14 reviews
32.3 mi away
Coconut Grove Lodge
Coconut Grove Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Grande
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay

Address: 30 Butner St., Fort Sherman, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Fort Sherman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Sherman
Price Range: £81 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the name suggests, the Shelter Bay Marina Hoteloverlooks the picturesque Shelter Bay Marina in the old FortSherman area, at the edge of the Fort San Lorenzo NationalPark. Easily found just a few minutes’ drive after crossing theGatun Locks at the Caribbean entrance to the Panama Canal,where the jungle is our back door and the ocean our front.The Hotel offers just the right balance of peace and quiet,with an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. You canwalk around at dusk and see monkeys playing in the trees,colorful toucans flying and the most tranquil of sloths relaxingalong with the wide diversity of flora you might expect from aprimary rain forest. We are just 15 minutes from Fort SanLorenzo and walking distance from Playa Diablo. Whether it isa weekend escape to relax and enjoy the views, or acomfortable room while your yacht is being repaired, theShelter Bay Marina Hotel is right where you need it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing