We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Basically this is a motel in a prime location. The room we had was steps from the beach, but for the price I expected a nicer, cleaner room with more amenities. This was pretty much an overpriced backpacker style place. I would have spent a little bit more to stay in one of the nicer resorts on Cherai Beach, where we ended up going for our meals anyway. I would not call this place a resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anjana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floating444, Manager at Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi ,thank you for staying with us and finding time to review our hotel.Sorry to hear that you were not happy during the stay.We were unfortunate that the government put the rocks in front of these ground floor rooms on safety measures. In other words it's tsunami protection.That's where we built the steps from the beach and that's the proximity to the shore.
The price should meet the expenses incurred in maintenance since we're close to the beach with the salty moisture which harms all the appliances..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Normally people who plan to go to beaches want busy krufuffle with more crowd than fishes. Well if u are looking for lonely beach at affordable prices go to cherai. Its a ĺonely beach not very commercial and not to fat from cochin. Tip-stay in homestay. They are better than resorts. Best season oct - mar

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dushyant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Overall we enjoyed this hotel and our time at Cherai. Great views, good, non touristy stretch of beach directly outside, nice, clean rooms.

We had an impromptu stay here and so got a slightly reduced rate, we stayed in very spacious room 27 with a sea view and balcony, (ground floor rooms do not have a sea view, and the lesser priced upper floor rooms actually have a back facing view but there is a shared terrace area that they all open onto - it would be worth checking your view if it's important to you.)

Staff were very helpful, (we had a few ants and a man was immediately sent to deal with them and clean the curtains and wall). The Ayurvedic massage company who operate at this hotel (and have their own spa down the road) were the best that we found along the beach area. We had breakfast at the hotel once and it was nice, although the restaurant is quite hot and probably needs redecorating soon.

Decor simple and pleasant but we imagine the hotel will need a revamp in the next year or two. Good bathroom with hot water, very comfy bed, beach towels provided on request, loungers outside.

Room Tip: we stayed in very spacious room 27 with a sea view and balcony, (ground floor rooms do not have a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveC_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi, Kerala, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is very clean and well-located right on the beach. The staff were awesome during our weekend stay in March 2013. Good food and comfortable lodgings. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner all available in the rooftop restaurant. In all, a great value.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Verona130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a few days before joining a small group tour of South India. The location was great as long as you were on the first floor where we had a sea view and the sound of the waves. The ground floor rooms are behind the raised tsunami wall and have no sea view.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable, the air conditioning was very efficient and the shower was hot most of the time. The restaurant was on the roof and provided a good sea view and allowed dolphin watching while you ate breakfast, however it was rather stark and characterless and we only ate there one evening as there was no atmosphere (food was OK though). The staff were very nice and helpful and even came with us to our favourite evening restaurant (Brighton Beach House) to see how they could improve their offer and encourage more people to eat with them rather than go out.
There was a beach bar/restaurant close by, the "Chilliout Lounge", run by a French guy who served good coffee (rare in India it seems), juices and non spicy food - made a nice change. As previously mentioned we ate most of our evening meals in the Brighton Beach House which was a 40 or 50 rupee rickshaw ride away. The food and atmosphere here was great and they even provided us a free ride home after our meals.
The beach is clean and the sea very warm and calm, especially in the mornings. We had a pre breakfast swim every morning, otherwise there is little to do locally and you probably wouldn't want to stay longer than 4 or 5 days unless you just want to read a book in the sun!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on the first floor as the rooms on the ground floor have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthLondonDaveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night here whilst staying in India.
This hotel is one of the few (if only) hotels right on the beach at Cherai beach. We paid for the highest priced room as we wished to ensure we got a room with a sea view. We were allocated a first floor room with a sea view so that was good. The room opened on to a balcony where you could sit and look out across the beach and sea. At breakfast we were lucky enough to see a dolphin swim by. The air conditioning in the room was good. Only thing that I would say is that whilst the location is great, if I was being completely impartial, the bathroom was average standard and we couldn’t seem to get any hot water out of the shower in the morning. Nevertheless, I would recommend here if you are able to get a sea view room. The only other negative is that the breakfast/ meal area is on the rooftop and whilst covered, its open in parts, so gets very hot.
i would have given this hotel a 4/5 for its location alone, but reviewing just the hotel itself means it gets 3/5

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view/ balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. Good food. We had a Sea view room on the upper level. It was excellent to sleep and wake to the sounds of the sea. Sunset from your patio. Close to some fantastic local seafood restaurants. Highlight being the proximity to the beach.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephxavier69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
13.6 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#62 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#3 of 7 in Cherai Beach
425 reviews
12.5 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 30 in Ernakulam
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
#2 of 7 in Cherai Beach
461 reviews
10.7 mi away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#1 of 9 in Vypin Island
322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cherai Beach Resorts
Cherai Beach Resorts
#4 of 7 in Cherai Beach
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai

Property: Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Address: Beach Road, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683514, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Sealine Beach Resort, situated in Cherai - one of the natural curvy and longest beaches and is endowed with pristine white sand, an aqua green sea and a lovely tropical sun, where you can relax and relish with sun, sand and sea. The rooftop restaurant will provide you with multi cuisines – continental, Chinese, Indian, and special Kerala typical seafood. We are blessed with 10 rooms - four sea facing A/c deluxe rooms, one sea facing A/c suite and five deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai Cherai Beach, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing