We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but expensive food rates and average rooms”
Review of Blue Waters Cherai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Waters Cherai
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Thiruvalla, India
1 review
“Decent hotel but expensive food rates and average rooms”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

It was during December month we stayed in this hotel. I had to call hotel phone number 4-6 times to get a response about hotel amenities.We used google maps to reach the hotel, it was showing correctly in the map till vehicle reached Cherai Junction, it was showing direction towards left but actually it was to the right direction. finally with the help of locals we reached the hotel.

Check in process went smooth and within 10 -15 min we occupied the room. It was a decent room except the toilet where knob near to the shower broke down when we first touched it. hot water was a problem we followed instructions labeled near the shower, anyway not sure it was the way in which we operated it or equipment issue. Anyway we're kind of ok with it.

Then next we had buffet lunch, food was nice but expensive compared to the room rates. after resting, we went out for a sea bath around 5pm. It was really crowded place with lots of locals around but I thoroughly enjoyed that session with family.

Next day we left the room after having breakfast.

Room Tip: Just check your room after you check-in especially bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iammilpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    197
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
163
154
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

One thing I realized after spending 5 days at Cherai around New year's eve, was why Kerala is called God's own country. Cherai exemplifies the term. Talking about Blue Water cherai hotel, it had everything that one would ask for, nice clean spacious room, well lit, great view of backwaters from a fully glassed side wall of room, excellent room service, Location is across the road from a nice quite beach, you can just walk to. Hired a scooty for 300/- per day for local sight seeing, although beach is what you should be coming here for and its right across the road, but still if you have to spend a few afternoons in local sight seeing it is not a bad idea. There are quite a few restaurants in walking distance from this hotel, although scooty did come in handy, serving european, and indian taste buds alike. Weather was perfect around end of december but do carry lots and lots of sunscreen specially if you like lazying around in sun on the beach. Staff is super friendly. So overall a big thumbs up. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHimanshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed there for one day. The room was nice with a lot of space. We could see Cherai beach on one side and the backwaters on the other from our balcony. The service was prompt and the staff was courteous and helpful. There was also provision to order a-la carte from the buffet lunch/dinner menu in case you don't want the buffet. Since the beach is right in front, you can just go there and spend hours. The ayurvedic massage service was also very good. Food quality and options were also nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It was very beautiful experience in Hotel Blue Waters, Cherai during our Christmas Holiday tour in Dec. 2013. Nice view of backwaters and beach from Hotel itself. Spacious room with major facilities available. Especially non-veg food is very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Beach at one side and backwater on other side...Service staff was very courteous. Only issue is no Ala Carte for lunch..Rooms are well maintained and comfortable..Ample area for parking....The hotel also arrange for boat ride and fishing...Great place to relax with friends and family.....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Rather than resort this is more like a hotel, its well equipped with amenities but requires improvement in multiple aspects. Food is too average for the price they've charged. Rear side of the place could be improved a lot so the visitors can enjoy the view of backwaters. That place is too shabby for spending time and relaxing. Beach is also bit crowded. We decided to shorten the stay as the facility was lacking these.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karnivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Staff is very welcome and even helped us arrange a backwater trip for 1,5hrs. I had my birthday and somehow they found out and gave me a cake. THAT is something you will not even get at a Hilton or holiday inn. Super service.
Rooms good, A/C effective but a bit noisy. we use airplugs anyhow. shower and toilet good condition. cleaning service ok. pool in the back was very dirty, they do not have a pool service it seems. Beach was Incredible but had to walk far to find sunbeds. you need this because it is Incredible warm. restaurant makes good Food at a promt time. just a bit boring inside the restaurant, could use some "Spirit" we rented two co-joined rooms

Room Tip: when traveling always bring earplugs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haukeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
1.2 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#6 of 7 in Cherai Beach
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
#2 of 7 in Cherai Beach
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
19.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cherai Beach Resorts
Cherai Beach Resorts
#4 of 7 in Cherai Beach
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Cherai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Cherai

Property: Blue Waters Cherai
Address: Beach Road | Cherai Cochin Kerala, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683 514, India (Formerly Renaissance Blue Waters Cherai)
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Waters Cherai 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 25 room property with sea and back water access with all modern facilities to suite all travelers taste and much more................ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Waters Cherai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Cherai Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Blue Waters Cherai Cherai Beach, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing