We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax, eat well and re-charge the batteries”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We came to Les 3 Elephants to relax and be lazy at the end of an energetic holiday in Kerala and it has been fantastic.

We chose No 2 - the room designed with a houseboat theme - and it has been lovely. You can lie in bed and watch the sunrise and all the activity of that time of day, when the fishermen are out and the light is clear. The room is very well and charmingly laid out, with plenty of cupboard space, two wonderful wood and whicker chairs on the verandah, a large-headed shower and a nice little garden at the rear, with a desk and chair under cover, as well as the garden table and two chairs. We believe that all of the rooms have been as well thought out and they are cleverly arranged around the grass and palm trees so that most have a view of the backwaters, though ours was one of the closest to them. On our last day we moved to no 3, as we had to catch a plane at a crazy hour, and it was equally charming, though quite different, with a Temple theme.

We ate in every day as the food was so good. We had massages and a facial at the Ayurvedic Centre and we walked by the Backwaters and on Cherai beach, which is clean and steep and is a 3 minute walk away. On the several occasions that we went there it was practically deserted. Very safe for swimming.

One of the best things about this hotel is its fantastic staff. They are highly motivated, cheerful, friendly and work as a team to ensure that guests have enjoyable stay. The owners are constantly present and involved if things get busy.

The only thing that became a problem for us was that, at certain tim of day, we were eaten alive. We had brought plenty of high-strength deet but it was only as we were leaving that it dawned on us that we could have mentioned it, as something would certainly have been done. We were perhaps a little too relaxed during our stay at this lovely small hotel!

We would highly recommend a stay at Les 3 Elephants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank night79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Host,

All our staff thanks you for your nice review.
We enjoyed your stay with us.
Some mosquitoes are indeed annoying between day and night. For your next visit,I recommend you to go on the beach at that time (no mosquitoes there) to watch the sunset on the sea.
Hope to see you again
Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

To start wit, the email interaction was great & timely, so a good start..

Like another post on TA, it was difficult to trace the hotel so u may struggle to get there in the start but all's well once you are in!

Its a lovely property with great views of backwaters + fishing nets + sunrise.. Easy access to beach..2-3 mins away.. Beach is pretty tranquil part of main Cherai beach so it does feel like a private beach but there is not much to do there..

Or room was cosy though compact... comfortable matresses+pillows for a sound sleep.. we fell in love with the soft towels too.. Everything was clean.. Only drawback was 1 toilet/1bathroom between our 2-room cottage (#8).. But was manageable.. All cottages looked so well-placed so just depends on what you looking for! However there was one which was really bang on the backwaters (first on the left side facing backwaters if you looking for a view).. Rest all all faced the waters but this was perhaps more strategic..

We had afternoon snacks & desserts & next day breakfast here.. Lovely.. Limited veg options but again manageable.. However not typically Indian fare so may need to go elsewhere if thats what you are looking for.. we went to a nearby Holiday hotel, highly reccomended by the hotel staff and it was awesome! Good food+service+rates.. Can't believe we had such lovely north Indian food in Cherai ;) Breakfast was limited with just few options but sufficient.

Most important one for me - my baby's meals - khichdi+oats - well-managed at the hotel :) Thanks!

Very friendly staff.. Always smiling.. Very helpful.. Each one of them was really splendid :)
The owners were a french couple and very warm & lovely too.

This is a great choice if you wish to stay at Cherai - away from hustle bustle of Kochi.. Ours was 1 night here followed by 1 night in fort Kochi.. There is not much to do at Cherai otherwise but the hotel did offer a lot of r&r options - ayurveda, yoda, massages etc..

If you are looking for solace, peace & r&r, its a perfect choice.

Room Tip: All cottages were well-placed with great views of the backwaters. Depending on your need - AC/non-AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willseedworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Host,

All Les 3 Elephants' Team thank you for your nice review.
We were very happy to welcome you in our place.
Hope to see you again very fast,
Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a week 7th - 12th nov this year, two single females with very high standards! Les 3 elephants was everything we could have wished for and more.
Owned by a French couple, Marjorie and Benjamin, who were always around to offer assistance and to ensure you felt all your needs were catered for.
Having travelled to 32 countries I have never felt so welcome and generally cared for as I did at 3 elephants.
The staff are wonderful, kind, caring, courteous, polite, attentive without being invasive. The food is fantastic, as I'm a fussy vegetarian I couldn't have been happier.
Beautiful home cooked foods presented al a carte style, rarely have I eaten more than basics abroad until this holiday. The chef happily adjusted dishes to accommodate my tastes, nothing is too much trouble for the staff here.
Yes there are insects but this is a tropical Eco friendly resort in India! Mosquitoes nets are provided as are plug ins. The staff noticed that my friend was suffering badly with insect bites so placed a burner near her legs to distract the mosquitoes, very caring and supportive.
The cottages are designed to be Eco friendly but without reducing the services we would expect, very clean and full of character.
There is a tips jar at reception for the staff, what a brilliant idea as it saves the problem of looking for change at every mealtime, we left a generous well deserved tip on leaving , hassle free.
There are other places to eat in Cheria Beach but as the menu was so varied and changed on a daily basis we looked forward to the days choices.
The staff efficiently arranged taxis as we needed them and were full of helpful advice.
Bicycles were made available which we made use of to sightsee the village, well worth a relaxing couple of hours even if only to enjoy the friendliness of locals smiling as you pass. A great way to appreciate the Indian culture in this part of the country.
On one side of the resort sits the backwaters of Kerala and on the other, just one minutes walk is a gorgeous golden sandy beach with luke warm waters, heaven, unspoilt by tourists.
We enjoyed experiencing some of the Ayurvedic treatments which are available. Having trained in Ayurvedic techniques in America I can confidently say you will be in the hands of professionals.
When asking about the different massages available, Gibson, from reception arranged for the manager from the Spa to come and discuss them in detail with us. We also arranged for a consultation from the Ayurvedic doctor, a must at £5.00 as he advises on ways to enhance your wellbeing. He was very experienced and works much the same as our G.P.s. in a surgery.
A yoga session on the beach was enlightening, cost £7.00 an hour for the two of us, we learnt so much by our very knowledgeable yogi, very enjoyable.
The laundry service was perfect, clothes were delivery back within twenty fours by a happy smiling member of staff, clean fresh and ironed perfectly.
The staff here appear to be content, confident and to have a good working relationship with their colleagues and management.
I attach my email address to support any areas I may have not covered, jaj34@ hotmail.co.uk, enjoy Jean.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Host,

Thanks alot for your very nice and detailed review. Your stay was a great pleasure for us and we are happy to know you enjoyed it too.
Have a nice way back and hope to see you again,
Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Never written a TripAdvisor review before but enjoyed this place so much we thought we should recommend.

A beautiful peaceful small complex with lovely views of the backwater and just 200m to a long unspoilt beach. The best aspect was the friendly service and welcoming atmosphere - from the owner, to the reception staff, to the waiters, everyone went out of their way to make you feel at home and to help with any requests. The food was simple, delicious, and not expensive, and the menu changed every day. The room was lovely and was spotless, the bed was so comfortable and faced right out overlooking the backwaters so a lovely sunrise view - they organised a yoga instructor for us on our porch in the mornings and it's a great setting for this. The beach was almost deserted (in early November) with great views of the sunsets, and the chillout cafe down the beach serves really tasty crepe's and burgers if for some reason you need a break from curry! Don't come here if you want a party, the local places all close at 10.30, but do if you're looking for a relaxing, romantic few days in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raf0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Host,
Thank a lot for your nice review.
Our customers' relaxation is indeed one of our main goals. We are now developping our spa with international massages and hope you will come again to try it,
Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our only concern when we booked Les 3 Elephants was: no TV and no AC. But honestly, you don’t miss TV when the place is so peaceful and beautiful. The cottage (no. 4) had a ceiling fan which was more than sufficient.

Les 3 Elephants is located between a lagoon and beach, which offers varied experience for both sunrise (lagoon) and sunset (beach). You can enjoy the sunrise over the lagoon lying on the bed. The stretch of Cherai Beach accessible (2min walk) from the hotel is clean and almost deserted.

Each cottage has lagoon view. The front porch lounge chairs are perfect to enjoy an evening tea or just sit lazily watching the lagoon and the fishermen go about their work.

Our cottage came with an outdoor shower. It was a very enjoyable experience to shower beneath the coconut trees and night sky. Although the hot water was not working in the morning (wasn’t a big problem as the sun was blazing hot), which we later found out we need to inform the reception/staff 10 mins before as it is powered by solar energy. Also, the floor board of the shower is a bit broken.

The complimentary continental breakfast was good especially the bread. But, as mentioned in a different review, it lacked bacon/sausage. The restaurant serves good food.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. All in all, it was a very relaxing and lovely experience. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhini009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Host,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
We were happy to welcome you.
The floor board shower is now repaired and we had different options toour complimentary breakfast as sausages, curd and fruits.
Hope to see you again,
Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great homestay away from the busy ernakullam Cherai beach is the place you should stay. . Good value good quality room with hot shower. Nice local indian breakfast and dinner available. In addtion good advice on available trips around the area and services for transport. So definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Host,
Thank you for your nice review.
All Les 3 Elephants' team was happy to welcome you.
Hope to see you again,
Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel is just amazing and loved it's eco ameneties & the way they designed the hotel.
The best part of my stay was my room was upgraded with no cost due to non availability of my room category.Coming to the negative aspect of the hotel is the restaurant,the cook isn't upto the mark & thought the break fast served was of the best quality ,the quantity was totally dissapointing.I suggest the hotel manager to include some non-veg disher like sausages or pork or bacon in the break fast menu.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but be mentally prepared that it's a eco hotel n only suite rooms have AC fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praneethmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Host,

All les 3 Elephants' team thanks you for your nice review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We followed your advice and changed our complimentary breakfast adding options for sausages, curd and fruits.
Hope to see you agin to try it,
Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
1.1 mi away
Sea Lagoon Health Resort
Sea Lagoon Health Resort
#4 of 8 in Cherai Beach
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#2 of 8 in Cherai Beach
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sealine Beach Resort
Sealine Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Cherai Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
#3 of 8 in Cherai Beach
494 reviews
14.3 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,126 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach

Address: 1078 Convent Beach, Pipeline Road, North Cherai, Kochi, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683515, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range: £55 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French owned, designed and managed Backwaters Boutique Eco Resort, 200 meters from the Arabian Sea. Thatched roofs bungalows, with sit-out offering direct view on the backwaters, and private garden. Indo-Mediterranean restaurant. Traditional massage and yoga class available. Free Wi-Fi lounge area. Handicraft and designer clothes Corner Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing