We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Charming and quite..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our last leg of our trip to India..
Ten comfortable bungalows nestled among Palm trees between the back waters and the beach. We stayed here as the base for our trips for backwaters in Allepey and Fort Cochin trip.
The staff is pleasant and efficient..
Food is to praise about, very creative and good.. Would love to come back someday..

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorenzo_dela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Host,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you very soon


Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

I fall in love with "Les 3 Elephants" during my trip to India from 24th of February to 3rd of March 2014.
I found the weather warm and sunny, staff very helpful, ocean vast and clear, food - tasty enough to spicy the life. It was amazing to plunge into the green and romantic paradise during cold russian winter.
The atmosphere in the resort helps to relax, to enjoy fresh sea food and receive a world harmony from very simple things: backwater's tours, aurveda programs, Fort Kochi sightseeings, watching Ktakali's dancers, India tea plantations in Munnar and conversations with friendly citizens of Cherai. Come, and every your wich will come true in Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2015

Dear guest,

I am very sorry that your review has not been answered before. Due to the delay and apparent technical issues, I don't have access to the details of your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We enjoyed a lot during our stay in Les 3 elephant. It is located in a very strategic position... One side river and other side Cherai beach. Design of the hotel is look like French + Indian way. We enjoyed our breakfast during our stay. We have awesome Idli, home made bread, omelettes etc.
Hotel staff was very friendly and hospitality was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bipin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2015

Dear guest,

I am very sorry that your review has not been answered before. Due to the delay and apparent technical issues, I don't have access to the details of your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights with our 5 year old. We were looking for a cheap, relaxing break (we live in India) and this was perfect for us.

The 'hut' (number 6, which has a two bedrooms) was lovely, clean with a nice sit out area. It is very communal in that there is no private sit out area but that's fine for us as I could keep an eye on my daughter who loved running around the gardens.

The pace here is slow and relaxed. The staff are lovely and helpful. The food is nice. Shame there is no alcohol license so you can't enjoy a drink with your food, but the staff are so helpful that they suggested a place up the road to get a beer (we must have looked desperate!).

The other guests were pleasant too and it's always nice to meet new people on holiday and because the hotel is so small it's easy to strike up a conversation.

Whilst we were there we visited the beach (it is a beautiful wild beach, don't expect toilets and umbrellas - if you like your beaches natural, this is the place for you), took an auto trip around the island, visited Kodanad to see the elephants being bathed in the river, did a boat trip, visited Fort Kochi and generally slowed down, chilled out and relaxed. Most pleasant :)

Room Tip: Room 6 has a/c and a great view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatSibbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

Please note that beach beds and umbrellas are available during the dry season, from mid-december to the end of may. Except for this extra facility, our piece of beach remains fortunately quite deserted. More animation is available closer to the main beach, 2km South of our place.

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

What a wonderful place! the staff was fabulous, the rooms beautiful and clean, the gardens were well tended. The food was really tasty - in fact, we went back and had lunch after we left and were welcomed back like old friends. The owner drove us to our new hotel (they didn't have space for us or we would have stayed). Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuigDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2014

Dear guests,

Thanks a lot for your kind words. I ll share your compliments with my team, and in particular with our great kitchen crew.

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We´re staying in another hotel down the road...walking on the backstreet around local houses. And,then we see this beautiful Gem middle of "nowhere". We walked in-PARADISE! Clean,quiet,serene... The very friendly staff showed us around-we knew;we wanted to stay here the rest of our vacation :D ! We moved over,we got a better bargain-becouse of the change from the high to low season--february.15. (but,we´ld take it for any price!) Very good location;2min. from Main Street/beach (walking throu private houses and friendly local people). Soft lawn,palms,charming water canal middle of the yard with a bridge :) ,wonderful view on the river/backwater,with a nice little glance of the local fishermens every-day life on the other bank. Very relaxing,serene environment;perfect for read/write,meditate/contemplate/rest. Clean-cut designed/planed room(s),bordeaux/black/white-very tasty...(we loved the shower in the backyard of our room :) ) Very friendly,helping,careing,smiling staff. G :) :) D food/service! (funny,old fashion spoon/fork ;) ) One word:XLNT+ Thanx 3 (calm,beautiful,clean) Elephantes!!! We´ll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joetize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2014

Dear guests,

Sorry for the late answer to such a nice review. It is actually unfair that we usually take more time answering to our few disappointed guests, than thanking the happy ones, who take some of their precious time for sharing their satisfaction.

Also, I see that you came once again to visit us recently and shared once again your satisfaction in a recent review!

So thank you very very much!

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Arrived in Cochin by train. Taxi drivers not quite sure where to go. Called Hotel who gave instruction and said price should not be more than 800rs. It was a long journey really in the back and beyond. Having agreed 1000rs the Driver wanted 1200. Not a problem glad to be there.
We were shown to a small hut. It would have been great for back packers. Little space for belongings (booked in for 11 nights) but lets go and get a drink and some food. Tiny seating area for food (no Beer etc,) limited choice of food. Nothing near enough to walk to outside in the dark.
Back to the room. No Tea making facilities.Rroom and bedding dirty. Outside private garden area
words fail, needed major attention. Got up early to find the Beach and look around. The walk to the Beach was through narrow walkways and peoples yards 6-7 mins. To get to the Beach you
climbed over Black boulders, presumably to help with flooding in the monsoons. The Beach was
sandy, but no sign of chairs or umbrellas to use.
Went back for breakfast not enough tables for al,l so people waited for a table to be vacated.
Few single women there for the Spa, and a group that looked like back packers.
Clearly not for us. Free wifi so booked another Hotel and ordered a Taxi to leave.
We were approached by the owner. He was polite and handled our problem well I must say.
He admitted the property did not suit everybody. He charged us just two nights although we were booked for 11. I gave him a list of things he should look at in the room, he said he would go and look immediately. He did mention that we were in the cheapest Hut (understand that as we had booked through booking.com that he has to pay them a commission so we do not get the best available) From other reviews (which is why we booked) there must be nicer huts. The setting was pretty, the gardens well kept. Very confined, not for us.

Room Tip: Ask Reception for better room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pubrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you have been disappointed with your experience at Les 3 Elephants. I usually try to answer every point of negative reviews to express our side of the story, but your disappointment is so global that I mainly wish to comment on you misunderstanding about our product.

In fact, you fail to mention in your review that, in addition to the complains you have listed, you also complained directly to me about the lack of swimming pool, the lack of mini-bar, AC, TV and Wi-Fi in your room. The fact that we don't sell alcohol in our resort was also a major issue for you.

I have to say that I felt at the time, and still feels today, that this is very unfair to us.

None of these facilities you expected are advertised anywhere, neither on Booking.com (through which you booked) neither on our website, Tripadvisor, nor Facebook page. I think that the description of our property, and facilities available, is clear and that, failing to read it carefully, you have mistaken Les 3 Elephants for another type of classic 5 stars hotel. Our kind of luxury is different: personnalized service, proximity with nature, modern design and, I would say, a special style of sophisticated French hospitality.

As you have quoted, I understand that some guests prefer manucured mainstream beach holidays. That is why, despite our cancellation policy which would have allowed me to charge you for the whole stay that you had booked, I decided to let you leave for a more appropriate hotel without any extra charge. We want travellers to be happy and enjoy their stay in Kerala, with us, or if needed in some other place more adapted to their taste. To enjoy all the facilities you expected, you actually moved to the Taj Gateway hotel in Ernakulam, a 5 stars city business hotel, for about three times the cost of the standard cottage you had booked at Les 3 Elephants.

For the record, I did not charge you for two nights stay as you mentionned, but simply did not refund the advance taken at the time of booking. Please note that this amount, taken as advance one month before, does not cover, by far, the two nights that you actually stayed with us, plus the commission due to Booking.com, plus the straight loss of having an empty room that we would have certainly booked to someone else at this time of the season.

Also, it is plain diffamatory of you to say that you have been given a less good room due to the fact that you have booked through Booking.com, as most of our guests does. You booked a standard room in peak season, we have 3 of them (all similar except that two of them are joint twin rooms) and it is a standard cottage that you have been given... Actually, may I remind you that your complain was specifically about the fact that you were supposed to move from one standard cottage to the next, after two days, as some guests had specifically booked the two joint ones prior to your own booking. You said that, having booked for 11 nights, you should have had the priority, and thus kept your room, which would have been simply unfair to our other guests, having booked before you, and wishing to stay together as a family.

As promised, I have personaly checked the list of problems you handed to me before leaving, to find out unsurprisingly that it was extremely exagerated (I suppose that your general disappointment with the lack of swimming pool and alcohol licence has somehow altered your objectivity). Our rooms and linen are in fact regularly praised for their cleanliness, in a country where it is a difficult result to achieve, especially for an eco-resort built with thatched roofs and natural materials. Rooms are cleaned daily by a four people team, linen are changed every two days, and daily if requested.

To conclude, on a more personal touch, I have to say that this kind of situation makes our job extremely difficult. When guests book a standard room expecting the experience of a premium cottage, plus a list of facilities that we officially do not provide, it is obviously impossible for us to give them entire satisfaction. This makes us sad and helpless. I respectfully advise you to check more carefully the properties descriptions on the internet before booking. Would you have done it in this case, that it would have saved you the disappointment, and saved us a significant loss of money, doubled by this damaging bad review on Tripadvisor.

Nevertheless, I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Kerala, as it is a truly beautiful state, with all kind of accomodations to suit various tastes.

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
0.8 mi away
Sealine Beach Resort
Sealine Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Cherai Beach
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#3 of 7 in Cherai Beach
431 reviews
1.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#4 of 30 in Ernakulam
428 reviews
14.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,044 reviews
15.2 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#16 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach

Address: 1078 Convent Beach, Pipeline Road, North Cherai, Kochi, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683515, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range: £46 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French owned, designed and managed Backwaters Boutique Eco Resort, 200 meters from the Arabian Sea. Thatched roofs bungalows, with sit-out offering direct view on the backwaters, and private garden. Indo-Mediterranean restaurant. Traditional massage and yoga class available. Free Wi-Fi lounge area. Handicraft and designer clothes Corner Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing