We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Restaurant, Great Location”

Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$14
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute Restaurant, Great Location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very good, fresh food! Seafood was very nice. Expect relaxed service (you're at the beach after all, enjoy it!), and know that they do not serve alcohol, you must go to the one restaurant further down the beach if you want a drink.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    81
    27
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot for a coffee”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice relaxed spot to have an espresso next to a quiet stretch of Cherai Beach. Friendly owner is happy to have a chat. Strange to find French cuisine in India, but as he pointed out, sometimes you just want a break from chili with everything.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gozoflo, Owner at Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thanks Gerry for your nice input. your "cafe allonge" will be here waiting for you if you pass around again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“The best beach shack at Cherai”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

we explored a lot at Cherai and Chilliout turned out to be the best european cuisine. we ordered grilled chicken and tuna which was served with ratatouille. the burgers were home made with wholegrains. the papaya and prawn salad is worth giving a try. Eddie the french proprietor was very informative about the cuisine. as in the name, chilli was totally out. we were offered tobesco sauce to spice up the dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ananth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gozoflo, Owner at Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
thank you very much for your kind review. i'm happy that you played the game of no chilli and still appreciated it. we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best place to relax, enjoy european food and use wlan :)”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

i spent almost 2 weeks in cherai, and chili out became my 2nd home! it has a great ocean few, and i also enjoyed the music playlist of the french owner.
only critics: sometimes you have to wait a bit long for some service.. just helf yourself then ;)
and.. well.. i had brunch, lunch, tea time, dinner, and late dinner there....!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karinmuc_yoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Warmest welcome offered by Eddie and his wife Allionna, as well as their very friendly and helpful staff. This restaurant offers fantastic European fresh homemade food for very reasonable prices. Great atmosphere and sounds, free wifi, with no alcohol served here it is a very chilled place hang out offering a hassle free area on beach managed by the a lovely local guy called Jibin who simply cannot do enough for his customers. A shower is also available to customers. The team here can offer a great deal of local tourist/transport information. I noticed that once discovered, like myself many other visitors made this lovely venue their regular hangout. It was definitely the place to meet fellow travellers at Cherai Beach.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach also viewed

Cherai Beach, Vypin Island
 
Maradu, Kochi (Cochin)
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing