We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cherai Beach Residency
Ranked #1 of 22 Cherai Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had an amazing week at Cherai Beach, very much thanks to the amazing team working at Cherai Beach Residency. The owners Polly and Jessy are very helpful and booked several nice daytrips for us. The Chef Martin cooks great food and was very friendly, always with a genuine big smile! Jossy was always there, 24h per day, and were very helpful, always with a big smile. Thanks to this amazing team we had the best vacation ever and we cant wait to come back! The beach was perfect, some waves but no problem to swim. The area is very calm and all people are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKacHu, Manager at Cherai Beach Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for the expression of confidence in us. We realise how busy you are; and despite your pre-occupations you have taken out time to express these good words about us. Thank you again for this fine expression of your trust in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Cherai Beach Residency
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice location. Never felt staying in a resort (feel @ home). Dont go for GF rooms (these are like small store rooms - no ventilation and light). FF rooms have balcony still room size is very small (we paid 2000 extra for changing rooms to FF). We had horrible experience (AC not working - no power supply till 9.00pm on day 1, TV not working till day 2, bathroom knob lock jammed - bunch of carpenters working till 9.30 pm to break it open). Dinner on day 2 was really expensive (400/- for 4 small pieces of chicken, 500/- for fish greavy with 2 pieces - we were cheated literally). Breakfast was below average in taste as well as quantity. Location was good, just on the seashore. The staff who helped us on day 1 with our luggages was rude in handling it.Wi-fi only saved us in rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Sivakumar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKacHu, Manager at Cherai Beach Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We take the feedback most positively, as advices for improvements in the service and the facilities provided at our residency. We are really sorry to learn that the guest was annoyed and disturbed when he left us after his stay at the residency for two nights. We very much regret having given him a chance to complain. However, we appreciate his frankness to express his experiences so openly. We are obliged to him that he has given us a chance to mend our shortfalls, and we assure him that we will do all we can to put the matters upto the satisfaction of our guests. We believe in "Adhidhi devo bhava"!

We shall like to be excused for our inability to provide power for the working of Air conditioner, Fridge, Coffee maker and the Cable connection in the rooms on the 1st day. We understand his position, but please note that we were prevented from giving power to the rooms for working the items, other than fans & lights, on that day due to an unforseen emergency. The power supply in the area was put off by the Electricity Dept. for that full day time, for the purpose of cutting tree hangings to electric lines, which takes place only once in a year before start of monsoon. The inverter fixed at the property can take the load of lights and fans only when there is no power supply for a long time. As it is unusual to put off the power supply by the Dept. for such a long time at the Cherai Beach area, we have never thought of installing a generator. This review is an eye opener for us and we will think of fixing a generator at the earliest.
Rooms in the top floor are provided with a private balcony for each room, unlike the ground floor rooms, and hence the rent is more by INR 500 for one night per room. Thus it was more by INR 2000 for two rooms for two nights, since the guest preferred to occupy the top floor rooms by cancelling the booking for ground floor rooms.
The lock of bath room of one of the rooms was seen broken long time after the guest started occupying that room with his children. We believe that, we have taken all possible steps to get the door opened and also to get the lock replaced at the earliest possible. We will be more careful in such matters in future.
Food is charged as per the rates pblished in the menu card which is kept in each room. It is cooked and served hot, on placing order by the guest with the knowledge of its price. We have tried to keep the price of food as near as possible to the cost involved in preparing it; and we assure that we shall continue to keep the price as minimum as possible.
There were no complaints about the taste of breakfast, so far from any guest, and the feedback in this review is an eye opener for us to improve the quality further. The breakfast is served without any restriction on its quantity. We really feel sorry for the feelings of our guest that the breakfast served was insufficient.
While tendering our sincere apology for the inconveniences caused, we shall like to assure again that in future, every precaution will be taken to avoid such disturbances/inconveniences to our guests. We have suitabily advised our staff members also in this regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is not one of the best places to stay... But THE BEST place to stay while in Cherai! With its pristine beaches, amazing accommodation, excellent food that Matrin cooks, and to top it all, Polly & Jessy who are absolutely amazing hosts. What more can you ask for? We stayed here for 4 days to spend New Years this year, and man what a stay it was. Pls ensure that you carry the best photography gear while you get here coz this is one trip you would never want to forget. The rooms are very clean, and get cleaned every morning with fresh linen and replenishment of toiletries. The food is as close as it can get to being just perfect. I recommend that everyone visiting Cherai, must stay at this home away from home.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the first floor. They give you amazing views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richiesubbaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKacHu, Owner at Cherai Beach Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We are indeed greatful to you for the trouble you have taken for expressing your confidence in us, despite your preoccupations. We are thrilled to see your detailed expression about the facilities and services offered at Cherai Beach Residency. Thank you again for the expression of your trust in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A great place to relax and enjoy swimming and lazing on a beach. The owners Poly and Jesse are a lovely couple who are very helpful and kind and they have great staff who are very attentive. The bedrooms are very clean, they are basic 'beach chalet' style, and that's fine because what more do you need when surrounded by all that lovely sand and sea? The beds are clean and comfortable, little fridges to keep drinks cool, the air on is very good and runs very quietly, the bathrooms are very good and modern with lots of hot water. There are little balconies with 2 seats and a table where you can watch the sun go down. There is a roof top patio and we ate up there every evening. The food is very tasty, a simple choice but all cooked fresh, we were there for 6 days and enjoyed all of our meals. The breakfast was also varied, and the fruit juices freshly 'juiced' every morning. The situation is good because it is away from the busier area of the beach, about 1 km away, so it is more peaceful. We took a boat trip organised by Poly for us, which was brilliant.
All in all a good experience which we'd happily repeat.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony rooms, 206 has a good view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKacHu, Owner at Cherai Beach Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We are indeed greatful to you for sparing your valuable time to express your confidence in us. We assure you that we will do our best to maintain it. Thank you again for the fine expression of your trust in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The resort small, lonely n very nice. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Food was hygienic and tasty and servants were very kind. Stay includes complementary breakfast. Booking in advance is recommended since capacity is less. It reserves 5 star rating. Thanks to trip advisor through which I came to know about the resort.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank gobirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKacHu, Manager at Cherai Beach Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We express our sincere thanks for the good words you have expressed about the Cherai Beach Residency. I has been a matter of great pleasure for us to be of some service to you. We are indeed greatful to you for sparing your valuable time desp;ite your preoccupations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Thanks to other TripAdvisor reviews we chose this place. It is exactly what the reviews talk about. Cosy, Value for Money, On the beach, with a sea view. Nice friendly Staff. Jesse and Poly available are friendly and care for the guests as one will for personal guests at home. Special words for the cook and the help. Food is really good and their smile makes you feel home.
All amenities of a large resort, but very very personal touch.
Another tip - hire a scooty for local travel and sight seeing. There are god no of places nearby.

Room Tip: Chose last room on first floor. Has a clear view of the Sea / Beach.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKacHu, Manager at Cherai Beach Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much Mr.Parag for sparing your valuable time to share the experiences at Cherai Beach Residency. We are extremely pleased at your expression of confidence in us. We value your coments as our achievement and will do our best to maintain it.
Convey regards to your wife. Please come with your children also, when you vist Cherai next time. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is one of the places I would like to come back to...
The hotel owners are very welcoming and friendly and they do care about their guests. The hotel is very clean, has modern facilities... and yet it has this very cosy family-like atmosphere with very attentive service and just a good advice if one needs it. Together with a great location - just outside of all the hassle of the busy junction - with a quiet beach, for me personally, this was an ideal choice! And I did look around while in Cherai... for the good two weeks... Yet, would love to come back to this place if I travel again to India!
Thanks Polly & Jessy! (the owners)
Val

Room Tip: Ask for a bike - it's a great place for cycling... And of course, a top floor room with a view...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panthero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
1.8 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#2 of 7 in Cherai Beach
470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sealine Beach Resort
Sealine Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Cherai Beach
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#3 of 7 in Cherai Beach
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherai Beach Resorts
Cherai Beach Resorts
#4 of 7 in Cherai Beach
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherai Beach Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherai Beach Residency

Address: Cherai Beach | Cherai, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683 514, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Cherai Beach
Price Range: £29 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherai Beach Residency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced Villa Accredited by Dept. Of Tourism, Government of Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cherai Beach Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherai Beach Residency Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing