We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here for two days and enjoyed every bit of it. The food, ambiance, the hospitality is all as they claim. Great value for money. The best part of the resort was the fish pond. Also the chief is from Taj Malabar the food is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Google123654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    212
    49
    16
    12
See reviews for
289
96
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This is a new resort, having opened in July 2012. We arrived after a long flight from the UK and were greeted by friendly efficient staff, checked in and taken to our room with ease.
We took the cookery class with the head chef and his team of 6, it was fantastic, they were so proud of their food and preparation, they showed us all aspects of the kitchen. Nothing was too much trouble. the food in the restaurants was perfect, with a mix of Kerala, North Indian, Oriental and European all on the menu. We went mainly with the Kerala food, but anything we tried was very good.
The rooms are clean and well furnished, with the all important tea making facilities.
The grounds are well kept and the pool guy runs around straightening your towel as soon as you get up.
In would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, couples or family, everything was stress free, even our 1am check-out.

Room Tip: There are some bungalows with plunge pools available, if you need that extra luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DavidMcCormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Fed up with the neighbouring Cherai Beach Resort's inflated claims, we walked into this spanking new resort on our first evening walk out on Cherai beach. Immaculately designed rooms and friendly staff were a big draw in us making the decision to switch from CBR to here. Besides they matched the rates of the CBR considering that their rack rates start at 5 digits, plus the insane government taxes. The evening front office manager, Mathew, was polite, informative and open to negotiations. Full marks to him on how to make a sale so much so that we moved in the first thing next morning.

They gave us a room on the upper floor of a villa which was comfortable and spacious. It has all the amenities, 24-hour electricity, hot water, ample plug points etc. They even sent us a small fruit platter and a couple of cookies in designer steel dishes. The pool is large and clean and the lifeguard is helpful and considerate. The restaurant is clean, though a little strangely designed (I think they lost the plot here) and the menu is varied. The chef is a pure genius. Prices at the restaurant are inclusive of tax. The staff are knowledgeable and helpful. Note for tipplers - they did not have a license to serve alcohol when we visited but should have one by start 2013. Having waxed eloquent, here are a few things you should check with the Indriya before you book:-

1) Check if they have any events planned in the lawns, especially those that involve lights and loud music. We were honoured to witness one such event on the Indriya lawns, that made us run to the Cherai Beach Resort for dinner and which left the lawns strewn with garbage, that was not cleaned up till late the next morning. Maybe dustbins would be a good investment and so would taking the music indoors.

2) They have a system of allowing day guests to use their pool and other facilities. We had the horrible experience of interacting with a group of rowdy young locals who appropriated the pool and created a nuisance of themselves one morning. Their cat calls drove away a foreign woman who was reading by the poolside while the management just stood around and watched. They broke every rule made for the pool and it was not till I demanded a full refund and threatened to check out that they finally intervened. I don't even know if they did intervene or that natural tiredness made the pool idiots leave. To pacify us they upgraded us to a villa with a private jacuzzi but the damage was already done. The management does not realise that in the race for money they are damaging their reputation by letting in day guests who do not know how to behave themselves.

Having said that, they made up for it by giving us an outstanding anniversary dinner on their terrace restaurant, which was not really operational. So we were the only guest and the chef generously waited on us personally. I do feel bad - he is a great chef and thorough gentleman. Please try the squid chilly/pepper fry, the stuffed mullet and the prawn moily with steaming appams. We want to say a big "thank you" for making our visit worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mraquamarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here for one night.great location just on the beach in front and back water touching the hotel periphery on one side.food options are very limited and service takes lot of time but the waiters serves food with a smile.overall good start to our family holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vikas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at Indriya during our visit to Cochin. We stayed for 2 nights in the Periyar style room. Let me first say that my husband is from Kerala so I had the opportunity to soak in some local culture and visit other towns. This is the reason why I didn't exactly label items as Cons as it seems like it is just the norm here.

Pros:
*The resort itself is fairly clean and well maintained. They have been open for only a few months so this is to be expected.
*the Periyar we stayed in had modern western amenities (having toliet paper is always nice when coming from the US). The view from our patio was overlooking the lake which was pretty nice. If you ask the hotel concierge, they will give you a bamboo fishing rod and bait where you can fish in the lake. My husband caught a couple of pearl spot fish...and I think if you ask the hotel, they might cook the fish for you.
*There are 2 restaurants in the hotel although I only had the opportunity to try one. The one I didn't try is supposedly at the front of the hotel and had good local food according to my husband. The one I did try had a variety of north indian, south indian, local Kerala food as well as western and chinese food. Just a note here: This is India, so the pasta won't taste like its from Italy and the chinese food won't taste like its from China. :)
*The service of the staff is friendly and most speak english.
*The ayuveda spa had alot of different treatments which can be purchased as a stand alone or a package. I purchased a 2 day package which was a little on the high side but not too bad. The facility seemed pretty clean.

Things that you might want to consider (may or may not be considered Cons):
*This is not what most would consider a five star hotel. Maybe 3.5-4 in american standards. In addition, the price for the room was a little high in my opinion. Understood that December is high season but for some reason, paying 18000 rupees (about $330) for a room in India seems odd to me.
*Service is slow in all places I visited but for some reason I was surprsied to see that it was also slow here. I guess I expected different considering its catered towards foreigners.
*This resort is nice but once you walk out its gates, its kind of messy. Not exactly a touristy place where you can walk around and do some shopping. Also this is not a walkable distance to downtown Cochin. This is near the coast so you will need to ride a taxi into the city which may or may not take anywhere from 30-45 mins because of traffic.
*only beer - no wine or liquor.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BayAreaChino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Based on the info on the homepage, we expected a five star resort. The reality was very different; limited assortment and poor quality of food that seemed not homemade, no wine and beer in restaurant, only available in room(!) due to lack of license, as explained by staff. Staff had poor English and Hindi knowledge, which made communication difficult.
The resort is located on the edge of a village without any proper eating facilities nearby.

The room itself was ok, but the level of cleanliness was below par (food under the bed, stained towels and bird droppings on terrace).

At the pool there were only five beds available for 50 guests.

The only 5-star at this resort was the pricing. Also, when complaining, extremely difficult to reach management.
Our only good experience was sunrise morning swim at beach across street.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Petter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We arranged for a family lunch on December 22, 2012. My planning and all arrangements were made through the central reservation managed by Mr. Binju. Even though we were overseas and did all the arrangement's via email, each and every expectation was met. The party area was beautiful with a very nice view of the backwater, food was great and the staff of catering was exceptional with the wonderful leadership of the catering manager. My family members were very pleased that the hotel allowed their children to swim at the resort even though we were not staying at the resort, what a wonderful treat!! I highly recommend this resort and I must say that this is one of the finest resorts on the beach. Thanks for making us the host looking good in front of our family members.

Room Tip: Very fine guest rooms and villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2012phull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
1.5 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#2 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#6 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cherai Beach Resorts
Cherai Beach Resorts
#4 of 7 in Cherai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherai Beach Residency
Cherai Beach Residency
#1 of 21 in Cherai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Cherai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Cherai Beach

Property: Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Address: MLA Road, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683 514, India (Formerly Indriya Beach Resorts and Spa)
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Cherai Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indriya Beach Resort and Spa consists of secluded luxury cottages, sumptuously appointed executive suites, banquet areas and a state of the art spa set on an elegant landscape dotted with palms and tropical plants. Nestled between the Cherai beach and lagoon, serenity is the order of the day. Lulled by the hush of the lagoon, the calls of tropical birds, canoes sending soft ripples through the water, the muttered voices of fishermen and in the background the muted growl of the sea, the hiss of waves descending on the beach - you are in the realm of forces primal and sensual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Club Mahindra Cherai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing