We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience We ever Had!!!”
Review of Kottawatta Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kottawatta Village
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was the worst hotel experience we ever had as the services / foods are terrible. Restaurant is too far to the kitchen so meals get delay due to that. We order a milk tea for evening..would you believe they give us a expired milk. Cannot even smell. For lunch we get fried rice & it was with more Salt. We got thoroughly disappointed.

The MANAGER..Who think he is the best manager in the world but could not teat to the customer well. He talks like a boss to the customers even to the tourists (Since we are Locals).

Never select this place as your tour residence. You will get disappoint!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ManeeshaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Kottawatta Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I think I was the only guest when I stayed here so I was able to negotiate an upgrade to a better room. Each room is in an individual bungalow spread out around a lovely garden where peacocks roam freely. The owner is very professional and helpful. Safaris with their own jeep and driver can be arranged and I would recommend to go to the Elephant Halfway house sanctuary, which is just up the road. If you do a safari, the hotel provides a free snack pack and breakfast will be waiting for you when you return. Overall, a great place to stay if you are going to Uda Walawe national park, but I wouldn't stay here otherwise, as there's not much to do in the area.

Room Tip: The standard AC bungalow is fine, don't be persuaded to take the luxury one unless you actually...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Bexlovesred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we are three(3) night spend in this hotel. i need to inform for other traveler this is the best hotel in udawalawe. first we enter this hotel until we chick out time there give to us very nice high hospitality service & always this staffs ready to help us. we are lived all room very good big & very clean. out side garden was very beautiful always day time you can see & you can listen bird's sound's. there have very nice open aria restaurant this also very beautiful food was very taste. we eat here sri lanken rice & curry this was amazing why i tel this we eat other place also rice & curry but we not get in like this taste before.
i need inform my safari also this also i use hotel jeep price very reasonable time 3.30 hours we did safari in side the jungle. our jeep driver nishantha was very nice guide he have eagle eye some animal we not seen but he is the one show this animal for us.
by the way i need to inform all Americans you need to go udawalawe N.P this hotel Highly we recommended.

Room Tip: Room Number 9 & 10
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank koshali a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night in May 2014 since I had a safari to Udawalawe the next morning. This hotel definitely does not worth 45 usd a night, the room was dirty and run down, lot of bugs and mosquitoes, the mosquito net was dirty, wifi not working. Also, the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and you need a driver to move around. The accommodation provided to my driver was a shame. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The only good thing is that my rice and curry and breakfast were good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very nice and clean rooms. Rooms are big and so is the bathroom. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They organised our afternoon safari trip and it was great! Accommodation available if you are travelling with a driver.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Minimigreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

(+) Clean and independant cottages with terrace
(+) Amasing breakfast
(+) Lovely living room
(+) Ideally located to reach Udawalawe national park

(-) The kitchen staff was incredibly slow to cook a macaroni dish (1 hour to get it) even if only 3 tables were occupied
(-) A bit expensive ($50 per night breakfast included)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Romain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you come for holiday or your vacation Don't stepping to thais hotel. If you come for war you go there. The manager & the owner of the hotel don't care you for foot, they thought they are the people, about the hospilaty,.
The food was the horrible food had in my life. As Jenn Marks, say's they treated the drivers & also there own staff worstly.

Room Tip: Don,t go there.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ransith15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colombage-ara
5.3 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green View Safari Resort
Green View Safari Resort
#1 of 3 in Udawalawa
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Udawalawa Safari Village Hotel
Udawalawa Safari Village Hotel
#2 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Athgira River Camping
Athgira River Camping
#3 of 41 in Udawalawa
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nature House Udawalawa
Nature House Udawalawa
#1 of 26 in Udawalawa
298 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nil Diya Mankada Safari Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kottawatta Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kottawatta Village

Address: Udawalawa Junction, Colombage-ara, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Colombage-ara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Colombage-ara
Price Range: £21 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kottawatta Village 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kottawatta Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing