We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly”
Review of La Darbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Darbia
Certificate of Excellence
Ballerup Municipality, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spend a week at La Darbia ( 2 adults and 2 children). Beautiful location above Orta San Giulio. Friendly owner and staff. Clean pool, ideal for children. We prefer the quiet Otra Lake to the larger and more crowded Maggiore and Como lakes, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProntoHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

La Darbia is a fantastic place tucked away on wooded slopes overlooking the beautiful Lake Orta and the Island of San Giulio as well as the snow topped Monte Rosa.
We have spent a fabulous week in a two bedroomed apartment with balcony in this recently created small intimate and extremely tasteful and stylish development. Set in grounds of peaceful gardens and manicured vineyards there is a lovely swimming pool and sun terrace all extremely well kept and thoughtfully planned with rustic charm and relaxed atmosphere.
The owner Gian Carlo is an acclaimed architect and has used his flair to create a real ' Gem ' of a place that we will revisit again and again.
This is the perfect place to base yourselves to explore the lakes, we went to Stresa on Lake Maggiore and took a boat trip over to the magnificent Isola Bella Palace and gardens, a real wonder. The Mottarone is well worth a visit, in summer when we were there the air was SO clean /pure and the view are extraordinary taking in seven lakes. In winter we are told the skiing is great so we may need to go back just to check this out as the resort is only about 30 mins away.
Hire a boat and captain on lake Orta to view the splendid shoreside villas and the Island of San Giulio and pretty village of Pella. We hired a car from the airport, a must, which gave us the opportunity to explore and pop into town for bread and provisions .
The local cuisine is as you would expect, fantastic. There are loads of excellent restaurants in and around Orta and worth asking Angela of the odd recommendation.
The staff were helpful friendly and discrete always ready to accommodate us with a smile. The grape vines are set to produce a good harvest for Gian Carlos excellent Rosé wine so a return next year is a definitely on the cards. Wholeheartedly recommended.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have a balcony with dining table for el fresco meals and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a lovely week in this fantastic place. The apartments are new and modern with a great homely relaxed feel. The pool area and gardens are imaculate and well looked after. You can sit around the pool on your sun bed and look out over Orta and the mountains.
The views out across Lake Orta are some of the most spectacular I have ever seen. We thouroghly enjoyed sitting out on the balcony taking in the views as the balcony was large enough for a dining table and four chairs.

The grounds around the apartments are beautiful with grape vines growing around the pool area. The gardens are well stocked with mature trees and herbs growing throughout.

The staff are really friendly and attentive. Nothing is too much trouble for them and went out of their way to help and accomodate us.

I cant wait to go back to La Darbia and enjoy the views and hospitality of this wonderful place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just spent a magical week at la darbia, vacciago, lake orta. It's tranquil , atmospheric and a lovely place to stay, especially if you are planning to spend sometime In orta. We were met by Angela who was friendly and helpful. Our apartment was tastefully designed, very clean and comfortable and had everything you need. A great place to have as a base to then venture out for the day or just to relax in your own private sunny , garden space with spectacular views to die for.
I hope we'll return one day, it really was the perfect place.

Room Tip: Choose one of the apartments with a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChuftieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Beautiful property!! Apartments in modern style and old ambiance. Ultra comfortable with kitchenettes, terraces, pool, and gardens. Views of beautiful Lago d'Orta and the island. A short drive through private gate to Idyllic Vacciago, Miasino, or Orta San Giulia. Check out the Bottega/Alimentari in Vacciago…..He has everything you need to make breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner.
5 minutes down the hill to Orta San Giulia for strolling the narrow streets, restaurants, and shops or a boat ride out to the island. This little village drips in charm and old world beauty everywhere you look!!
Get directions to La Darbia before you go…..can be a challenge to find!!

Room Tip: There are upper and lower apartments, so just ask Matteo which would be best for your needs. The is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcgeoughski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vacciago
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
829 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Rocco Hotel
San Rocco Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
206 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farm House Altana del Motto Rosso
9.3 mi away
La Capuccina - Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Darbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Darbia

Property: La Darbia
Address: Via Covini, Vacciago, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Vacciago
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Vacciago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA DARBIA, originally a small rural settlement where the principal occupation was agriculture, is located on the hillside that climbs upwards from the town of Orta following the natural slope of the mountain towering over it. A recent intervention led to the hamlet's revival and its destination as a tourist resort; the characteristic symbol is the little stone tower that gave the entire complex its name. The buildings that comprise LA DARBIA are all different from each other in shape and furnishings and are separated by yards and pedestrian lanes. Surrounded by foliage, the ground floor apartments have private gardens and a portico, while those on the first floor come with terraces. All the apartments enjoy sunny positions with a wonderful view of Lake Orta, the Island of San Giulio and Monte Rosa. The private gardens are towards the front of the park facing Lake Orta, as is the swimming-pool with the sunbathing area and the Nebbiolo vineyard, cultivated on the pre-existent terraced land, which dates back to the XVIII century. The parking spaces are to be found at the back along the driveway in the vicinity of the apartments. In the interior of the property there is a play area with suitable equipment for the use and enjoyment of our younger guests. A large wooded area, with an abundance of native species such as century-old chestnut, hornbeam and maple trees, surrounds the property. There is also a spring on the grounds belonging to the La DARBIA complex at just a short distance from the living quarters. It may be reached following a trail and the pure crystal water that flows from it is used on the property. Situated in an isolated area perfect for pure relaxation, LA DARBIA is also a strategic starting point to discover the many riches the surrounding territory has to offer: the town of Orta, one of the most beautiful in Italy, is within easy walking distance and from here one may discover the splendid Island of San Giulio and Sacro Monte, a Unesco heritage site. For mountain lovers, Mottarone with its breathtaking views, is nearby and so is the renowned tourist destination Lake Maggiore and its islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Darbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing