We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT LOCATION”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thackmoor Nook

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Some of the original wood beams
The cottage adjoins our barn
Back door to the cottage which leads to a grassed area for guests
The guests bench in the wild flower area and orchard, perfect for an evening
Our garden which guests are welcome to use
Renwick from the path to Thackmoor, looking across the Eden Valley
One of the walks from the cottage, to the waterfall on the right
Renwick Church
The Eden Valley from above Renwick
The bridge at Lazonby
Interior of St Oswald's Church Kirkoswald
St Oswald's Church Kirkoswald
D and K
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Renwick, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bam1423
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT LOCATION”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Location was idea for us , local walks close to villages to visit just what we were looking for.
Only a short two night stay but had everything you need Owner Richard kept's us well informed on all our needs.
A folder in cottage with all you need to know about area ,walks, eateries , local shops, pubs was very useful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LW55
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another great find”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Can only echo the previous reviews. The property was exactly as described. We enjoyed our short stay here, the log burner came in useful even in August, for drying out wet footwear. It is a very quiet location, but not that far from Penrith, which we also found to be a very pleasant town. Thanks again to Dick and Kath for all the useful information and maps provided, and also for the fresh veg from the garden. We would definitely stay here again if we are ever in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious for a two person rental
Liked least: The journey home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
It was a pleasure to have you stay
Reagrds,
Dick and Kath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchmaid
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chris1231...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable stay, lovely accommodation, welcoming and friendly owner.”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great well appointed accommodation for visiting areas in the Lake District. On our arrival the owner Dick was present and was very welcoming and provided us with some excellent information concerning the cottage and the surrounding area. The Cottage is equipped with everything necessary for a comfortable stay, we especially enjoyed the log burner in the evenings after a day out walking and visiting places in the lakes. The cottage has plenty of information in the blue folder on places to visit and walks both local and further a field. The owner Dick is always more than happy to advise with directions or any information required to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We had an excellent four days and even the weather was warm and dry, we look forward to returning again later in the year for another quiet break. Thank you again Dick for a lovely four days stay, will see you soon, Chris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage location
Liked least: Bed mattress uncomfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Pleasure to have you here and hope to see you again,
Best Wishes,
Dick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoborou...
scarborough
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well appointed and comfortable”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. We both felt that the cottage was well equipped and very comfortable. Added bonus dog friendly and small area at back of cottage to exercise her. Plenty of walks from the cottage. Would like to return when the weather more favourable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“We were cosy and well looked-after, a Christmas cracker!”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We arrived to a seasonally decorated cottage, with a real Christmas tree, fairy lights, and various stylish Christmas things. The log burner was also prepared. All we had to do upon arrival was throw a match into the burner, open the wine, and the cottage immediately felt like home. We didn't have a car but that didn't thwart us, a provision-laden taxi from Penrith station (around £30 each way) took us to the idyllic setting of Renwick. There was more than enough to keep us busy by foot. We took a long walk along the Raven Beck to Kirkoswald, another lovely village with great pubs (especially the Fetherston Arms). I highly recommended this walk. Apart from the beautiful scenery and the extremely high standard of the cottage, another aspect of the stay really stood out: the hospitality of Dick, who owns the cottage. A friendly, helpful, and charming man, who made our stay very special. In no way omnipresent, he would often give us advice or offer help if needed. This is a fantastic place to experience the wilds of Cumbria.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff N
1 review
“Great hideaway, great scenery.”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cottage, which we found was very comfortable with the bonus of a lovely log burner. Everything was there that we needed. The village was beautifully peaceful and bordered on to the North Pennines with plenty of walking opportunities and lovely villages to visit in the stunning Eden Valley. It was a great hideaway holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Many thanks and hope to see you again
Dick and Kath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing