We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy retreat in unspoiled surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property
exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior
exterior of cottage the main house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
exterior
exterior of cottage
the main house
twin bedroom
sitting room
double bedroom
the dining kitchen
red deer in the grounds
cosy wood-burning stove
flowers in the garden
winter in the garden
winter
our little flock of sheep and lambs
walled garden
the house
view of the River Almond
Autumn at Moulinalmond
the walled garden for your exclusive use
one of gorgeous red squirrels
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Almondbank, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
rogmanswi...
Horn, Switzerland
1 review
“Never again, nie wieder, jamais plus, mai più”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

my worst experience of holiday rental ever; no change of laundry in three weeks; antique electric meter system keeps you on tenterhooks, especially as owners' absence during first 10 days only explained in writing upon arrival; full-time job keeping warm;never got to meet hostess

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
What an astonishing, and inaccurate review. First of all it clearly stated on the welcome letter that fresh linen was available whenever it was required - come to that there was a stock of fresh linen in the chest in the cottage sitting room. Secondly free coins for the meter were left in the cottage - enough for several weeks. Unless they were running every electrical appliance round the clock they would not have had to put coins in more than once a week. Also I fail to understand how they can have had any issues about keeping warm. In addition to all the electric heaters there is a wood burning stove that heats all the radiators.. It also comes with an endless stock of free firewood.

On several occasions my husband went over to check everything was ok and no comments, other than positive ones, were received.
We run a self-catering and, in common with all self catering establishments, this means we do not have to be on site all the time. It is not a hotel.
Yes, we were abroad for their first ten days but we ensured they had contact details for the Polish couple in the village who do the cleaning, so it's not like they were left high and dry. Equally we were available on phone and email at all times.
As for my absence, well actually I was having major surgery in hospital during their stay, and then recovering in bed when I got home. My husband however was around.
All in all I strongly take exception to this unfair and inaccurate review, and to have dissatisfied guests is very much not the norm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charidot
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cosy retreat in unspoiled surroundings”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This cottage is snug and well-equipped with an efficient, and easy to operate, wood-burner that heats both the house and the water. The surrounding extensive garden and adjacent ancient woodland are a dream and the whole is located within easy reach of a wide range of recreational options - for example, both Edinburgh and the Highlands are easily accessible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
So pleased you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back soon. The new shower seems to make a big difference to our guests so very pleased about that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy hideaway in beautiful grounds”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this place so much we stayed an extra day, and would have extended more if we could. We wanted somewhere that we could really escape and relax with no stress, and it's exactly that. The cottage is part of the main house, and you can wander round expansive gardens... the dogs loved it. There's access to the well stocked wood shed so you can have a fire burning the whole time, and it's a five minute walk down into the village where there's a pub, or fifteen mins in the other direction where there is another. Loads of great walks around, we saw deer bounding along next to the river, great place to unwind, will defo be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Thanks so much Mark. we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is doggie heaven and it was lovely to meet yours (just wish I didn't travel so much and could have a couple of my own!). Looking forward to welcoming you back. We will have the new shower by then.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another World - relax and enjoy the aura of the estate & cottage”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I wanted to have a relaxing holiday this year - and we certainly did. The cottage is attached to the main house of Syd & Katie House and is set in 14 acres of beautiful gardens and woodland. It has a walled area dedicated for our personal use that contains fruit trees, flower beds and lawns.
It was our 25th Wedding anniversary and our daughter had arranged with Katie as a surprise for a bottle of champagne to be in the fridge for when we arrived which we had no trouble in consuming in front of the wonderful wood burning stove in the evening.
The cottage had all that we needed including a comfortable d/bed and had two s/beds in an adjacent room.
Our hosts were delightful and helpful and our stay was so different from the usual hotels and B & B's. It is ideal for relaxing or as a central point in Scotland for visiting other places of interest. To be in such wonderful surroundings was a privilege and we must thank Syd and Katie for allowing us to share their estate for the week and we hope to be able to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility and beauty of the area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you so much George. It was our pleasure to have you stay to celebrate your special anniversary. The walled garden is a lovely space, and you timed it well to enjoy some of the fruits (they're now literally falling off the trees!). Hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: The bathroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
We do not accept the cottage is uncomfortable and it is simply factually incorrect to say that there are no cupboards/cabinets in the kitchen – there are several – it is a fully fitted kitchen as the photos prove. There is a shelf in the bathroom for toiletries, but as this gentleman came with a family of five (and the cottage is advertised for four max - which is what he said his group was) and copious luggage, perhaps he should have chosen a larger property. The other reviews testify to how many very happy guests we have, Pablo was not one, but he is the exception.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emma R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A tranquil retreat, set in a beautiful garden”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a wonderful weekend break at Moulinalmond cottage. The accommodation was great, well equipped, clean and cosy. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful, passing on some good tips about exploring the local countryside (would thoroughly recommend Dunkeld for a walk). Plus the garden is absolutely beautiful. I'd love to come back in later in spring/summer to see it in full bloom!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thanks. Glad you enjoyed it!
The wee local pub of Pitcairngreen Inn is also worth a visit. Good pub grub, real ales, roaring open fire and some real local characters!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
87LuHawke...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Magical retreat!

We stayed at the cottage at the end of March and had a wonderful time. Such a beautiful location - could spend hours soaking in the stunning surroundings and garden. The cottage is cosy and perfect for a long weekend break. Hosts couldn't be more welcoming. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thanks for the lovely review. Unfortunately I think you mistook 'title' as you have put your marital status in stead of a title to your review. Maybe you can have this altered?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing