We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In response to "in need of TLC"”
Review of Le Castel Enchante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Castel Enchante
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In response to "in need of TLC"”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here last week and whilst i thought the Villa was nice it was desperately in need of TLC. In response to the review "in need of TLC" and the owners comments I have to say I am extremely disappointed with her response. I have included the picture from the website where it says Private Pool and gardens, and whilst her guest was there we did nothing but read and she stayed for over an hour.
We were not noisy at all, kids would make more noise, we were all adults, however when paying a ball game in the pool we were told by Julie that she has an ongoing problem with her neighbours about noise from the villa. This was 4pm in the day, not 11pm at night!
In terms of TLC there were nails sticking up in the garden, the trees around the pool were very overgrown that you couldnt even use one of the footpaths and the pool was falling apart nothing that cant be fixed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Castel Enchante would be fine for a couple of nights as a b&b but we rented the place for a week as a private villa. We had a really lovely holiday but expected a little more from the villa. The house itself is nice with beautiful views, and a nice terrace to eat on.
We found some parts to be needing a lot of work, the pool area is really quite grubby, and the pool itself was falling apart. The steps in the garden going down to the pool were crumbling and there were nails sticking out of the ground.
When we cleaned the place before leaving it felt like it hadn't been cleaned for a while.
Julie, the owner, was not ready for us when we got there and we felt like she saw us as an inconvenience rather than paying guests. She lives in the apartment below the villa, so it's not as private as you'd expect. One day we even came down to the pool to find a girl sitting there who was staying with Julie. She stayed for about an hour then left without a word. Not what you'd expect when paying €2200 for a private villa & pool.
On the day we left, we were all packed and had cleaned the entire house (cobwebs and all) and at 10.30am went to find Julie to enquire about getting the security deposit back. She rudely looked at her watch and said 'well you should have been out by 10am' ... She didn't actually have anyone coming to stay the week after us and had made no attempt to contact us about a leaving time so we felt her attitude was unnecessary.
The location of the villa is fabulous and Carcassonne is a great place to visit, but if you are looking for a private villa, you will find much better for your money. Having stayed in private French villas before, it all felt a bit unprofessional. The place could be great with a bit updating and cleaning but certain areas felt a little too shabby for the money we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliecarolsmith, Owner at Le Castel Enchante, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback - I was surprised as today I just received an email stating that you have really enjoyed your time here so I am very sad to hear to the contrary. We always point out to guests that we provide a home and not a 5 star hotel.

My opinion would differ from yours on the condition of our home on arrival as I would maintain it was no cleaner when you departed, regrettably I was unable to stop the spiders from entering. No-where on our website do we state that the pool is exclusive so as the weather was very hot I did not realise it would be an issue for friend to sit by the pool but she moved rapidly as it was far too noisy for her. From the noise that was being made during at our pool during your stay I would recommend Club 18-30 would have been more suitable or perhaps next time somewhere more remote. I wish you luck in finding better value for money in the future and hope you find extremely tolerant neigbours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hi!
I stayed in "Le Castel Enchante" two wonderful nights with my boyfriend. Those days were very special in this amazing place. I've booked it by Internet, but I phoned Miss Julie Smith, the owner, to ask for some information before arriving, and I thought that she was a great person because she was very friendly on the phone.
When we arrived the 30th December'12, Julie gave us all the information and advices that we needed about the house and the city of Carcasonne.
We met her husband, Malcolm, a very nice person. After one day to stay, we decided to spend the New Year with them. My boyfriend and me, we had dinner with Julie and Malcolm. We ate the typical English supper for the New Year. They prepared for us some surprises, typical English!! We can't forget the breakfast, mmmmmmmm the croissants very tasty, the supper...they are excellent cooker!!!
They are very nice and friendly!!! The house was very clean , all was perfect!!
Actually, this place continues being a special place that when we have time, we come back because it seems "haunted place".
Thanks for all Julie and Malcolm!!
Natalia and Oscar

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank natalia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliecarolsmith, Owner at Le Castel Enchante, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Dear Oscar and Natalia - Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again!! Kind Regards Julie & Malcolm Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovoth, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just returned today from a vacation. Four wonderful days spent at the really "enchanted castle"
where Julie made us fell at home ( or even better).
Spotlessly clean, endless warmth.
The view, the surroundings, the quiet place , everything gave us an infinite desire to return in the nearest possible future. A real soul cleansing, so much needed after a year's work.
And no doubt about , we shall return

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliecarolsmith, Owner at Le Castel Enchante, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our home. We look forward to seeing you again in the future - it was our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We booked late and hence missed the suites, so Julie kindly offered us one of the "budget" rooms. It was brilliant. Breakfast was remarkable, better than we'd had at a lot of hotels we'd stayed at. Even though Julie was going through a bit of a family crisis, she still made sure that all our needs were catered for, and the other two couples staying there were good fun as well, an added bonus.
Recommend to all similar couples to us.
K&G

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryH-OX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliecarolsmith, Owner at Le Castel Enchante, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank You so much for taking the time to give us this review. I am only sorry that I was not around enough to appreciate your great breakfast banter - but heard I really missed some fun. I hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip and hope maybe to get a second chance one day. Regards Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I was a long weekend with a friend of mine in this lovely place. Julie, the owner is a very nice persone and talkative. We really appreciated her advices. A wonderful house with a british wellcome. On top of that... The breakfast!!!! We always wanted to wake up just to have breakfast. She cooks very well. I strongly recommend this place, besides, it's extremely clean and well decorated. If you are a couple, she has special rooms, very romantic. It's strategically located, near carcassonne but also other interesting places. Good luck and enjoy it!

Room Tip: Just talk to Julie. She will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniBCN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliecarolsmith, Owner at Le Castel Enchante, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I hope to see you again soon. Regards Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This B&B is up a steep hill, and has a lovely view of the valley below. Julie the owner is an expat Brit, and has two nice dogs, Rosie and Charlie. Julie was a wonderful hostess and provided an enormous self-serve breakfast in the sitting room area for €6 pp. The sitting room area also had a free computer for the use of guests, which was very helpful.

My husband and I had the Rose Room. It was a huge room including a bathtub and sink area in a step-up section cordoned off with sheer curtains. There was also a bidet. We had a large balcony for private use which overlooked the parking lot at the back.

The bathtub had the shower installed at the side of the tub, so it was impossible to use it without getting water on to the floor beside the tub. Also there was no effective separation between the bed area and the bath/shower area ( just the sheer lace curtain) so that the entire space filled with steam.

The toilet was in a room off the corridor outside the room, which was shared with other guests using the sitting room at the front of the house. The toilet didn't flush and we were told it was broken by the little boy of one of the previous guests - but while we were there for 3 days, it wasn't repaired. We had to take the top off the tank, and put our hand in to lift the plunger each time to flush.

Julie, if you read this please don't be offended, but the Rose Room needs an ensuite toilet. Take out the useless bidet, install a proper toilet, and put sliding doors across, instead of the silly lace curtain!

Julie was a great hostess, however. She took all our dirty clothes ( we'd been travelling for 2 weeks!) and washed them, then hung them outside to dry. I had to iron them myself, since she has no dryer and they were rumpled, but at least we had clean clothes. So that was great. Julie charged €25 for the washing. My husband was sick with a bad cold while we were there. Julie was most solicitous,and quiet & he was able to sleep one day and rest.

We were there on the Royal Wedding day and what fun we had. Julie had invited a bunch of friends, both English and French, to watch the royal wedding on BBC via satellite TV and have a real English tea. Everyone arrived all dressed up with enormous crazy hats, and much laughter was had by all. One lady had a lampshade upsidedown for a hat all festooned with Union Jacks and photos of William and Kate. The local newspaper reporter arrived and took everyone's photo. We drank Pims and had champagne and watched the wedding. Everyone chattered in English and French altogether. What a great memory! Thanks, Julie.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fonties-d'Aude
3.0 mi away
Audotel
Audotel
#13 of 39 in Carcassonne
130 reviews
5.4 mi away
Le Top du Roulier
Le Top du Roulier
#1 of 1 in Capendu
60 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
5.8 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
319 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Castel Enchante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Castel Enchante

Property: Le Castel Enchante
Address: 20 Chemin de Matet, 11800 Fonties-d'Aude, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Fonties-d'Aude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fonties-d'Aude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place to visit the Cathar Sites of the South of France Le Castel is just 8km from the Medieval Cite of Carcassonne. The nearest village of Trebes is a harbour for house boats on the Canal du Midi town. Le Castel Enchante is a Super homely villa where you can providing a great base for visiting the Cathar Sites or just resting and relaxing on a tour of France. Our famous breakfast and homely cooking are just what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Le Castel Enchante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Castel Enchante Aude/Fonties-D'Aude, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing