We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Los Amigos de Huayhuash - superb guides!”

Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Los Amigos de Huayhuash - superb guides!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked a shorter, 6-day trip with Los Amigos de Huayhuash for our trek into the very remote Huayhuash range. It was like hiking with a close friend, they genuinely cared for your experience, that you were doing OK physically and enjoying the hike. We chose a smaller agency because a) the reviews were good for them and b) we knew the money was going directly to them rather than for paying for overhead or to a large business. We were thrilled with the trip. The organization ahead of time was excellent and well planned. We met our guide and the logistics coordinator in Huaraz for dinner to review trek plans and discuss details. This was helpful to get acquainted with the guide and familiar with what was about to happen. We helped with getting the food in Huaraz, so it is much more of an inclusive adventure covering aspects other than just the hiking. I found this a good experience because you get a more intimate understanding of how things actually work. The views on the trek were amazing, huge displays, similar to big sky country in the American west to an extent but with altitude. Five of the six passes we crossed were well above 15K ft/4K m.
A telling moment for me as it relates to comparisons with other operations was on the first day our donkeys showed up while another groups didn't show up until the next day and two people who booked their own donkeys through someone in Huaraz didn't show up until the first night. Both of those other groups had a lot of anxiety because of what they had to go through. I felt badly that their vacation was affected, but there were no such issues for us. The guides were excellent, knowledgeable of the local people, fluent in Spanish, English and French. I felt like they were really watching out for our well being and were genuine in their interest in guiding us. This isn't just a job for them, it's a passion.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Tobi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    2
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huayhuash trek with Go2Andes”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

After a bit of searching we settled on Go2Andes to arrange our trek. We did the 10 day trek (there are 8-day and 12-day options available also; the 10-day option was ideal for us). Christian sorted all the details and organised a great trip. We have done plenty of hiking but this was our first experience of high altitude trekking. Christian recommended a couple of acclimatising walks before we started the trek which was turned out to be a great idea and gave us the right start to the trek. The trip itself was a succession of highlights. The scenery is spectacular, the climbs were all manageable and the support crew (Willie the guide, Amancio the cook and Johnnie and Mansuetto the horsemen) were all excellent. We all got along extremely well and they couldn't have been more attentive to us as clients. The food was an interesting selection of new dishes daily and we were given snacks for the trail each day.
This was a great experience and Christian's organisation was first rate. Thoroughly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huayhuash with Active Peru!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We are just back from doing the trek in 9 days with a guide and donkeydriver from Active Peru- Huaraz . We just loved it!!Everything was well organised, the food was great and our guide Freddy was the best! He was funny and was very helpfull. We learned a lot about nature and general life in Peru. The best!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 2007Liekens77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huayhuash 10 day circuit for old guys”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Four men ages 65-67 on a 10 day Huayhuash circuit, escorted by guide from Peruvian Mountains guide service. Arrangements coordinated by owner Rodolfo Reyes Oropeza, with details from arrival in Lima, bus to Huaraz, accommodations in Huaraz, training hikes in Huaraz (2 days), and all trek arrangements (cooks, arrierios, donkeys) all without a hitch. Complete satisfaction with his guide service. Highly recommended. Trek was as magnificent as other posts. We were even luckier than most with weather. . . Clear days and nights, no serious precip. Due to age and knees, some use of horses on steepest descents. Did not try San Antonio Punta due to time and terrain. Guides made some adjustments to schedule due to our age and pace, and we were happy for it. Saw many condors, a vicuña herd at Punta Cuyoc, llamas, and chinchillas. Several ice falls off glaciers. No need to go to Asia after this !




Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mjollnir73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Avoid Ganesa”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

The Huayhuash circuit is in fact awesome not terrible but I needed a way to warn people about a dodgy agency. We wanted to do the circuit independently rather than as part of a group. We just needed a donkey driver and donkeys and everything (tent,sleeping bag etc.) for the donkey driver. We used an agency "Ganesa" to organize that and paid them 1340soles for the privilege. It was a bit confusing as to who the agency was as we ended up dealing with several different people all claiming to be from different agencies but our contract ultimately said it was with Ganesa. All seemed ok as we headed out to the trek until a guy jumped on the bus asking for me. He handed me 400 soles and told me that was to pay the donkey guy. I was shocked and horrified that was all they were paying him. On the second night the donkey driver told us he wasn't being paid enough and he was going to abandon us unless we paid him an extra 300 soles, we had no house being in the middle of nowhere at that point. The tent also had broken poles and the agency forgot the sleeping bag do we had to pay again to hire another. The donkey driver was an inexperienced teenager who complained a lot and made us feel a bit like his mum and dad. All in all lots of issues. I recommend doing it independently but call an Arriero directly don't use an agency and if your Spanish isn't up to it find someone who can make the call for you.

Huayhuash was the most beautiful place I have been do despite the issues it was still worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Aunty_minxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cordillera Huayhuash also viewed

Huascaran National Park, Ancash Region
Huaraz, Ancash Region
 
Huascaran National Park, Ancash Region
 

Been to Cordillera Huayhuash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing