We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for horse lovers having a 4WD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hacienda Puerto de las Muelas
Ranked #17 of 24 Ronda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Great location, nice rooms (although to my taste slighty overpriced for what you are getting), rather difficult to find, bad accessibility, breakfast only, horse theme all over the place, some 20 minutes by car from the centre of Ronda or a 50 minutes sturdy walk. Nice hiking area though. Perhaps only recommendable for horse lovers having a 4WD.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

Just as stated on the title, Haciënda Puerto de las Muelas is the perfect getaway. Located just 3-4 km outside of Ronda but it feels like you stayed just in the middle of splendid countryside. I have to admit the location is abit off the map and the street to get there is a bit off road, but actually it's not far from the main road.

The place seemed newly renovated and they only have 8 rooms available, each with special name (not numbered) and each furnished with different style. Just at the back of the B&B, you can find stables and it's actually also horse riding school. You can also explore the countryside with the horse if you like.

The host is very friendly and helpful, even though she doesn't speak much english but things went smooth. Breakfast was also nice but they don't have restaurant... so, for dinner you have to go to Ronda.

Outside of the B&B, the view is splendid...the same similar view that you see from Ronda, but now you're really in it. You can walk from here to under the majestic bridge Puente Nuevo and you can even walk up to the city. Took about 30-45 minutes from the B&B to this bridge.

We're glad to stay at this hotel, it's very nice, and peaceful. Would love to go back again..

[I attached the panoramic view from outside of the B&B]

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Let me say from the outset that this is not an easy place to find (hence the above title) - especially (in our case) on a stormy day in March. The best way, coming from Ronda, is to head to the North of the town and take the road to Seville. Drive down off the roundabout for about half a mile. The road bends back on itself and after a couple of hundred yards you will see a (small) sign for the hotel on the right hand side pointing to an (unmade!) track on the left. Turn off here then follow this down for the best part of a mile - take it easy though because the surface is very hard going. Go through the woods and when you reach the bottom, steer left on to a smoother road - still take care because you come quickly on to a very sharp and steep left hand bend. The hacienda is just a little way down on the right. You can now pat yourself on the back for a job well done - but be sure to spare a kind thought for the suspension on your poor old (hired?!) car.
When we arrived, Mari (the owner) greeted us with a warm smile (and an umbrella) and kindly helped us in with our luggage. Over the next few days she proved to be a most charming hostess, and although she speaks very little English, she was still able to provide us with many helpful tips on local eateries and places of interest.
We had chosen to stay in a Junior Suite - "Sa Garrocha" and we were very pleased we had made that choice. This must surely be one of the best rooms, having two balconies and views of the valley (gorge?) that are just breathtaking! The bathroom came complete with a jacuzzi bath and I must say that the rustic decor throughout both rooms was really lovely.
Breakfast was served by Mari next door in the bar (until 11am) and was typically Spanish with a good assortment of local produce.
Despite the poor weather during our visit, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and we would heartily recommend you find the time to pay a visit. Yes, the road (!) is not an easy one, but when you do get there, you will be very glad that you made the effort.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite - "Sa Garrocha" was lovely with double aspect views and a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilfPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This place is the perfect get away. If you've been traveling a lot or just need to stop and breath in fresh air...this is your place! This quaint B&B makes you want to stop and relax. It's a bit off the beaten path, which we loved! Maria is the PERFECT host...so sweet and lovely! The rooms are exactly what you would hope for in a hacienda! Beautiful, clean, with a balcony to a tremendous view...must be one of the best views in the area!!!

There are stables you can walk up to, pet the horses...they have tons of dogs, which I loved! (They are very conscientious as to whether or not you are a dog person, so if you prefer no dogs...don't worry).

Ronda is a small, sleepy town. I'm so glad where we stayed felt just as charming and relaxed! My husband and I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimL228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Splendid views over the surrounding countryside. Our bedroom had its own little balcony from which to enjoy these views and the room itself was very invitingly decorated with a well appointed ensuite showeroom. Alfresco breakfast in the courtyard was a lovely relaxing start to each day. After a day out it was very relaxing to come back and enjoy the peace and quiet and take drinks from the bar before going into Ronda for the evening. They make a great cup ot tea here as well as excellent coffee. Even though we didn't speak spanish and neither did our hosts speak english we managed to communicate all we needed too. Excellent value for money. We have fallen in love with the Ronda mountains and will be back to explore further. We will definitely sat here when we do.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely but a little on the smaller size for a double. Not sure what the other rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JQDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We chose this hotel because of the very favourable reviews and were still surprised by how nice it is. It has a beautiful rural setting and we had a very nice view of the rock on which Ronda is built. The place is a restored hacienda. Because it is located in a Natural Park restrictions applied, but the restoration is done very tastefully - all in a horses-inspired style. The owners train horses and you can make horse rides yourself (which we did not do). The rooms are individually and beautifully styled. The walk to Ronda (which we preferred over the car) is a beautiful one. The staff/owners are very friendly and helpful. If you are interested they will tell about their passion for horses, things to do, or history and manners of the region. Some say it is difficult to find, but with a bit of Google Maps it gets easy. The best stay of our holiday.

Room Tip: I think all views are nice, but the view to Ronda is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

After staying at all sorts of hotels in various cities we needed a break from the hustle. This place is a classic Andelucian hacienda nestled in the valley at the foot of Ronda Gorge - you can see the gorge and city from the hacienda.

The walk into town (if you don't have a car) is only about 30 mins, but lovely. We ran to city walls in 20 minutes.

The stables and horses were great, Juan is an accomplished Cabellero, trained at the Royal Riding School in Jerez and the hacienda is a working equestrian school. We went trail riding for two hours and recommend it strongly.

The rooms are bright, clean and decorated with an equestrian flavor. All the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful despite our meagre Spanish.

If you miss the sign off of the A374 this place can be hard to find, but believe me, when you do find it, it's worth it.

Yes, we still want to buy it!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skip2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
2.9 mi away
Finca Los Pastores
Finca Los Pastores
#9 of 24 in Ronda
112 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Perla Blanca
La Perla Blanca
#1 of 24 in Ronda
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#18 of 40 in Ronda
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#12 of 40 in Ronda
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Puerto de las Muelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Puerto de las Muelas

Address: Partida los Molinos 24, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range: £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda Puerto de las Muelas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hotel with 8 decorated double rooms, where yoy can enjoy beautiful views to nature. A perfect atmosphere for healthy life and rest. And just 10 minutes from the historical center. Our rural house is perfect for desconnecting from city, and for nature and horse-lovings. Lodging includes breakfast to begin the day plenty and enjoy natural surroundings and Ronda city. We have a inner court, a wide entrance, green open air areas, and very soon, a swimming pool. Next to the Hacienda, you can visit a riding school to have some lessons, enjoy a trip or participate in different activities. Besides, you can also enjoy different sports: we're on a trekking and biking route. Most of our guests, sportmen and sportwomen, move aorund on a bike or trekking. If you decide to move on your car, you're just 10 minutes to Ronda center. We give good discounts to groups and we organize personnally every stay with activities and special proposal for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Puerto de las Muelas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing