We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful peaceful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Retama Farmstead
Ranked #7 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Ronda
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful peaceful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent four happy days staying at Casa Abuela. It was comfortable and extremely peaceful.What a treat to open the shutters in the morning onto the surrounding countryside, with the lanes full of wild flowers and the hills in the distance. Nick and Julia are extremely friendly and helpful hosts. There are so many things to do and see in Ronda and further afield are the charming white washed villages of Zahara and Grazalema. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionawillans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We were on a two month trip to Europe with our three children, and Finca Retama is a standout location with fantastic hosts. We really enjoyed the area and were sorry to spend only a week there. It is the one place we visited that we wished we would have stayed longer to explore. There are truly amazing places to visit just 20 minutes away, and we loved the peaceful setting of the farm. The pool was fantastic and our children were in heaven. Nick and Julia were perfect hosts and were invaluable to us especially when our baby got an ear infection. They were able to get us right into a doctor, and we felt comfortable asking them for anything we needed. We definitely want to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Finca Retama is an ideal self-catering accommodation only 10 minutes drive from the centre of Ronda. It is rustic rather than luxurious, but the accommodation is spotless and Nick and Julia are kind and thoughtful hosts. We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment on the first floor of the farmhouse but also had a look round the 2 bedroom Casa Abuela, which looked great, with a lovely shaded terrace right next to the pool. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend. And on top of that Ronda itself is fantastically unspoilt and the surrounding countryside is beautiful

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giffnockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We are just coming back from Spain and the week we spent at Casa Abuela was most enjoyable. Julia and Nick are great (and gracious) hosts and their property is simply beautiful. The pool is quite sizeable and was the one spot where our two kids, 10 & 13, spent most of their time.

The property is only a 10 minute drive away from Ronda, which offers a ton of sight-seeing, Restaurants, Shopping etc.. But, if one does not want to drive that far, there are several Restaurants that are even closer.

We can only recommend Finca Retama and are looking forward to going back there one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Switzerland241167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

My family and my sister had a glorious 7 days at “Casa Abuela”. The place was a wonderful quite location just out of Ronda in a quant farming area. Nick and Julia, the owners were always close by to help with providing suggestions of what to see during our stay. Ronda has so many we did not get to see all of them.

You know you are getting an extraordinary service when you arrive and there is a wonderful bottle of Spanish red waiting for you. Don’t be fooled by the rustic design of the cottage as it has all the mod cons you would need. Even the kettle….. We had found most Spanish self-contained places did not have a kettle!!!

If we were to go back to Spain (got too many other countries to see) we would not hesitate to go back to "Casa Abuela"

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachMcDowall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

We spent two very happy weeks here. The old house is beautifully restored and very comfortable. The swimming pool is magnificent. The Finca itself is set in lovely countryside within easy striking distance of Ronda. Nick and Julia are the perfect hosts, very friendly and eager to help. Our children (11 and 8) played happily with Oliver and Daniel (who are younger) and the slightly older kids in the other apartment. Huge field of sunflowers that we painted in watercolours as the sun slid lazily over the hills. Very happy memories!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NotSoFamousFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

After an easy drive from the airport we turned off the highway onto a dirt road, checked our instructions to make sure we hadn't gone wrong!, and a few minutes later we arrived at a charming hacienda. Needless to say the kids were in the pool in minutes. Our hosts Nick & Julia made us feel very welcome and showed us around. The accommodation was to a very high standard and preserves the traditional style building with modern convenience and really peaceful rural setting.

Whilst this was a self-catering holiday the owners were only too happy to help and make our stay as enjoyable as possible so under the circumstances they deserve a generous service rating. This is an ideal spot for families, historic Ronda is only 10 minutes drive and for the adventurous there are numerous local restaurants and places to explore. It was a joy to lie by the pool in peace and read a book. I recommend a trip to the nearby reservoir /Lido on a very hot day. We are planning to return soon and combine with a trip to Granada next time.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
1.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
2.0 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#14 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Molino del Arco
Hotel Molino del Arco
#13 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Retama Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Retama Farmstead

Property: Finca Retama Farmstead
Address: Camino Fuente la Higuera, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful high specification 2-bed 2-bath country villa with disabled access (sleeps 2-6) and a beautifully restored 3bed 2bath farmhouse apartment (sleeps 2-8) with large fenced and landscaped pool. Only 10 min from charming, historic town of Ronda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Finca Retama Farmstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing