We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Barry
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great place for a treat”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I guess you have to splash out a bit and opt for a room with a view. Which is what we did, and a view you get!!! Spacious rooms, comfy beds, two TVs (but the satelite does not cover BBC....), toileteries, tea making facilities, mini bar, big towels, bath robes, slippers, and all very clean. Best of all (after the view) is the warm spa jacuzzi/steam sauna with extraordinary and friendly service (they make you a cup of tea while you relax enjoying the view) - and it's free of charge.
NOT free of charge is the parking, for which they want a whopping 15 Euros/day, which seems a Ryanair-like attempt of ripping off.... Advice: Park in the street instead. We did not try the breakfast, because, again, at 16 Euros it seems a lot, and as we love to sleep long, we opted for having one of the many daily menus (7-12 Euros for three courses!) down town. For my personal interest, the newly renovated interior was a bit too modern and minimalistic (prefer a bit more of romantics), and - as others have pointed out - the glass doors to the toilet are a very stupid idea. However, the shower room is amazing, and the water is always hot. Further, as it is beginning to get chilly now, there is a well and quickly functioning heating system in the room. Being a bit out of town (but really, not far, max 10 minutes to walk), it was very quiet, and a very relaxing place to go to and recuperate after some hours of walking and shopping in beautiful Ronda. The staff is very friendly, too - so we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there!

Room Tip: Take a room with a view, otherwise, what's the point?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK1Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    369
    77
    26
    10
See reviews for
188
726
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is the perfect hotel for enjoying Ronda. The views from the dining room and spa are spectacular - wherever you are, the beauty of Andalusia surrounds you. It also has all the things you'd expect too: comfy bed; spacious room; tasteful decor; friendly staff; excellent breakfast; and soft towels. What's not to like!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This hotel has been brought up to the modern day with edgy design and all home conforts in the rooms but thankfully, non of the charm of the original Victorian hotel have been lost. The "Bones" of the building are all intact which makes for a homely feel of solid luxury. I use this hotel as part of my Mr Henderson´s Railway tour and it never disappoints but now, having spent the night there, I can firmly recommend everyone this gem of a country hotel.

Room Tip: Worth the splurge to upgrade to a room with terrace and view of the valley. The backdrop will assure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed for 7 nights, room 107. The room had an awesome view, nice sized balony and the room itself was airy. Nice shower, toilet slightly odd in that it was just a frosted glass partition but overall the room was great. Minibar/fridge in room. TV was nice flat screen, only UK channel was BBC World, but only tried to use it once. Free WiFi in rooms.

The hotel seems newly built/refurbished to a really high standard. Nice outside pool (but too cold to use in October), and good health spa with steam room, v v large jacuzzi, normal beauty treatments. Had full leg wax which was good price at 25 Euros.

The staff were very accomodating, allowing us to store bikes and boxes in secure rooms throughout our stay.

Teething troubles with the "new" hotel were that the room entry cards needed resetting daily, and that the aircon was not commissioned.

Car parking was expensive, I think 10 Euro/day, however on street parking just outside the gates ie a couple of minutes walk was free and always available.

Walk to the bullring and restaurants was 5 minutes max, the location was fine in that it was a quiet part of town but very local.

Well worth going, possibly the best hotel in Ronda?

Room Tip: Room 107. The room had an awesome view, nice sized balony and the room itself was airy. . Was 2 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTBSteve11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Hotel and Facilities
This hotel is brand new and has been renovated with taste. The exterior of the hotel is modern and forgettable but the interior is really charming. The standard rooms are somewhat small but are again very tastefully decorated and equipped with all the modern cons (cable tv, air con). The bathroom was new and clean. Overall a very good package.

We chose the hotel because it had free and easy parking which was the case. The location is fine: about 5 minutes from the Plaza de Toros and about 10 minutes to the Puente Nuevo and Ronda historic centre.

However, the real shame about this hotel is the service. It was simply not up to the standards of a hotel of this price (EUR 120 per night) or number of stars. We started having problem with service even before our arrival. The hotel is poorly signalled and we couldn't find it. So we called reception (in Spanish) and the lady we spoke to was simply not able to tell us how to get there despite us telling her that we were in front of a hospital which we later find out was literally 50 metres from the hotel.

Service
On arrival at reception, there were 3 ladies at the desk. One was serving a group of customers so I tried to speak to the other two who unhelpfully told me that I had to wait for the lady that was busy, even though the other two did not do anything throughout my wait. After 15 minutes, we were eventually served but we were treated as if they were doing us a favour. No apology for the wait, never a smile and we were not told about breakfast, the hotel facilities, where to park the car, literally nothing not even where the room was located, instead I had to ask all of the questions myself. Nobody offered to take us to the room or to take our luggage there. The matter was made worse by the fact that, during the wait, I had been able to hear that the previous customers had instead been given all these details and were escorted to their bedrooms.

I later tried to use the hotel indoor pool and spa which I was told was free to use (apart from massages) within the hours of 8 am and 8 pm. I got there the first time at around 3pm and it was locked shut. I went again 2 hours later and was told that I could only go in with a swimming cap. I complained that I had not been told that at the reception, so I asked if I could get one from there. I was told that I had to pay 2 EUR which I thought was ridiculous for the price of the room but the worst thing was that they wanted payment in cash (which I did not have as I was in my swimming trunks) and I could not even put the cost on the room bill. I gave up and went back to my room.

The following morning we had breakfast which was ok. It had a selection of products but it was all of average quality. Needless to say nobody asked whether we wanted coffee or anything. You had to ask for it yourself!

This is the typical case of a hotel that is refurbished to very high standards but is managed poorly. For the price of the rooms, I would go somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarioPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here two nights as part of a tour.
On edge of town so quiet, 10 minutes walk to town centre.
Amazing views over gorge.
Room recently refurbished and generally high quality but no seperate bathroom. Shower and toilet are behind frosted glass directly off the room. Very modern and good if you like that kind of thing but we did not.
Bar service terrible first night and reports from others in group that restaurant food was good but service appalling.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The hotel has been totally renovated and is now beautiful with the exception of the very odd entrance hall. The views are spectacular and the staff charming. The restaurant was much improved and the service good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing out over the valley far below give the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.5 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
1,774 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
0.6 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
678 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa

Property: Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Address: Calle Jerez 25 | Ronda, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, totally renovated in 2012, is settled in a unique environment, between a lovely pine forest in the middle of the town, very close to Ronda's landmarks and the famous Tajo de Ronda. Around the hotel, which has 95 fully equipped rooms, there's an amazing 3,000sqm garden in which our guests can enjoy our swimming pool and our terrace. Hotel Ciudad H-MA-00042 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing