We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful dining experience”
Review of Puerta Grande

Puerta Grande
Ranked #5 of 282 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
franklin, tn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Delightful dining experience”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went one evening at the urging of a friend. From the moment we entered, we felt welcomed. Service was attentive and friendly. Someone at Trip Advisor said the breadcrumbs were not to be missed. I can't quite figure out what made them special, but we scarfed the large plate down. Excellent gazpacho and beautifully presented paella. We shared a Pavlova and thought about ordering a second! Our server then brought us a complimentary after dinner digestive. Nice touch. The next night as we thought about dinner we easily decided to return. We were cordially ushered to "our table." Let me encourage the doubters to try the eggplant with honey. It was almost like eating homemade pancakes! Airy, warm and surprisingly comforting. Dessert? Si, dos Pavlovas, por favor!
Can't wait to return to Ronda and the Puerta Grande.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FranklinFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    201
    47
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good service, good and honest food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We found this restaurant based on a recommendation from a local. The service was very good, friendly and attentive. The food was good and honest. The whole experience was very different from tourist trap restaurants in the area. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our dinner here . The food was great: we had grilled vegetables to start then the sea bass ( perfectly cooked!) and the venison ( wanted to take home a bottle of the sauce!) had a bottle of local wine ( want to buy that too!) Not only was the meal great; the staff were great fun. They made dinner the evening's entertainment. Recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank threeonrtheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norilsk, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“"Delicious dinner in a lovely Ronda"”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This place we recommended a local resident . Spanish restaurant located in the center of Ronda , near the Plaza de España must turn into the lane Nueva . Service was top notch , a big plate of jamon platter with olives and above all praise , my main course of rabbit was also delicious . A friend ordered the meat too great. Rioja wine and dessert was awesome! The atmosphere inside the restaurant is located very , nice soft music , great interior . The restaurant owner collects antique model radios. They exhibited along one of the walls inside the hall . restaurant was a perfect end to a wonderful day in Ronda !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaAlisa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holon, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the only time tips from users of trip advisor disapointed me”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

the location of the restaurant is very easy and simple (right in the tourist center, infront of the Grande bull ring). apart from that cannot think of anything good to say. ooh the lamb chops were juicy. but the 7 fingers of chips drawning in oil we got when i asked where are the chips that are supposed to be served with the lamp chops was disgusting(we didnt et them)! when i told the waiter they were soggy with oil, he reported that this is because they dont serve fries/ chips.(what?!) so how come you have it in your menu? and why didnt you say that in the first place?! and it is redicoulously expensive. do not go there unless you want to feel like youved been robbed in braod day light....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerta Grande also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Puerta Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing