We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but tired rooms”
Review of Hotel Don Miguel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Don Miguel
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The hotel is located just at the edge of the cliff, overseeing the Puente Nuevo. Great views all around (that is, for rooms with the Puente Nuevo view), especially in the mornings and at sunsets, where you see the sun going down the valleys. In terms of location, I think only the Parador can beat it, but that's in a totally different price range.

Rooms however, was tired looking. Our first room had such a strong musty and lingering cigarette smoke smell, but because it was in Dec, the receptionist allowed us to change into another room.

Breakfast was sad. Soggy ham and bad coffee... flies flying around as well. Bad, inattentive service (or no service at all). What a pity, for the restaurant offered pretty good views and outdoor sitting area.

Room Tip: You must ask for rooms with view of the Puente Nuevo! Else, you might as well stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirleyjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Fun starts at the reception. They are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. We had a car & motorbike and both were stored in the nearby secure garage with no problems. The rooms face the gorge and the bridge that connects both parts of the city. You're right in the middle of town and it's not far to the streets with the tapas bars. The breakfast buffet has it all, and you can sit outside and enjoy the view of the gorge & bridge in the morning light.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just a good hotel really. Check in efficient, room vas average, breakfast was not that good, great view though from the terrace. Nothing special but no complaints. If you want good food try Puerta Grande just round the corner on the row of cafes/restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garyh1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We got the bridge side room so the view beautiful. However, the room was not particularly nice and it was a smoking room so the smell was disgusting. Everything seemed to be a bit dirty. Their restaurant is great though. Without a view, this hotel would have been horrible.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nams1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed here on 26 May 2012 travelling with friends. We picked this hotel mainly
because of its situation on the gorge, and the views it offered; we weren't disappointed.
I was satisfied with my room and considering breakfast was included, it was well worth
the price of 66 euros. Hotel reception was somewhat offhanded, but they parked our
car for us in nearby secure parking which we appreciated. For a short visit to Ronda
this hotel would meet most travellers' expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muffinSechelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We made our reservations early. The staff was extremely nice & helpful. We got rooms on the gorge side. One was on the small side, the other larger, but both nice enough & clean. Especially because of the price!!! What a value! Will definitely stay here again if I'm ever lucky enough to be in Ronda again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShootingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed 2 nights and the room was the sort of room you get when you're a student ie. an odd shape with mis-matched furniture, although the bed was comfortable. I did find one or two slightly dusty surfaces - been watching too much "4 in a Bed" ! The bathroom was definitely 2*. There were no curtains at the sink, which was next to the window, so if you got washed with the light on, everyone in the square would be able to see. However, the room had a sort of quaintness about it that I liked - it had personality!

From the other 2 windows - one with a balcony - in the room the view had the WOW!!!-factor. As was the view from the cafe and restaurant. There was not a great selection of food at breakfast and it was poorly presented, but I enjoyed what I had. I had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious, but the waiter was unfriendly, although the other waiters were friendlier. And the receptionist was very helpful when I wanted a taxi on Sunday.

When I was there, in May, it was quite cold and there was a heater provided which soon heated the room up.

I chose this hotel for its location, and it's views are breathtaking. I could have sat and looked out at that view forever. The bed was comfortable, but I've stayed in better 3* hotels, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the gorge side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reinalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.2 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#14 of 40 in Ronda
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Tajo
Hotel El Tajo
#18 of 40 in Ronda
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Poeta de Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Miguel

Address: Plaza de Espana | Villanueva 4 y 5, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range: £33 - £762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Don Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Miguel Hotel
Don Miguel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing