We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Learned a valuable travel tip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Miguel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Don Miguel
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Learned a valuable travel tip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel's location in the centre of town and the stunning view of the gorge are what makes this hotel worthwhile. We had two rooms on the fourth floor facing the gorge. The rooms were average with basic, dated furniture although the beds were comfortable enough. We found it noisy whenever anyone was in the hall although our travel companions did not because they had a room with an inner door that they could close and block out sound.

The valuable travel tip we picked up is to make sure that you always have contact information in all wallets and bags. When we were packing up to leave, we found a wallet with a considerable sum of money in the room safe. There was no identification or other information in the wallet. We turned it in at the front desk and the man said nobody had contacted them regarding a lost wallet but they would track down the owner. We followed up with an email and were told they did find the owner which we were glad to hear but it certainly taught us the importance of marking all your belongings!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gecko17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paco r, jefe de recepción at Hotel Don Miguel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su interés, solo le ha faltado comentar que cuando usted se puso de nuevo en contacto con nosotros "para saber que habia pasado con el dinero", le adjunté el correo del propietario de la cartera para que usted mismo pudiese contactar con él y comprobar que le habiamos hecho una transferencia bancaria por el total del importe encontrado por usted, haciendonos nosotros cargo de los gastos. Muchas gracias nuevamente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    110
    46
    25
    6
See reviews for
32
144
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent one night at the hotel and was pleased to find it to be in the very senter of the city and with a spectacular view of the famous gorge. The staff was helpfull, the rooms quite ok. Be sure to have rooms towards the gorge (a little bit more expensive), the rooms towards the street can be a bit noisy in the early morning.
The hotel also have some parking places in a nearby garage. In good weather the breakfast can be enjoyed on the terrace facing the morning sun over the gorge. A good start of the day!
The hotel is not ideal for handicaped.

Room Tip: Be sure to have rooms towards the gorge (a little bit more expensive), the rooms towards the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel is a fantastic spot for the view!! Be sure to request one when you book. Our room overlooked the gorge. The staff was less than friendly, but everything worked out well in the end. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. I would visit it again because having breakfast - continental with that view out the window is not to be missed!

Room Tip: Request one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Spent one night in Don Miguel and have to say that the views really are out of this world, but be sure and request these when you book your room. We didn't and when asked to change were told the hotel was full and that it was impossible.... not sure this was entirely true however, as breakfast was certainly nowhere near full. The room itself was really nice though, despite the view of a neighbour's window. There was a hair on the bed but apart from that it was clean. Mirror above the dressing table is hung far too high! May seem a trivial point but actually a but of a pain as you can't sit down and use it!

For a 3 star hotel the staff should work on their service skills. Asked for the location of a restaurant that I had heard great things about and was told it didn't exist (which it did, and after googling it for me, the receptionist discovered this). When checking out, we had to wait while she finished a conversation with a friend and were never asked how our stay was.

Breakfast was good and we were finally able to enjoy the views. Again though, the service could have been a little friendlier.

I would say the staff at this hotel need to offer a little more to merit the price per night. I would return as long as I got it from a discounted website ( I noticed the "walk in" price was 40€ more than we had paid) as the location is worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingeBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

It would appear that having a room with a view of the bridge, albeit partily obscured by braches and shrubs even in the winter.
The room was like a monks cell with cast iron furnishings and one wooden chair. Cheap laminate floor in hall and bedroom. The quality of the fixtures, fittings and furnishings are not 3 star standard, (see photos). The windows were single glazed, the heating system vents in the room were suspect and the control had a sticker saying DO NOT TOUCH. Needless to say the room was cold and wet clothes were still damp in the morning.
"Customer Care" is not in the receptionists volcabulary, I reported the room safe was locked from the previous occupant, I was told to, "speak to the cleaners to get it sorted".
On the Sunday evening the restaurant was closed, I asked to get onto the terrace, to take photos of the bridge. I was told, "the restaurant was locked and cannot be opened".
I was in Room 105.
I have never seen a Hotel having a sign saying we have a Customer Complaint book, do they get many?
I don't know which hotel other people are reviewing, but it is totally different from my experience.
I do not normally condemn hotels like this and it pains me, however, I don't want others to be so disappointed.

Room Tip: DO NOT go to this hotel, however, if you go do not accept room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillBill55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comares, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a room overlooking the bridge and directly over the gorge...you need a head for heights! Amazing views, and good value. We were lucky with the weather that day in January, and so could sit out on the hotel patio with a glass of wine. We found the hotel friendly and helpful - breakfast sufficient, usual stuff really. Not too noisy at night but it was quieter probably because of the time of year, so not a bad night's sleep. We ate out in the town, and found an amazing bar/restaurant, with food to die for! It was called Hermanos Macias, Calle Pedro Romero- doesn't look like a lot from the outside, and a bit of knowledge of the Spanish language probably helpful - ask what is recommended....we had an amazing meal that went on and on....worth finding, and central, an easy walk from the hotel, 10 minutes-ish.

Room Tip: Overlooking the gorge - great view, but you need a head for heights! Wonderful views, room not huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at a room of nice view.
But the breakfast is not good. Orange juice is not fresh and very few meals.
And the staff was very unfriendly.
Also when checking out, we asked to give more 30 mins of parking. But the reception staff was very unfriendly. I felt like she was so rude to us.
Comparing the price, the view is satiafactianable but the service is so bad.
I don't recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ppaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#7 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Poeta de Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#14 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#9 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acinipo
Hotel Acinipo
#29 of 39 in Ronda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Miguel

Property: Hotel Don Miguel
Address: Plaza de Espana | Villanueva 4 y 5, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Don Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Miguel Hotel
Don Miguel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing