We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful family villa”
Casa Sonana from the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Sonana from the pool
Villa Casa Sonana - Andalucian Rural Chic.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Casa Sonana from the pool
Villa Casa Sonana - Andalucian Rural Chic.
Picking Apricots from our Orchard.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ronda, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
nbs3000
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful family villa”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We visited the villa in late May / early June and had an absolutely fantastic time. The villa certainly has the "wow" factor, it's stylishly designed and also very well appointed with everything we needed. It felt like a real home from home and there were plenty of things to keep our two year old daughter entertained! Our local contacts were also very helpful whenever we had any questions or needed advice.

Not a fault of the villa at all, but we did find that the pool was a little chilly for our daughter since it was quite early summer, but we bought her a cheap wetsuit which helped a lot. Overall it was a great time of year to visit since the weather wasn't oppressively hot - presumably July/August are a different story!

Although the villa is not far from Arriate do be prepared to drive everywhere if you have young kids since the walk into the village is too far for little legs. Also be prepared for the fun and games of negotiating Arriate's very narrow and hilly streets - which we found a little daunting at first but got the hang of using the convex mirrors to spot approaching traffic!

Arriate itself is a lovely little place, off the tourist track. Embarrassing we didn't speak Spanish, and English isn't widely spoken, but we got by ok in the shops and restaurants with some improvised miming and pointing. We had an amazing meal at Restaurante El Muelle de Arriate, the owner, Frank, was very welcoming and helped us choose some delicious dishes - a visit there is highly recommended!

We also made several trips into Ronda, which is a must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Hola Nick y todos. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. Delighted that you all enjoyed Villa Casa Sonana and our local Pueblo Blanco of Arriate and Ronda, it really is a special part of the world that is still unspoilt by tourism, so you can really get to experience the 'real Spain' right on the Villa's doorstep. Sorry the pool was a little chilly for your daughter, its temperature at that time of year is really dictated by the preceding weather so it can be variable, but often is very usable at that time of year. Good to hear this didn't deter her! Thank you again for choosing Villa Casa Sonana, our Team on the ground and ourselves enjoying having you stay with us. Until the next time, as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M
1 review
“A blissful week in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the first contact with Jill I knew we would have a wonderful week. When we arrived the villa was spotless and so well equipped. The kitchen cupboards were full of the basic ingredients and there were even two little bottles of home grown olive oil.
The views are fantastic and lying by the pool watching and listening to the birds was so relaxing.
There is plenty to explore in Ronda and the nearby villages. We had a hire car but in the end decided that we all wanted to sample the local wines so ended up using taxis a lot. Jill has written heaps about what to do locally, where to eat and drink which made it very easy for us.
Thoroughly recommend the villa to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views across and along the valley
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Hola Diana. thank you so much for your review, and delighted that you loved Villa Casa Sonana and the local area. We are very excited about our very first pressing of our olive oil - isn't it tasty! By next year's harvest we will have labels made, currently we are wondering what to call it and how to design a label - so any ideas, please let me know! I was quite jealous reading how you enjoyed the birdsong whilst lazing by the pool, i can hear them now, it really is quite joyous. thanks again for choosing us, and as before, you know just to contact me personally when you wish to return. (don't leave it too late as we do get booked up very quickly for the main summer months). Until then, as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorraineM...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Brilliant”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a great time at this villa, everything you ever need and more, I don't just mean the villa, location and sun, even within the Villa you want for nothing. Jill organised the delivery of our shopping for arrival, the tapas for our dinner and booked our restaurant for Sunday lunch. All of which helped us relax very quickly. Arriate is a lovely town and the locals are great, nice bars and quite frankly the best restaurant I have ever been to on holiday El Maule. We will be back.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Hola Lorraine. thank you so much for such kind words. We are all delighted that you loved everything about Villa Casa Sonana. As you now know, my full time job is in luxury hotels, so its easy for me just to transfer this experience to Casa Sonana, not just in the hardware of the Villa and the grounds, but also all those additional services which are often enjoyed by our villa guests. Arriate and the local area (and Restaurant El Muelle) do the rest for it with its natural beauty. Great news that you all loved it, thanks for choosing us, and you know just to contact me personally when you wish to return. Until then, as always, Saludos:) Jill,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy F
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Week!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Villa Casa Sonana in early June and had a lovely week. The villa is beautiful - very clean, light and spacious with lovely furnishings and décor. We like to cook and the kitchen was well equipped with a lovely big fridge and a bbq area. For me, the best thing about the villa was the beautiful view - it's set into a valley and looks out over the most beautiful countryside, and is totally peaceful. Sitting on the terrace and looking out onto such lovely surroundings whilst eating dinner was a real treat. We went on daytrips to Marbella, Peurto Banus and Ronda, all of which are relatively close and worth visiting. We also ate at El Muelle de Arriate a couple of times, which was delicious. Definitely make sure you visit for lunch or dinner, Frank is a wonderful host. Booking the villa was very easy and Jill is so helpful and very accommodating - we had a couple of queries and special dietary requirements and she couldn't have been more kind. Also, the people we met who look after the villa locally and greeted us on arrival were so friendly and more than happy to be contacted at any time. It really does make a difference to know that if you have any issues at all there are people you can ask and they will come back with helpful solutions! All in all we had a really lovely relaxing week, so thank you to everyone at Villa Casa Sonana for looking after us so well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Having to drive to most places although I was fully aware of this
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Hola Lucy,
Thank you for your kind words - most appreciated, and we are delighted that you all loved Villa Casa Sonana and the local area. I agree, the view surrounding the Villa is truly special, and like yourself we have also spent many a magical evening on the terrace enjoying the awesome views. Good to hear that Andalucia catered for the special dietary requirements also, it would have been awful if you weren't able to sample the local wonderful cuisine. Thanks again and hope we can welcome you all back to Villa Casa Sonana sometime in the future. Until then, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmarr2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Luxurious villa with breathtaking views.”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our holiday at Casa Sonana was blissfully relaxing and a visual feast for the eyes. The villa itself has everything you could wish for;a kitchen that is stocked with all the basics to cook with, toiletries in all four bedrooms , all the expected modern gadgets, a plethora of games to keep all the family happy and last but not least floor to ceiling glass windows that look out onto the most spectacular views. If you can drag yourself away from the villa you are well placed to visit Ronda, Seville or Granada as well as some more local beauty spots. The nearby visit of Arriate is a hidden gem and can address all your eating and drinking needs!
We will undoubtedly return in the very near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the villa and its location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Hola Jane y todos! Many thanks for your review, really appreciated. Delighted that you loved Villa Casa Sonana, everything within it and of course those breath-taking views surrounding it, they are pretty special. It would be our pleasure to welcome you all back again, and you know just to contact me personally when you wish to do this. Until then, as always, Saludos :) Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M S
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Fabulous get away where you have it all!”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed for a week at Jill and Calum's fabulous home in Arriate.

The home itself is immaculate -- new, modern, spacious, well designed & decorated, very clean. The kitchen was well stocked and in the rest of the house plenty of books, toys for kids, entertainment. Amazing collection of wine. Bathrooms were spotless, Wifi was excellent everywhere, for us cell phone signal was good in the kitchen/family area.

The area surrounding the home is stunning. Its located on an incline with vast open views of hills, olive plantations, distant clusters of white houses from everywhere. Its a short walk to Setenil de las bodegas and other hidden jewels in rural Spain.

The nicest part though is the people -- the owner and hospitable management of the house. They are not out to nickel and dime renters. They had taken the time to understand our trip and non-intrusively helped out. Since we were traveling internationally with kids, they had some grocery ready, gave us local suggestions, made us dinner reservations, arranged baby sitters etc etc. We were there late Dec and I had questions about heating, the local mgmt immediately checked out all heating in the house and even left us a few new space heaters, just in case. Yes, you only pay upfront but this bunch knows how to make this not just another rental but an experience. Great job guys!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The immaculate condition of the place + niceness of owner
Liked least: Couldn't book by credit card. For future visitors, pls book with confidence even by bank transfer.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Hola Mala. Muchos Gracias for such a lovely review. It makes my day getting such lovely feedback about how we rent out Villa Casa Sońana, and we are all absolutely delighted that you all enjoyed it. We take the rental of our Villa very seriously, and I guess it is my international hotel background that make me instinctively want to find out all that we can about our guests, so you can have a great holiday. As you so succinctly put it, "an experience", not just a holiday! Thanks again for choosing Villa Casa Sońana, mucho appreciado, and I hope the rest of your travels were successful. You know just to reach out to me personally when you wish to return to the area, and we hope that we can welcome you back to Casa Sońana again then. Until then, personal best wishes to you and your family. Besos. Jill and the team. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmalley67
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five star experience (again)”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Another stay at Villa Casa Sońana and again I can’t recommend this villa highly enough. The location is stunning, the surrounding views outstanding and the villa offers you all the luxury that you would expect from a 5-star hotel (no surprise since the owner is a former 5* hotelier). The service from the initial enquiry to our final farewell was 5* too. I would recommend booking on the villa website as I found I got a better price than via TripAdvisor and other sites (e.g. flip key, holiday lettings etc). I guess booking direct means cutting out the middle man and associated commissions. Booking direct via the villa website was easy and there's lots of pics and info on the site that is super useful too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Hola ! Feliz Ańo Nuevo! Delighted that you had another great time at Villa Casa Sońana, and we really appreciate these 5-star comments. Our goal is to offer a 5-star villa, so delighted that's what we deliver. Your comments on the pricing are 'bang-on'. Best Prices are indeed directly from our website. Companies such as TripAdvisor, Flipkey etc, have introduced some challenging commercial terms which means that we have to offer higher prices for enquiries through these channels as their commissions are killing small businesses such as us. So definitely, spread the word, "Book Direct For Best Prices!" Thanks again and best wishes to you all for a happy and prosperous 2015. Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing