We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect January getaway in a glorious location...”
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana - a real luxury villa!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana - a real luxury villa!
Villa Casa Sonana - Andalucian Rural Chic.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana - a real luxury villa!
Villa Casa Sonana - Andalucian Rural Chic.
Picking Apricots from our Orchard.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ronda, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Julie M
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect January getaway in a glorious location and luxurious villa”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Working within Travel & Tourism you really never switch off and looking at the small detail is an unfortunate habit. When you do experience a product that is so well managed and put together by a professional hotelier it really shows in every way, from the ease and efficiency of booking and all the special little touches throughout the villa. Casa Sonana was easy to find and welcoming, even though it is a luxury villa it also has such a comfortable and cosy feel about the place that makes it an impossible place to not relax. The views and gardens are well maintained and a joy to relax in with a good book or a few glasses of the wonderful wine that is available to buy at the villa, one of those lovely little touches. Sometimes it is worth paying that little bit more because what you get for it is so much more. Thanks again for letting us share your special home albeit for too brief a time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: underfloor heating and luxurious beds and pillows
Liked least: Having to leave so soon!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
Hola Julie, thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to read it and delighted that you loved your stay at Casa Sonana. Being a hotelier in my full time job, does mean that i just transfer my skills from my professional life to the Villa, and it was great to see that you appreciated all of those, and many of the 'little touches' that do make such a difference. Thankfully no burst sofa's in this Villa! Hope we can welcome you back again in the future, you know just to contact me personally when you wish to do this. Until then, Saludos :) Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killearn
Killearn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ROOM WITH A VIEW, WHY DID I WAIT ....”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just back from a wonderful return trip to Villa Casa Sonana - first time in a few years, why oh why did I wait so long ?!

I was travelling with friends and had a ground floor bedroom this visit and lay in bed with the French windows open with stunning views to the distant sierras over the garden and pool. Now my favourite room, although I think I said that on my last visit about another upstairs bedroom. Lots of private nooks and crannies inside and out (the weather was glorious, yes in January!) to be alone as well as a great sociable 'salon' to be together in.

A brilliant break topped off by a wonderful restaurant (El Muelle in the local village Arriate) providing some of the best food I have ever tasted in Spain ....

the only question is when can I go again?

Thanks to the owners for all the lovely and unexpected niceties of slippers, nibbles and wine.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hola. Oh we are delighted to read your review and thrilled that you now have two favourite bedrooms at Casa Sonana! The views of the rolling Andalucian countryside is indeed very special, it truly is a magical part of the world. I heard that the weather in January this year has been fabulous, this is often the case during the winter months - clear blue Andalusian skies broken only with sunlight - glorious! Glad you enjoyed El Muelle, one of our favourite restaurants also and Frank, its owner, always takes special care of Casa Sonana's guests. Hope we can welcome you back again very soon, it will be our pleasure to do so. Until then, Saludos :) Jill .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location. The real Spain”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We traveled to Casa Sonana with friends. Arrived late at night thanks to Mr GPS and we' were a delighted with the house and the facilities. Then we saw the view in the morning! Glorious views over operating Farms and Groves. It was great to be so close to Ronda which is a great short trip. We also did day trips to Cedez; Seville and Zahara. I couldn't fault the property. It had everything we needed to cook, drink, was and enjoy. I will definitely recommend this property to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2016
Hola Robert y Todos! Many thanks for taking the time to leave this review - most appreciated. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at Casa Sonana. After your late arrival, it's a great way to start the day and see the glorious views surrounding every angle of the Villa - we still never tire of them! Sounds like you took advantage of the great location of Casa Sonana and visited some of the superb 'pueblos' that are located nearby. Delighted you found the Villa to be perfect and we do hope that we can welcome you all back to Casa Sonana sometime in the future. Until then, Saludos :) Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and luxurious villa in peaceful Andalucia”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Beautiful, luxurious villa perfect for a large group (we were 8). Isolated location with fantastic views. Very peaceful but close to a large village, and of course Ronda; a great base for exploring Southern Spain.
As it was December we weren't outside much, but the patios/pool/BBQ area look great! Bedrooms very comfortable and ensuite bathrooms to every bedroom.
Lovely touches like a wine cellar to dip into (paid at end of holiday).
Well appointed kitchen- we even cooked a couple of times!
Would definitely come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious living room area.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2016
Hola Julie. We are thrilled to read your review and delighted that you all had a fantastic Christmas & New Year break at Villa Casa Sonana. Glad you enjoyed the Villa's own little wine bodega, did you know that the wine is now made by the architect that designed our Villa originally! It was our pleasure to welcome you and your friends to Casa Sonana and hope we can do so again in the future. You know just to contact me personally when you wish to do this. Until then, Saludos :) Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smcolling...
Aylesford
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Retreat into the calm of the Andalucían countryside”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We previously visited Casa Sonana on three successive holidays between 2009 and 2011 and then returned again this year.

Casa Sonana is a beautiful and relaxing home from home; one that all my family adore. We all have wonderful memories of the house and have seen the gardens flourish over the years. Over the years we have also had grandparents and friends staying too.

The villa is in an idyllic position looking across the valley to the Sierra de las Salinas dotted with olive groves. It is secluded and yet within easy reach of the lovely village of Arriate with good tapas restaurants and shops selling local produce. Ronda is also a short car journey away.

All the rooms are lovely and the kitchen is well appointed with a great built-in charcoal grill and bread oven outside. The pool is large and refreshing - the children have particularly enjoyed this over the years!

We appreciate Jill and Callum's vision and commitment to creating such a wonderful place.

There is a palpable sense of calm here which allows you to immerse yourself in this part of Andalucía: the beautiful landscape, rolling hills, food, wine and the gentle breeze across the valley. At any time of day you never tire of sitting on the terrace, or beneath the shade of the willow trees, and looking across the valley. Morning, midday and evening are all special times.

Highly recommended and we will return.

¡Fantastico!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Hola Shaun y todos! it was our pleasure to welcome you all back to Villa Casa Sonana for the 4th time, and delighted to learn that it continues to captivate you. It truly is a very special part of the world. Hope we can welcome you again next year. Until then, as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Andalusian Luxury”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our fourth visit to Casa Sonaña, but we hadn't been for nearly six years. We had forgotten just how beautiful the house and the location are - stunning. We rent many properties in Spain and elsewhere, without doubt this house is by far the best equipped of any we have been to. We experienced a heat wave (yes even for Spain in July!) when we were there but it was wonderful to have the lovely house garden and pool to relax in. Jill and her team facilitate the whole experience to make your stay perfect, nothing is too much trouble. Having renewed our acquaintance with Casa Sonaña, we hope to return soon. I would have no reservations in recommending this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Hola Jim y todos! It was our great pleasure to welcome you back to Villa Casa Sonana again, thank you for returning and we are delighted that we continue to exceed your expectations. The Villa flourishes every year as we continue to develop our garden and all our services for our guests - so pleased it hit the mark for you again. As always, please just contact me personally when you wish to return, Casa Sonana will be waiting for you! Until then, as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbs3000
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful family villa”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We visited the villa in late May / early June and had an absolutely fantastic time. The villa certainly has the "wow" factor, it's stylishly designed and also very well appointed with everything we needed. It felt like a real home from home and there were plenty of things to keep our two year old daughter entertained! Our local contacts were also very helpful whenever we had any questions or needed advice.

Not a fault of the villa at all, but we did find that the pool was a little chilly for our daughter since it was quite early summer, but we bought her a cheap wetsuit which helped a lot. Overall it was a great time of year to visit since the weather wasn't oppressively hot - presumably July/August are a different story!

Although the villa is not far from Arriate do be prepared to drive everywhere if you have young kids since the walk into the village is too far for little legs. Also be prepared for the fun and games of negotiating Arriate's very narrow and hilly streets - which we found a little daunting at first but got the hang of using the convex mirrors to spot approaching traffic!

Arriate itself is a lovely little place, off the tourist track. Embarrassing we didn't speak Spanish, and English isn't widely spoken, but we got by ok in the shops and restaurants with some improvised miming and pointing. We had an amazing meal at Restaurante El Muelle de Arriate, the owner, Frank, was very welcoming and helped us choose some delicious dishes - a visit there is highly recommended!

We also made several trips into Ronda, which is a must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Hola Nick y todos. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. Delighted that you all enjoyed Villa Casa Sonana and our local Pueblo Blanco of Arriate and Ronda, it really is a special part of the world that is still unspoilt by tourism, so you can really get to experience the 'real Spain' right on the Villa's doorstep. Sorry the pool was a little chilly for your daughter, its temperature at that time of year is really dictated by the preceding weather so it can be variable, but often is very usable at that time of year. Good to hear this didn't deter her! Thank you again for choosing Villa Casa Sonana, our Team on the ground and ourselves enjoying having you stay with us. Until the next time, as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing